Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Printer won't print unless I restart

This is a discussion on Printer won't print unless I restart within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. What's up guys? I was just at a "customer's" house doing some virus removals and what not. After I was


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-26-2011, 02:31 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7



What's up guys? I was just at a "customer's" house doing some virus removals and what not. After I was done he asked me if I would network his printer to his 3 pc's throughout the house. 2 of the computers worked fine with the printer, but the one laptop (HP dv9000 running Vista 64 bit) wouldn't print unless I restarted it. I could click print, the job would go to the print queue, but that's it. It'd just stay there until I shut down the laptop and restarted it. Soon as vista would boot back up the job would automatically go on through and start printing. Weird right? Any ideas?

__________________
BOLIVIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 02:39 PM   #2
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,407
OS: Vista/Win7



when you look at the printer under printers does it say "ready"?
same results with a test page?
when looking at the print job queue you highlight the print job and under Document if you click on resure or restart does it print?

Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 05:04 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wand3r3r View Post
when you look at the printer under printers does it say "ready"?
same results with a test page?
when looking at the print job queue you highlight the print job and under Document if you click on resure or restart does it print?
Yeah, I get the same results when printing the test page. Also, when i look at in under printers it says offline. But i cant change that. And I tries to restart the job from the queue but still no response.
__________________
BOLIVIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 07:57 PM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,892
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hi Bolivia,

I would find a latest driver of the printer from the Manufacturer's site. See if that helps.

Also, can you please post an ipconfig /all output of the Vista computer? A How-To guide can be found from this Sticky.
http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ts-573730.html

Please let us know.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 08:21 PM   #5
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



What kind of printer? did you set it up using the printers software utility or through a tcp/ip port? Any chance you assigned an IP already in use to the printer?
__________________

Fred Garvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 06:30 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7



It's an HP L7650 printer. I downloaded the most current drivers but still no difference. The other 2 pc's work perfectly, one is an HP running 7 and the other is a much older pc running xp. And I used the "add printer" utility under network so I didn't manually change any ip configurations.. I'll post that ipconfig up a little later today 2xg.
__________________
BOLIVIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 08:41 AM   #7
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



Try logging into the printer's IP address in a web browser on the computer that won't connect to it. If the printer has a web setup page, make sure the printer is assigned a static IP. Check the software or HPs website and see if there is a utility to locate your printer. Maybe one was installed with the software?

Make sure you aren't connecting to the printer as a "Shared Printer" off another computer, but directly to the printer itself. If all else fails, go into the printer properties of the printer on the problem PC and add a new TCP/IP Port and use the IP address of the printer (must be a static IP).
__________________

Fred Garvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 11:22 AM   #8
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,892
OS: Windows O/S'es



Yep, it is a networked printer, therefore the printer should be plugged in to a Network Switch or to the Router's LAN Port.

All you need to do is use the CD that came with your printer and use it in the Vista computer install the printer driver and software package, shd detect the IP and your network's subnet.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 10:00 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7



I'll give that a try 2Xg. But what if he doesn't have the cd? When I installed it the first time I just used the wizard and the software from the HP site. Will the cd offer someting different?
__________________
BOLIVIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 12:49 AM   #10
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,892
OS: Windows O/S'es



Yes the downloaded software/driver from HP will be fine.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When printing to a shared print, I have to restart print spooler in order for it to p
I have four computers on a home network (xp and 7). I have one printer connected to the 7 machine. I shared the printer and the other computer are connected to it, but when they try to print, it gets sent to the printer but it does not print. If I restart the print spooler on the computer...
ghurty Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 2 09-01-2011 11:41 AM
Lexmark blues in E-minor
I have a Lexmark All-in-one X5470 printer/scanner/copier/fax machine. The problem: it scans to almost any program on my computer, but it cant print it back to the printer. It copies from a top-side left side copier bar and it prints those ok because those are not going to the computer, they're...
chap0367 Printer Support 3 08-19-2011 12:41 PM
Not able to print to HP2050. It was working earlier!!
I had recently purchased a HP Deskjet 2050 to be used with my Acer AspireOne - Win 7 starter. I had followed the installation instructions and it was working all right till last week. Now it does not work. i.e, if I try to print from PDF/MS-Word/Notebook/MS-Excel etc etc, it just does not print....
psvinay Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 13 08-02-2011 12:17 AM
Microsoft printing issues - huge list of fixes???
Hi, :smile: allow me to explain why the below copy/paste is messy. It's because I'd been having issues with both HP 6L, and now HP 5L printers. My issues practically mimic problems cited by the below OP. So for clarity, I culled the below from within a thread on a support forum affiliated with...
Minni Windows XP Support 9 07-28-2011 11:30 PM
Printer won't print in adobe reader
Hi everyone, I have a challenging problem to solve. My network printer is installed on my server running Windows Server 2003. It will print in all applications on the client machine except adobe reader. Nothing I do seems to allow this thing to print PDF files. The printer in question is an HP...
cl0udedth0ught Printer Support 2 03-01-2011 12:31 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts