Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Set WEP key for "All users"?

This is a discussion on Set WEP key for "All users"? within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am setting up 60 laptops - (all Dell Latitude D520 running XP pro sp2) - that will be available


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-06-2008, 06:07 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
OS: Windows XP sp2



I am setting up 60 laptops - (all Dell Latitude D520 running XP pro sp2) - that will be available for about 150 different users logging onto a Windows 2003 server via wireless access points with WEP encryption. I'm trying to find out how to configure these computers - using either the Intel PROset wireless software or XP to manage the connection - so that the WEP key is already available and configured even when a user logs on the first time.

I tried importing the HKLM/Software/Microsoft/WZCSVC/Parameters/Interfaces registry settings from a pc that already has the WEP key set, but that didn't work, and even if it did, it would require a reboot once the .reg file was imported in order for the change to take effect.

I also thought I found an option in the Intel PROset configuration that allowed for this, however I could not get it to work properly either.

Does anyone know what the best means of accomplishing this would be?

Thanks

__________________
Lazerwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 07:34 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
TxTazDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 103
OS: XP Pro SP2



really need to know the make & model of the wireless router, is this a domain, do they have user accounts, etc? I ran into this before at work & I had to configure them all manually as they were training laptops but I think a script might work, but I'm no script writer

__________________
TxTazDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 02:00 AM   #3
Enthusiast
 
lazareth1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,300
OS: Vista SP1, Ultimate

My System


Yeah a script sounds like your best bet, but I'm no scripter either :(. But I have to ask, why use WEP? Can you use WPA? Reason I ask is that WEP can be cracked in minutes via software readily available on by googling.
__________________
lazareth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts