Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Resolved: unable to connect to internet, invalid ip address?

This is a discussion on Resolved: unable to connect to internet, invalid ip address? within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. ive had this problem since friday, i got a new built pc, installed xp and all the updates from windows


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2007, 06:20 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
steakNshrimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 47
OS: W7 64-bit



ive had this problem since friday, i got a new built pc, installed xp and all the updates from windows update, i played a game, everything seemed to work fine. and rebooted but all of a sudden my internet stopped working, i got an "invalid ip address" in the status of Local Area Connection, then it switches to Automatic Private Address: 169.254.196.105 , i called comcast but we could not fix it. they said that something might be wrong with my network card? i plugged the same cable modem into this pc, and everything works fine, so i formatted the harddrive hoping it was an xp problem, but i still cannot connect to the internet. i have a VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter on it. i tried to get an updated driver , i copied it to a USB drive, and installed it on the other pc, but it didnt seem to do anything. i cant think of anything else to do! plz help.

__________________
steakNshrimp is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 06:48 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
steakNshrimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 47
OS: W7 64-bit



wow i posted the same thing on another forum and they havent replied either.....so would it work if i just buy a new network card? if so which one?

__________________
steakNshrimp is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 08:55 AM   #3
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 10:13 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,232
OS: WINXP



Uninstall the NIC in device manager. Shut computer down. Unplug power from modem as well as coax cable. Reverse the ethernet cable end for end (put end that's in the computer into modem and viceversa) hook up coax, plug in modem. Power up computer - please note that the order is important.
__________________
hwm54112 is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 01:54 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
steakNshrimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 47
OS: W7 64-bit



umm sorry guys this didnt work either, i did exactly what you said but it still wont connect, still "invalid ip address"
__________________
steakNshrimp is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 02:01 PM   #6
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 02:32 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
steakNshrimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 47
OS: W7 64-bit



Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.MCSNS>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : mcsns
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Compatable Fast Ethernet Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : EF-9F-E9-F7-F7-F7
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.MCSNS>


and this is the log for this computer, the one that works fine.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : GERARDO
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.va.comcast.net.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 4:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.va.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Control
ler
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0E-A6-8C-33-A0
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 76.106.47.70
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 76.106.44.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.73.15
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.73.242
68.87.71.226
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, June 10, 2007 4:57:43 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, June 11, 2007 4:57:43 PM

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
__________________
steakNshrimp is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 10:35 AM   #8
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


I think you need to tell us how all of these machines are connected. You have a public IP address on the one, so it appears you don't have a broadband router, or you have it connected incorrectly. Unless you have a pretty unusual ISP account, you can't pull two public IP addresses from the ISP. Please tell us exactly how the two machines are connected, and supply the following info.

Make/model of the broadband modem.
Make/model of the router (if any).
Connection type, wired, wireless.
Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
Make/model of your computer.
Version and patch level of Windows, i.e. XP-Home SP2.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 02:54 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
steakNshrimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 47
OS: W7 64-bit



thx for the help guys but its fixed now, i called a guy and he came, tried to fix it but the network adapter wasnt working, so he installed a new network card and everythings good now
__________________
steakNshrimp is offline  
Old 11-19-2009, 08:39 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
OS: Vista



I had a VERY similar problem, I thought it was isolated to just my one computer since my others were working, could not get the IP to automatically assign to a 192.168.0.* style address, it was giving me a weird one, and the subnet was 255.255.0.0 instead of 255.255.255.0

anyways, my other computer ended up crashing, and it started having similar problems, so in the end unplugging and resetting my router did the trick. Hope this helps anyone as frustrated as me!
__________________
linkpalmer is offline  
Old 05-12-2011, 09:44 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
OS: xp sp3


Thumbs Up



Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwill View Post
TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
THANK YOU JohnWill this worked perfectly! I registered here just to tell you THANK YOU!!!
__________________
karmagrey is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 08:08 AM   #12
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,727
OS: Vista/Win7



John will apprieciate that. This is a old thread so its getting closed now.

Wand3r3r is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unwanted toolbar...HJT log included...please help me!
I have an unwanted toolbar. I can usually get rid of them but I can't get rid of this one. I know I'm missing something in my HJT log that will get rid of it. Here's my HJT log...thanks in advance for any help! Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0 Scan saved at 8:31:00 AM, on 7/6/2006 Platform:...
TampaLady Resolved HJT Threads 8 07-08-2006 06:25 PM
Compy freezes up every now and then.
It doesn't re-start, it sort of just go into an unstoppable sleep mode. Not sure whether it's a virus or some spyware of sorts. Ad-aware used, but to no avail. Someone help me out on this? Here's the log anyway. :( Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1 Scan saved at 5:57:22 PM, on 12/10/2005...
KiwiKid Resolved HJT Threads 22 12-20-2005 02:58 AM
Need HELP...svchost.exe causing freeze up issues...
i think the svchost file may be causing my computer temporarily freeze up (15 second spurts or so) consistently throughout the day. it is quite noticable when playing an MP3 or watching a video. it also happens in Internet Explorer. Winfixer managed to get on my system and i seemed to have...
mpkthecpa Resolved HJT Threads 53 10-16-2005 04:14 PM
pls help hjt log attached
please help. my pc has a virus. i cannot open web browsers or even spybot because wininet.dll was not found. i am using a PSP's internet browser so thats why i attached the hijackthis log and renamed it as a .txt file. please help me! Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0 Scan saved at 11:52:24 PM,...
odbx Inactive Malware Help Topics 8 10-01-2005 03:15 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts