Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support


New Router blocking file sharing?

This is a discussion on New Router blocking file sharing? within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello everyone. I installed a new D-Link DSL-2640B router not long ago. I previously had a netgear router installed and


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2010, 11:23 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
OS: XP Pro



Hello everyone. I installed a new D-Link DSL-2640B router not long ago. I previously had a netgear router installed and had file sharing setup without a problem. The new router has been installed for a couple of months, but I do not use file sharing very often. I tried to transfer files today and it will not work... I can access the internet on all machines (2 XP, 1 Vista, 1 Win 7) and can see all computers, but get a "path not found" error when I try to access any of the computers (I have tried all directions too, XP to Vista, Vista to XP, Vista to Win 7, etc)

I have checked all settings on each computer and they all appear to be correct as they should be because I did not change anything on any of then when I switched routers... All are setup for sharing and all are on the same workgroup.

I assume the problem must be with the router. I did the auto setup on the router and it worked for for internet access. After realizing there was a sharing problem I reset it and chose PPPoE connection type and tried with and without NAT and with and without a firewall.... Nothing...

Any ideas?
blakrapter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-21-2010, 11:45 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,039
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


I suspect you have a firewall configuration issue. D-Link routers typically operate on the 192.168.0.x subnet, and Netgear models usually run on the 192.168.1.x subnet.

Disable ALL firewalls and see if that makes a difference.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 10:40 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
OS: XP Pro



johnwill,

That was it! I turned off the firewalls and it worked, so I went back and made sure my network was "trusted" and it all works beautifully now. Thanks!
blakrapter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:30 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com