Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Not able to open the 192.168.2.1 Page

This is a discussion on Not able to open the 192.168.2.1 Page within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi All, I got a new internet connection today. got the modem to work first. Then tried to set up


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-28-2009, 04:31 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
OS: xp


EEK!

Hi All,

I got a new internet connection today. got the modem to work first. Then tried to set up the router. Got the router to work after connecting it as Hard wired one. The internet started to work till this place:

Then tried to open the page 192.168.2.1 as required for set up, but it wont open up, nothing happens. Searched internet, rebooted the modem and routers and the laptop as required, but still could not make the page open.

Following are the configurations that may help to identify:

Modem: Motorla (working fine)
Wireless Router: CompUsa 54 Mbps Wireless G SKU: 333628

C:\>ipconfig
Windows IP Configuration

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : am.lilly.com
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 40.23.207.175
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.240.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 40.23.207.175

I am getting nuts, spent over 6 hrs but not able to get the wireless working..

Config/all has this info:

ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MC1BCCND8140LR7
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . : **********
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AG
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3B-44-CD-75

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82566MM Gigabit Network Con
nection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-EC-1E-6F-EC
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, February 28, 2009 6:19:16 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 16, 1903 11:51:00 AM


Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : am.lilly.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Cisco Systems VPN Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-05-9A-3C-78-00
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 40.23.207.175
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.240.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 40.23.207.175
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : ***************
Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 40.25.17.9
Secondary WINS Server . . . . . . : 40.25.12.26


Regards,
Rohit Arora

__________________
Rohit.X.Arora is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 05:48 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 62
OS: Vista Biz(x86), Server 2003 Enterprise(x86), XP Pro(x86), XP Home(x86)



So it still connects to the internet, you just can't access router? Did you run the setup wizard for the router? Did you set an admin login as well? If your wireless isn't connecting, you might have to enable it. Give a more clear description of your problems and what you did. Maybe try https://192.168.2.1, it could be that the router has secure http access as default. I enabled it on my 2 year old router at my parents house, and had a problem accessing the interface, until I remembered I setup access that way. Also, do you have Cable, DSL etc for internet service? More specifics might help.

__________________
Ptroy is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 06:34 AM   #3
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
Connection type, wired or wireless.
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.


  • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
  • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
  • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
  • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

Type the following commands on separate lines, following each one with the Enter key:

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com

NBTSTAT -n

IPCONFIG /ALL


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 05:21 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
OS: win98



The router will normally dish out the IP numbers to connected computers on the network. If you have/had an existing router
__________________
Jenifer32 is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 05:47 PM   #5
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,986
OS: Windows O/S'es



This is over a year old Thread, thanks for the feedback.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jenifer32 View Post
The router will normally dish out the IP numbers to connected computers on the network. If you have/had an existing router
Closed!

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts