Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Setting up a medium size college network!

This is a discussion on Setting up a medium size college network! within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I am a networking student trying to give some suggestions to the Admin about our schools network. Set up

Old 04-24-2012, 03:44 PM   #1
Registered Member

So I am a networking student trying to give some suggestions to the Admin about our schools network.

Set up is like this, the network is connected by an OLD congested 48 port 10 100 hub connected to 20+ classrooms (which also has a hub, wireless access point and shared printed and IP phone) with 21 computers in each classroom.

In addition there are 4 servers. The database, email, web and directory (NEW). (Directly connected to main hub)

There are also 16 teachers computers directly connected to the main hub & 4 admin computers connected to the main hub. The main hub connects to the NAT router and has a firewall.

My first suggestion was obviously to use of cat 6e & and the use of a switch. Due to the problems with the congestion and slow traffic.

What changes would make most sense, equipment, and set up. Basically i am looking at technical changes, mostly related to networking hardware in such a set up.

Old 04-24-2012, 03:59 PM   #2
Management Team Networking

" I am a networking student trying to give some suggestions to the Admin about our schools network. "

Don't you think it should be the other way around? Your network admin saying how to redesign the network?

Any idea how much it costs to rewire a campus to 6e? You would only do that if the present wiring was not cat5e.

I would suggest you diagram all of the connections as well as document the ip plan.
Then you can review the topology to see where you can improve it.