Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support


NAS and Windows OS

This is a discussion on NAS and Windows OS within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-28-2015, 05:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
OS: win 7



Hello, I have a small network in my office.
Basically it is 6 computers connected to a switch, the switch is connected to the internet and 6 NAS.
( yes I know itís not the best system)
2 of the NAS contain projects files that we all use every day we read and write to the constantly.
The other 4 drives are backups on the 2 main drives that get synced ever night with a program called smart sync.


I have issues with NAS failures. If an NAS fails due to a NON DISK issue then I cannot simply remove the disk and pop it in a windows computer and run it. The standard NAS I have run of some Linux OS so you canít just pop them in the windows computer and expect to read them.


( yes I know I can get a Linux box and recover the info. Not interested it that)


Is there an NAS out there that will allow me to remove the HDD from the NAS and install it in a standard windows computer?
scott449 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2015, 08:26 PM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 11,926
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


You want a basic NAS drive and normally they don't come with software and are formatted to Windows file system. In fact I have never seen any with Linux but you could take the files off the drive you want to keep then attach it to a Windows desktop and use" EaseUs Partition Manager" to wipe the drive and then partition it to NTFS for Windows. EaseUS Partition Master - Free Partition Magic alternative, Partition Manager Software for Windows PC and Server
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 08:52 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 17,945
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus

I have "fake" NAS by connecting a laptop SATA drive to the USB port on my router with a SATA->USB adapter. Since the router only support up to 750GB and the drive is 1TB I simply split it in to two partitions, formatted NTFS and slapped it on there. Not the most clean or pretty looking setup but it works great for our needs.
__________________

-----------------------------
There are no dumb questions, unless a customer is asking them.

Help in the fight against cancer and other serious illnesses.
ebackhus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New NAS, old NAS suddenly unaccessible from Vista
I bought a gigabit NAS to replace my existing 100Mb NAS. After copying the data and users from the old box to the new (during which both NAS boxes worked fine) I renamed the old one to BACKUP and gave the new one the name of the old, FILE_SERVER. At that moment a couple of problems arose: 1....
plagerwerf File and Application Sharing 16 08-12-2012 06:52 AM
Can't access NAS from Windows 7
Hello everyone! I'm having a weird issue: I bought a WD MyBookLive NAS (My Book Live) about 5 Months ago. I share a lot of files on it with other members of my family who live in the same house. Everything worked perfectly fine for about 4 Months, but now, problems have been coming up: I...
Nevermake Networking Support 2 03-30-2012 03:44 PM
[SOLVED] Windows 7 and LG NAS
I've got a LG NAS box (N2R1). The web UI provided is reasonable; and alows me to create and manage users and shares. One thing that's been confusing me a little however is the way in which my Windows 7 PC deals with it. Now I've set a few shares to not require authentication to access them; along...
themoodude File and Application Sharing 5 09-16-2011 05:47 PM
[SOLVED] Win7 not accessible NAS
Hi all, i would like to ask you for help, in the following situation. 12.4 i have configured a new NAS server - QNAP TS-419p+ - NAS is connected to wifi router ASUS WL-500g Premium v2 (LAN cable connection) - ASUS router is set up to dynamic IP assignment - to ASUS router is connected the...
arnie2 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 2 04-15-2011 09:25 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:56 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com