Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Netgear vs D-link

This is a discussion on Netgear vs D-link within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey, I'm planing to buy a new wireless router and have come down to two options: NETGEAR WNR612 WNR612 and


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-28-2012, 10:32 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 25
OS: XP pro SP3, Win7



Hey,
I'm planing to buy a new wireless router and have come down to two options:

NETGEAR WNR612 WNR612
and
D-Link Wireless N150 D-Link Wireless N 150 Home Router

Can anyone share their experiences and thoughts about which one's better? Also, my last WiFi router of a different manufacturer had this problem: when copying large files over LAN the Internet would become unaccessible from any machine on the network regardless whether it was transferring files or not.
Do you know if any of this two have the same problem?

It would be nice to hear from people who have actually used either of these.

Thanks!

__________________
zombar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:48 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Dwarflord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 502
OS: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

My System


I have used both Netgear and D-Link routers, and both are ok-ish, the models
i have used were all limited in what they could do.
I suppose it is down to what you need from them.

If you want something really good then check this out.
I have the 2820n, the link shows a slightly newer model.

DrayTek Vigor2850 Dual-DSL Router, Firewall and VPN Device

__________________
Dwarflord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 01:34 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 25
OS: XP pro SP3, Win7



Dwarflord thanks for the suggestion, but it is just too fancy and expensive for me. I just need a router for a simple home network; probably should've mentioned that in my original post.
__________________
zombar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 01:53 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Dwarflord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 502
OS: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

My System


No problem.

I would personally recommend this :
TP-Link TD-W8960N 300MBPS Wireless N ADSL2+ Modem Router

TP-Link TD-W8960N 300MBPS Wireless N ADSL2+ Modem Router for BT connections: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories
__________________
Dwarflord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 02:11 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



If you choose a particular brand say, via Amazon, find those within your price range then google them where you are sure to see a review or two on those particular models or there may even be reviews on Amazon.

I've used an ISP supplied D-Link before but the wireless range on it was poor and needed to sited highish up to get the best out of the range.

Netgears used to have a good rep but I've also seen criticism of some of those, which may have been the 2200 but most seemed to be happy with 2000 although I've never used one.

The router I use is the Billion Bipac 7800N for the Broadcom chipset because of my 50ish attenuation, as the ISP ones just have the Infineon (think that's how it's spelled) chipset and was prone to disconnects.

But it's as Dwarflord says, it depends on how much you want out of it and although I've no experience of either the models you've shortlisted, I think I'd prefer to trust the Netgear over the D-Link.

If whatever you choose and it doesn't work out, you may be able to RMA it.
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 02:28 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 25
OS: XP pro SP3, Win7



Dwarflord, I might try that TP-link router. One question though, will it give any problems if I configure it for WAN (simply to use it as a router) ? I don't have ADSL.
__________________
zombar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 02:36 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Dwarflord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 502
OS: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

My System


Tell me more about your Internet connection, Is it DSl you are connecting to?
My understanding of WAN is (Wide Area Network), which generally implies the Internet.

Just a few details so I can reply to your question.

Thanks
__________________
Dwarflord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 02:41 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 25
OS: XP pro SP3, Win7



It's Fiber Optic with a static IP. Connects with a standard rj45 cable. It's my understanding that I just need to convert one of the LAN ports to a WAN port?
__________________
zombar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 02:58 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Dwarflord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 502
OS: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

My System


Thanks so basically it's cable broadband you have.

The router I suggested is not suitable for cable.

I have no experience personally of the router I have found for you, but
it is DSL router, cheap, a good brand and has great reviews.

Amazon.co.uk: Customer Reviews: TP-Link TL-WR841N 300Mbs Wireless N Cable Router with 4-Port 10/100 Switch
__________________
Dwarflord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 03:09 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Dwarflord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 502
OS: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by zombar View Post
It's Fiber Optic with a static IP. Connects with a standard rj45 cable. It's my understanding that I just need to convert one of the LAN ports to a WAN port?
For clarity, I need to add this, Connecting an RJ45 from a Cable Modem
to the Lan port of an ADSL router won't work.

I have DSL at home and this I have tested. The router fails to connect.
__________________
Dwarflord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 03:26 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 25
OS: XP pro SP3, Win7



I have read people do it, making an DSL router work with a Cable Modem. TP-link has a good tutorial on converting a LAN port to work as WAN here:
How to configure TD-W8960N's LAN port work as WAN port(TD-W8960N work with cable modem) - Welcome to TP-LINK
I suppose I should look at other products by TP-link.

__________________
zombar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Redirecting Issues - rundll32.exe and System Restore.
Hi All, I suspect that my computer has recently been infected with a virus etc. Over the past several days the computer has been playing up and I have noticed that I am being directed to other web sites other than those, which I have chosen. Also, when I shut my computer down via “start” –...
thomasanthony Resolved HJT Threads 34 08-24-2011 12:52 PM
Infected Email Link
I did not download and run GMER because it says 32-bit systems only following the instructions and I have a 64-bit system. So I was checking my Gmail in Google Chrome when I received two emails on my Gmail account and on my School account from a family friend. As you can see from the photo it was...
Kishkab Inactive Malware Help Topics 4 05-28-2011 07:30 AM
Please4 Help!! Google redirects!
Hello, I have had this problem for a few days now, every link i click on in google redirects me to some other page that looks like it could contain viruses itself. I have Mcafee and spybot, i have also run ccleaner just to clean up things. But nothing has eliminated the problem! Spybot...
jess7aylor Inactive Malware Help Topics 3 05-25-2011 08:33 AM
[SOLVED] IE selecting wrong link
In IE when you select a link with the mouse, the link that is executed is 2 positions off. For example on the Google homepage, if you point at NEWS and left click, it actually selects the VIDEO link. This is a Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit system. Things I have tried so far with no affect: -...
bfromcolo Internet Explorer Forum 3 04-09-2011 12:06 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts