Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Linksys router not working after move

This is a discussion on Linksys router not working after move within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all. I have a problem with my Linksys router. I use Time Warner cable, and I just moved into


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-21-2009, 05:19 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
OS: xp



Hello all.

I have a problem with my Linksys router. I use Time Warner cable, and I just moved into a new home, and had the same ISP set up service there. But the two computers, when I plugged in the router and the wireless router adapter on the other computer, no longer function. In fact, my pc was hardwired directly into the router, and it still wouldn't work, no internet connection.

I'm not sure what could have changed, and trying to find an online manual for making my router work has both failed and left me bereft of options.

Please help :( Can't really afford a new router or a tech guy to come out. If there is a way to reset the router and network and make it work again, please let me know. Thank you.

__________________
MorpheusOmikron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 08:03 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


The following procedure should get you a connection with any broadband modem that is configured to use DHCP for the router connection, such as cable modems, and many DSL modems. If you require PPPoE configuration for the DSL modem, that will have to be configured to match the ISP requirements.

Note that the wireless encryption and channel selection will have to be done after the basic wired connection is established, the first step is to get wired connections working.

  • Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on.
  • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
  • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
  • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
  • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
  • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
  • Boot the computer.

When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous command output!

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

IPCONFIG /ALL

PING <computer_IP_address>

PING <default_gateway_address>

PING <dns_servers>

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

<computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 08:56 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
OS: xp



Here we go.

I did what you asked for the master computer (mine, which is hardwired into port #1 of the Linksys router) and the wireless computer hooked with a USB cord into a wireless adapter. First, the master computer.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : owner-9717d5c72
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : tx.rr.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : tx.rr.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82566DC Gigabit Network Con
nection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-C0-75-05-22
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::21c:c0ff:fe75:522%4
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 21, 2009 10:39:30 A
M
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, December 22, 2009 10:39:30
AM

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%5
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : tx.rr.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-01-64
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.100%2
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>



Now the wireless computer.


Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Compaq_Administrator>ipconfig /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Maureen
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-EC-AA-69-9E

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 10:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys Wireless-G USB Network Adapt
er #5
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-7E-08-9B-28

C:\Documents and Settings\Compaq_Administrator>



There you go :)

Also, the router upon reset still did not let me connect to the internet. I had to manually plug into the modem again to send this to you, if that's important.
__________________
MorpheusOmikron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 09:00 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
OS: XP pro



I'm sure Johnwill will be anoe to confirm, but I think that the problem is below

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

Have you configured your NIC to pre assigned IP addresses? If you need static IP addressing on the PC's then the following should get you online

IP Address - 192.168.1.100
Subnet - 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway - Blank
DHCP Server - Blank
DNS server - both blank.

This should then let you through to the internet,

James
__________________
jamiebrown3123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 09:06 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
OS: xp



Not really sure what that all means james. I'm pretty technically illiterate :(
__________________
MorpheusOmikron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 05:42 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
OS: xp



Bump. Please help :(
__________________
MorpheusOmikron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 02:16 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
OS: XP pro



Sorry Morph,

follow these steps and post the results

Start - Settings - Control pannel - network connections - right click on the ethernet connection and click on Status - click properties - scroll down on the main window to Internet protocol (TCP/IP) and click properties.

This brings you to the IP address screen, do you have "Obtain Ip Addresses automatically" or do you have static addresses manually filled in.

If manually then starting at the bottom, clear each field untill you reach the Subnet mask.

The settings that you should have are either automatically select IP and DNS or as follows


IP Address: 192.168.1.100
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Defaulkt gateway: blank

Primary DNS: blank
secondary DNS: blank

give this a try as this is the settings that I need on my Lynksys routers.

let me know how you get on.
__________________
jamiebrown3123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 07:49 AM   #8
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiebrown3123 View Post
Have you configured your NIC to pre assigned IP addresses? If you need static IP addressing on the PC's then the following should get you online

IP Address - 192.168.1.100
Subnet - 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway - Blank
DHCP Server - Blank
DNS server - both blank.

This should then let you through to the internet,

James
Actually, there's no way that will ever connect to the Internet. Without both the DNS servers and a Default Gateway, the external requests will fail. The values pointing to the router are correct, 192.168.1.1 for all of them. Using DHCP to assign these values solves the problem, and they'll be correctly assigned from the router.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 07:51 AM   #9
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Let's try to get a wired connection through the router working again.


The following procedure should get you a connection with any broadband modem that is configured to use DHCP for the router connection, such as cable modems, and many DSL modems. If you require PPPoE configuration for the DSL modem, that will have to be configured to match the ISP requirements.

Note that the wireless encryption and channel selection will have to be done after the basic wired connection is established, the first step is to get wired connections working.

  • Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on.
  • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
  • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
  • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
  • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
  • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
  • Boot the computer.

When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous command output!

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

IPCONFIG /ALL

PING <computer_IP_address>

PING <default_gateway_address>

PING <dns_servers>

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

<computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts