Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Printer Troubles

This is a discussion on Printer Troubles within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I work in a small print shop, we just had a new machine added. We give all the machines static


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-30-2012, 01:31 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
OS: XP



I work in a small print shop, we just had a new machine added. We give all the machines static ip addresses within the local network, however with the latest addition when we try to print something another machine on the network picks the job up (not all the time though). I have checked the ip settings multiple times, one is set to xx.xxx.xx.205 and the other is @ .206 (is that too close in the range?). The tech from the printer company says there must be a problem in the network. I need some ideas of what to try here. When I ping the new machine's IP when it is unplugged, I get a response through the old machine. Any help is appreciated.

__________________
s13ka24det is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 01:46 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 134
OS: Windows 7



"When I ping the new machine's IP when it is unplugged, I get a response through the old machine. Any help is appreciated."

What does this mean?
What happens when you ping the printer or when you say "machine" do you mean printer?

Can you post your Subnet Mask or better yet the complete IPCONFIG /ALL. Don't worry about hiding the IP because if it is a private IP (192.168.x.x, 172.16.x.x – 172.31.x.x or 10.x.x.x) then no one can get to it any ways because the NAT will hide them from the public and besides they are not routable.

__________________
JimFlagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 01:49 PM   #3
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,911
OS: Vista/Win7



"When I ping the new machine's IP when it is unplugged, I get a response through the old machine."

this indicates you have a ip addressing [duplicate] problem

All ip addresses and host names associated with the ip address should be documented.
Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 01:49 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
OS: XP



If I ping the printer either with the network cable plugged in or not, I get a response which I assume comes from the old machine which is still on the network. The IP for the older machine is 10.77.99.205 and the new is 10.77.99.206 - the network is through a VPN if that matters at all.
__________________
s13ka24det is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 01:57 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
OS: XP



SN is 255.255.255.0
__________________
s13ka24det is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 01:59 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 134
OS: Windows 7



Wand3r3r has got it right. You have to be careful when giving printers static IPs that another computer out there does not have that IP. The best way to do this is to configure your DHCP server with a range of IPs that will be reserved for devices such as printers to make sure a computer never gets a printer IP.

As for the VPN the reason it could be an issue is if your VPN is on another subnet but if that was the case you would be having a lot more problems than just this printer.

__________________
JimFlagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it worth buying a printer?
I'm a college student who needs to print out around 45-50 pages per week (black and white only). I've been using the library printers because they only cost 10 cents/page, but I haven't had to print anywhere this much before and I could use the convenience of having my own printer. I know...
smorgasbord Printer Support 1 03-30-2012 01:48 PM
3tb drive troubles
Hey all, I recently bought a Hitachi 7k3000, I took it out of it's enclosure and plugged it into my pc but now the previous gpt ntfs single partition is instead recognised as unallocated!! :( is there any fix!?! When it asked me to initialize the drive I selected GPT... Just to specify...
problaze Hard Drive Support 11 03-30-2012 01:00 PM
Epson Printer Hangs on Post when turned on.
I just purchased (about 3 months ago) an Epson Artisan 837 MFP. After a long fight getting the drivers installed I fnally got it up and running in Win XP. Epson Support told me to take it to another system to install it to try and figure out the problem. Finally I found the driver in the Device...
pt121984 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 2 03-29-2012 10:38 AM
3tb drive troubles
problaze Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 3 03-29-2012 03:22 AM
Printer problem
Hi!!! We are using this printer to issue receipts. When I print a receipt with two pages it issues another two blank receipts. what or where can I fix this problem. the printer is OKI Microline 5720. thanking you in advance.
mphagoc Printer Support 1 03-28-2012 04:20 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts