Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Slow orange brightbox wireless speed?

This is a discussion on Slow orange brightbox wireless speed? within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am in no way a networking expert but ive done my best, so now Id like to see if


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-16-2013, 03:39 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
OS: windows 8


Cry

I am in no way a networking expert but ive done my best, so now Id like to see if anyone can help please - or do you think its a router hardware fault?

Having some problems with an orange brightbox. 2 different websites including Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test state I have a download speed of 6-7 mbs BUT when downloading on steam with nothing else running im seeing an average of 600 kbs. streaming videos also often stops for no reason and does not start again.

This cant be right. Ive changed loads of settings to try and fix it on the router. the wireless mode is on 11b+11g+11n, the channel is on 11, the bandwidth is 20/40Hz, the security is WPA and ive tried disabling the router firewall just to see if it did anything - it did not. Steam games still currently downloading at a nice 400 kbs. Its not my laptop because others do the same.

ive just made my IP static and then went to - cmd and typed configip to get my LAN IP

Then went back to router and went NAT>PORT FORWARDING and used tcp&udp on the LAN IP with LAN and PUBLIC ports set to 21.

Then I went port triggers and made the trigger port 21 and public port 21. I chose TCP for both types.

And after all this my transfer rate between the router and laptop has not gone up -.-

Anyone know why?

__________________
Craig939393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 03:59 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 717
OS: Windows 2000



Your port forwarding would enable you to FTP to your laptop from the Internet. That's about it. The only real test would be to try another router, if you can. You also don't mention if you'd tried to test it using a network cable between your laptop and the router (wireless disabled).

__________________
Troy_Jollimore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 04:01 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
OS: windows 8



Is orange fixed to their routers?

also I dont have an ethernet cable but could easily get one i suppose. Just my room and the router are very far apart.
__________________
Craig939393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 10:47 PM   #4
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


You can use any third party router with the orange broadband service, but the brightbox can handle fibre internet speeds which ornage(EE) supply.

At 6Mbps you can get speeds up to 768KB/s downloads but due to overheads you may not get that speed because of factors of going thru brightbox firewall inspection which may trim some KB off that speed and since you are wirelessly connected not wired it will slow down even more because wireless is considerably slower than a wired connection the brightbox has gigabit ethernet ports.

Also to consider the wireless adapter used and firewall inspection on the computer itself may be contributory factors as to why you only get 600KB/s.

Test using the wired connection when you get an ethernet cable and see if the download speed increases may not be to the 768KB/s but closer to it. Use cat5e which supports gigabit ethernet connections.
__________________
TheCyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 06:15 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
OS: windows 8



Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberMan View Post
You can use any third party router with the orange broadband service, but the brightbox can handle fibre internet speeds which ornage(EE) supply.

At 6Mbps you can get speeds up to 768KB/s downloads but due to overheads you may not get that speed because of factors of going thru brightbox firewall inspection which may trim some KB off that speed and since you are wirelessly connected not wired it will slow down even more because wireless is considerably slower than a wired connection the brightbox has gigabit ethernet ports.

Also to consider the wireless adapter used and firewall inspection on the computer itself may be contributory factors as to why you only get 600KB/s.

Test using the wired connection when you get an ethernet cable and see if the download speed increases may not be to the 768KB/s but closer to it. Use cat5e which supports gigabit ethernet connections.
Thank you for the reply its very useful. Why would having a 6Mb/s connection give me a 700KB/s download speed though? Or am i just doing the conversion wrong?
__________________
Craig939393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 04:27 PM   #6
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


A simple way to rememeber is 1 megabit=128Kilobytes per second.

You have a 6Megabit(Mbps) connection from your ISP servers or excahnge to your modem.

All you do is do a calculation 128x6=768 where six is your megabit connection from your ISP.

Have you tested with an ethernet cable yet?
__________________
TheCyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2013, 01:34 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
OS: windows 8



Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberMan View Post
A simple way to rememeber is 1 megabit=128Kilobytes per second.

You have a 6Megabit(Mbps) connection from your ISP servers or excahnge to your modem.

All you do is do a calculation 128x6=768 where six is your megabit connection from your ISP.

Have you tested with an ethernet cable yet?
I hae the cat5 here but I wont be testing it tonight. Ive had he strangest problem.

2 days ago i upgraded the firmware on my samsung galaxy s2. For whatever reason when reconnecting to my hub it just looped the obtaining ip screen.

So I went to advanced options and statically set my ip, gateway and DNS. Now it works.

Then a day later my 2 laptops stopped working. Strange thing was my mums still worked for 2 hours after my two stopped.

It sad we were connected but had no internet access on an unknown network.

cmd/ipconfig/all showed no ip or default gateway and couldnt get on the hub using 192.168.1.1

soooo i went to network and sharing, change adapter settings, properties, ipv4 and set these statically to googles DNS, set the gateway to 192.168.1.1 and changed the ip to 192.168.1.122. Boom its working...

Orange said they are upgrading my network tonight so maybe thats it? but i cant see why my laptops would lose their gateway...
__________________
Craig939393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 01:03 PM   #8
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


When they upgrade the network loss of connectivity can happen i was upgraded to fibre with EE and lost connectivity for 3 hours while they set it up.

__________________
TheCyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] my internet keep getting disconnecting connecting
Hi.I'm new on this forum.I got problem with my internet connection.It keeps dropping then connecting by itself.I cant download anything because in the middle it just drops.My connection is wireless and is cable.My other housemates who have laptops like me have no problem with connection.I took my...
jumrose123 Networking Support 52 03-21-2014 05:18 PM
Orange Brightbox constantly drops IP??
Newbie post, but I have just retired from IT management which included running large scale wired and wi-fi networks for many thousands of users...but I am stumped. Sample PC OS: Win XP SP3 Adatper: TP-Link TL-WN822N OR Netgear WG111 Router: Orange Brightbox(es) BB provider: Orange AV...
vigman Protocols and Routing 29 02-14-2013 10:06 AM
[SOLVED] Slow speed on Surfboard Docsis 3.0
I'm trying to help a friend w/ here internet speed. She recently upgraded to Charter's 30MB download speed. She purchased a new Motorola Surfboard Docsis 3.0 modem. The modem is working correctly and all settings on the modem signal page are good. Charter has also checked the speed coming in to the...
zad1999 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 5 12-21-2011 02:13 PM
[SOLVED] very slow wireless internet
Hi, someone I know is using a USB stick for wireless internet on an older computer, and he says that the internet is very slow especially when trying to watch youtube videos. I was wondering if, because the computer is older, that maybe it's USB is too slow and that it may make more sense to buy a...
computersrkool Cabling and Network Cards 12 04-06-2011 07:31 AM
Wired speed fast, wireless speed slow
I've noticed a huge drop in the speed of my wireless setup lately and was hoping to get some advice on how to improve it. Here is the setup: Motorola cable modem -> Linksys WRT54GS router speedtest.net results: Wired to router: 29.33 Mbps down, 8.36 Mbps up, 38 ms ping. Wireless (full...
Ageclipsegt Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 8 03-28-2011 09:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts