Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

[SOLVED] Network breaking when multople routers setup

1K views 13 replies 3 participants last post by  Wand3r3r 
#1 ·
Hi all, hoping someone can help me resolve an issue I've been frustrated by for the past couple days. Here's a description of the setup I've been using for the past several months, which was working flawlessly:

Modem: standard internet gateway from xfinity set in pass thru mode

Routers: 3x Cisco e2500

Additional: 2x powerline adapters

I had all of these set up with the main router attached to the modem and configured to be the DHCP server, consistent with the tutorial sticky at the top of the page. This router was connected to the 2 powerline adapters, which were then feeding internet directly to the other 2 routers, which had DHCP server disabled. They all ran the same wifi network settings and everything was working great.

Then a couple days ago, it just stopped working. I've been troubleshooting to see if a bad router was the culprit, but it doesn't seem to be the case. I've reset the routers and reconfigured them multiple times with no luck. I've been able to set up each of the 3 routers as the main router connected to the modem, and each of them independently works fine. However, as soon as I reconfigure one to extend the signal and hook it up to a powerline adapter, the network stops working. My devices can see the network but can't connect to it. I've confirmed that I can connect directly to the powerline adapter without issue, but there is no internet passing through the second or third routers, wired or wifi.

Any ideas what may have caused this? I thought for sure I had a bad router but they all seem to work fine when set up on their own. The fact everything was working perfectly and then suddenly stopped has me at a complete loss.

Halp!

See less See more
#3 ·
Re: Network breaking when multople routers setup

Thanks Old Rich!