Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Problem Getting My XP Machine to Access the Internet

This is a discussion on Problem Getting My XP Machine to Access the Internet within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all, New to the forum, but it seems pretty good. I'm having a problem connecting my computer to my


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-27-2009, 01:03 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
OS: Vista



Hi all,

New to the forum, but it seems pretty good.

I'm having a problem connecting my computer to my network. I have a desktop machine running Windows XP home, it is using a Belkin F5D7000 version 3 wireless card.

I have installed the card and it has detected my network, but I am unable to access the internet. I have 2 laptops on the network which can access fine, the laptops have Network Magic running on them which is not seeing the desktop machine at all. Also the desktop machine has a completely different IP address assigned to it from the rest of the hardware on the network.

But the computer is telling me that is connected fine with an excellent connection strength... I'm so confused! Never had this before, usually once it says it's on the network everything is fine, but not this time!

I ran an ipconfig /all with the following results:
------------------------------
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : AlexDesktop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0E-A6-57-51-92

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin 802.11g Wireless Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-50-66-4F-8C
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.29.204
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
----------------------

when i did a ipconfig /release the following happened:

Windows IP Configuration

No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection while it has its media disconnected.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.29.204
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

and when I tried an ipconfig /renew this happened:

Windows IP Configuration

No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection while it has its media disconnected.
An error occurred while renewing interface Wireless Network Connection : unable to contact your DHCP server. Request has timed out.
--------------------

I went into the router to check the LAN settings and they are:

IP address: 192.168.2.1
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
DHCP server is set to on

IP pool starting address is 192.168.2.2
IP pool ending address is 192.168.2.100
Lease time is set to Forever

The router is a Belkin.

The really weird thing is that the two laptops, a notebook and the Wii can all access fine, it's just the desktop machine that is having issues.

I've tried to give as much info as I can, I just hope someone can help.

Thanks

Alex

__________________
denimknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 11:10 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
lorjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,960
OS: XP, Win7



Boot into Safe mode with networking to see if it can get a connection.
Disable all security software

If that doesn't fix it then run these commands


Windows XP
Open up a command prompt (Start > Run > CMD)
Type the bolded commands in the command prompt window:

Reset TCP/IP Stack: netsh int ip reset reset.log
Reset WINSOCK entries: netsh winsock reset catalog

When finished reboot

__________________
lorjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 04:13 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Riskyone101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 4,410
OS: XP Pro SP3, MCE 2005 sp3, Vista Ultimate SP2, Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


Also on back of router, theres a tiny hole to insert a paperclip end into
insert it and hold button in for 12 seconds and release it. (only about an eight of an inch or so).
reboot pc (desktop)
Can you connect to the internet now?
__________________
Riskyone101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 06:15 AM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,847
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Let's not rush into resetting the router to defaults, that certainly isn't called for yet!



Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
Connection type, wired or wireless.
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.


  • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
  • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
  • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
  • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

Type the following commands on separate lines, following each one with the Enter key:

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com

NBTSTAT -n

IPCONFIG /ALL


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts