Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

My Toshiba Satellite won't connect to any internet

This is a discussion on My Toshiba Satellite won't connect to any internet within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. A few weeks ago my AC adapter for my toshiba satellite laptop quit working so i had to buy a


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-07-2011, 04:51 PM   #1
knl
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
OS: windows vista



A few weeks ago my AC adapter for my toshiba satellite laptop quit working so i had to buy a new one. upon arrival of my new adapter, it seemed like i couldn't connect to the wireless internet at my family's house which was working fine for the home computer. I tried to get on the internet in an airplane and I couldn't connect. All of these wireless connections are working fine and no other computer seems to have the same issue. whenever i try to connect to a network in range or my home network, it says that i only have limited connectvity. I have tried posted resetting commands in the comand prompt and then rebooting but it still says I am in limited connectivity. Help?

__________________
knl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 05:32 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Phou's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA-RI
Posts: 607
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit



This will help and give us an idea to better assist you with your wireless concern.

Please Post the following along with a detail description of your issue:
Who is your ISP?

US Providers - Comcast, Charter, AT&T, Verizon, etc...
UK Providers - BT, talktalk, Virgin Media, etc...

What type of broadband are you using? Dial-up, DSL, Cable, Satellite, Fios, T1

If your laptop has a Wireless Switch on the side, verify that it's 'On'.
You may also try a combination of FN key (FN+F1 or FN+F2 or FN-F8) from your keyboard to activate your wireless connection.

Install and run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector.
Click on the 'Show Networks' to display all wireless networks on the xirrus icon on your desktop of if you have one running in a corner. Tap the Printscreen key on your keyboard, open up Paint then choose Edit from the Menu and select Paste, then SAVE it. Upload and attached it here, click on Go Advanced and locate Manage Attachments Tab and attached the file.

Post an ipconfig /all of the computer in question for review.
Click on Start => in run or search box type cmd press enter (run as Admin for Vista and 7). From the black screen, type the word ipconfig /all and press enter. Right click on the black screen or Command prompt then choose Select All and Paste the results onto your Post.

You may also attach the ipconfig /all output if the computer is unable to connect to the Internet then use an external USB flash drive to transfer the .txt file.
Click on Start => in run or search box type cmd, choose run as Admin and press enter. Open up a command prompt then Copy and Paste these ipconfig /all >c:\ipconfig.txt . Please attach the .txt file to be found in your Local Disk 'C' on your next post.

__________________
Phou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 06:24 PM   #3
knl
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
OS: windows vista



sorry, my network provider is AT&T. AT&T U-Verse.

these are the results:

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name..................................... : Kiki-PC
Primary Dns Suffix. . . . . . . :
Node Type. . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection :

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter

Physical Address . . . . . . . : 00-21-63-D4-5F-B6
DHCP Enabled . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . . . : fe80::3579:2d3c:65ec:b089%11 (Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . . . . : 169.254.176.137 (Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 301998435
DHCPv6 Client DUID . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-E2-40-4E-00-1E-33-8C-14-EA

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . .. . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
Description . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC <NDIS 6.0>
Physical Address . . . . . . : 00-1E-33-8D-48-B8
DHCP Enabled . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . : isatap. {8759A705-0244-4C76-8348-39B7AE2DC4DC}
Physical Address . . . . . . . . :00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . .. : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Media State . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-speciffic DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . : isatap.myhome.westell.com
Physical Address . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . . . : Yes
__________________
knl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 06:34 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Phou's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA-RI
Posts: 607
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit



Are you able to plug the laptop to the router using the cable and access the Internet then download the Wireless driver on Toshiba Support - Homepage ?

After updating the driver and if you are still unable to connect please try to install the WiFi inspector provided in the above link and attach the screenshot.
__________________
Phou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 09:22 PM   #5
knl
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
OS: windows vista



It still won't connect so I was unable to get on the website at all and install the Wireless driver after I plugged in the cable. I restored/backed up my computer until before it started not being able to access the Internet and it still is on limited connectivity and won't connect to the Internet fully.
__________________
knl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 10:20 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Phou's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA-RI
Posts: 607
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit



If it can't connect using a wired connection then it's likely your operating system.

Try safe mode with networking, reboot computer press F8 and select Safe Mode with Networking.
__________________
Phou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 09:07 PM   #7
knl
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
OS: windows vista



F8 wouldn't give me the Safe Mode Options screen when I tried to reboot it and get into safe mode with networking. is there any other way to do that?
__________________
knl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 09:20 PM   #8
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



When you first power on the computer, keep tapping the F8 key once per second. You should eventually get to a black screen where you can choose Safe Mode with Networking. Try the ethernet cable connected directly from the PC to your router and continue with Phou's instructions.
__________________

Fred Garvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 07:00 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
OS: win 7



This sounds exactly like the problem I was having. I'm no computer wizard but you should give this a try. If you have any anti virus software, you should try uninstalling it. Even if your computer was running fine before with it something could have changed causing it to mess up your connection. That was my problem and I hope this helps.
__________________
xw9128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 02:45 PM   #10
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hi knl,

It might help to update your Atheros driver. Here's a link for your driver.

Please give us an update.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop infected
Hi, One of my laptops has been affected by a pretty serious bug. I run a Windows Vista Home Premium, Service Pack 2. The computer cannot boot normally and will only boot on safemode. I don't know how the laptop came to be like this as it is the family laptop. I ran Spybot search and...
MrMister Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 62 08-10-2011 04:18 PM
[SOLVED] Trying to connect Toshiba Satellite A205 to wireless internet
I am trying to connect my Toshiba Satellite A205 to wireless internet through Comcast. It says its connected but only locally and will not let me surf the internet. Every other wireless device in my house connects to the same wireless I am trying to connect to, but my laptop won't. PLEASE HELP...
amichael1987 Networking Support 24 07-17-2011 07:04 PM
XP Internet Security 2012 Firewall Alert
Hello. Two days ago I got the virus XP Internet Security 2012 Firewall Alert. It does not let me open any file/folder/browser. When I try to google how to remove it, it redirects me to different websites. Please ...
lilbrat0326 Resolved HJT Threads 15 07-03-2011 06:49 PM
Toshiba Satellite Laptop Will Not Connect To Network or Internet-Special Situation!!!
Ok, let me start by telling you that I know nothing about computers. I recently purchased a new Toshiba Satellite for the deployment I am currently on. It runs on Windows 7 Home Premium I believe. Anyways, I have verified that the internet connection to my room works by hooking up someone elses...
gtd inc Cabling and Network Cards 42 06-14-2011 10:50 AM
Toshiba Satellite wont connect to internet
I've got a Toshiba Satellite L45D-13U laptop, that was working fine, had a cracked screen and a faulty keyboard, both of which have been replaced, was fine still for a short while then it was turned on and hey presto the desktop has changed from usual to blue background, and wont connect to...
Sions9881 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 05-03-2011 03:05 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts