Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Need help with Xfinity internet

This is a discussion on Need help with Xfinity internet within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a wireless network set up in my home using Comcast Xfinity and a DIR 615 Dlink router. I


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-15-2010, 01:29 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
OS: vista



I have a wireless network set up in my home using Comcast Xfinity and a DIR 615 Dlink router. I am a using a desktop computer right now that's connected with an ethernet chord to the router and the internet is working fine.
However, once in a while, the internet goes down and it says that the network is now local only and there is no internet connectivity (which i guess means that the router is working fine and the only thing I can do is transfer files around from one computer to another using the router). All i have to do is wait for about a minute and the internet would be back online. I ran a windows diagnosis when the internet was down and it said that this couldn't be solved automatically and that the problem has something to do with the DNS (which i have no idea what that is).
This always pissed me off so today i decided to take out all the wires from the ARRIS modem (which comcast installed for Xfinity) and reconnected them. I waited a little while and decided to test the network. The wired connection is fine but the wireless connection is local only and isnt connected to the internet :(

Can anyone help?!?!

EDIT 1: The two laptops in my house seem to have the internet working for some reason but this desktop's wireless connection isnt connecting to the internet (I have a wired and a wireless connection on this computer)

__________________
azadbal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 01:56 PM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,892
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello and Welcome to TSF!

Try these recommendations:

Disable IPV6

==============
Disable IP Helper Service from Control Panel, then administrative tools, then clicking on services and locate IP Helper, double click on it and choose Disable.

==============
Disable DHCP Broadcast Flag by clicking on the Fix It button.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 06:29 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
OS: vista



I turned off IPV6 but it made no difference :/
i see that in the "connection status", it says that both IPV4 and IPV6 are local only. Is there a way to change that?
__________________
azadbal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 08:35 PM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,892
OS: Windows O/S'es



Have you tried the other 2 recommendations?

You may also try uninstalling/reinstalling the Wireless Network Adapter from Device Manager by following this guide.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts