Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Limited or no connectivity - wireless and wired

This is a discussion on Limited or no connectivity - wireless and wired within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi. When trying to Connect to the internet, I am seeing "Aquiring Network Address" for a while and then eventually


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2009, 11:35 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
OS: WinXP



Hi.

When trying to Connect to the internet, I am seeing "Aquiring Network Address" for a while and then eventually get the "Limited Connectivity" message. This is happening when I try both a wireless and wired connection, although other laptops and my PS3 can get online OK.

I've tried resetting the router, checked the WPA is right (and also disabled security to try without) and did the Winsock reset in CMD but all with no luck. Devices are showing as working correctly.

The laptop is an IBM on XP SP3.

Any ideas of what else to try? Thanks.

__________________
ldu97177 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 09:39 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
lorjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,960
OS: XP, Win7



Reset the TCP/IP stack in addition to WINSOCK.

Windows XP
Open up a command prompt (Start > Run > CMD)
Type the bolded commands in the command prompt window:

Reset TCP/IP Stack: netsh int ip reset reset.log
Reset WINSOCK entries: netsh winsock reset catalog

When finished reboot

__________________
lorjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 11:36 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
OS: WinXP



OK I've done these but still with no luck. It actually connected with a wired connection in Safe Mode but not when booted normally.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Ross>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : IBM-614E68684D4
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home
home

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0A-E4-33-0F-4C
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.5
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 21 June 2009 07:16:11
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 22 June 2009 07:16:11

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-12-F0-8A-9F-38
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 21 June 2009 02:47:20
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 22 June 2009 02:47:20

C:\Documents and Settings\Ross>
__________________
ldu97177 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 07:21 AM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Top suspect here would be a firewall or Internet security application. Since you are obviously communicating with the router, this is an application problem at a higher level.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 12:45 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
OS: WinXP



Thanks...I've tried turning the firewall off with no success. Is there more I can try to do?

Also, whenever I try to ping a website I get "Destination host unreachable", sending 4 packets and receiving 0.
__________________
ldu97177 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 05:54 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
lorjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,960
OS: XP, Win7



Open up a command prompt (Start > run > cmd)
Type the following bolded commands and post the results for each affected machine.

ping www.google.com
ping 74.125.53.99

Note: To post results of commands, alternate click on the top of the command prompt > edit > select all >
alternate click on the top of the command prompt > edit > copy > paste in a message here. If you are on
a computer that can't connect to the internet then paste the contents in a text document and save it to a
portable media like a flash drive, then use an internet capable machine to post the contents.


What security software is installed?
__________________
lorjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 12:59 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
OS: WinXP



I have tried turning the Firewall off and also uninstalled McAfee and AVG.

The ping results are:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Ross>ping www.google.com
Ping request could not find host www.google.com. Please check the name and try a
gain.

C:\Documents and Settings\Ross>ping 74.125.53.99

Pinging 74.125.53.99 with 32 bytes of data:

Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 74.125.53.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\Ross>ping www.google.com
Ping request could not find host www.google.com. Please check the name and try a
gain.

C:\Documents and Settings\Ross>
__________________
ldu97177 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 12:08 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
OS: Vista Home Basic SP1



did you try "automatically detect IP" in your network configuration?? if you do so then maybe the problem is in your wireless adapter in your laptop or check your network drivers and if this all fine im sure that your rauter and network adapter is not compatible...
__________________
corvinus16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 06:27 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
lorjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,960
OS: XP, Win7



You had McAfee and AVG running at the same time? Almost a guarantee that is where the problem started. You should only have one AV installed.

Did you use the McAfee removal tool? http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS100507
__________________
lorjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 04:23 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 39
OS: xp home, xp pro, vista home prem, debian, ubuntu, mandriva



Was the ipconfig output in safe mode? What is the output in normal mode?
__________________
chrishunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 08:05 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7 Release 7100, Windows Vista SP1 & SP2, Windows XP Pro SP2 & SP3



Hi Everyone,

I have had 3 people contact me in the past 3 days with this issue 2 of the machines are only 4 weeks old, one is at least 8 years old.

Each machine's network setup is different,

Machine 1
- Is using ADSL2+
- is using a Belkin N1 Wireless Router/Modem with built in 4 port 100mbps switch
- Is only 4 weeks old
- Is running Windows XP SP3
- Using Commodo Internet Security Suite
- Using Adaware Anniversary Edition
- Using AVG Free
- Has had the AVG Virus scanner and Comodo Firewall un-installed to see if that is the cause.

Machine 2
- Is using ADSL 1
- Is only 4 weeks old
- Is running XP SP 3
- Is using Mcafee Internet Security Suite

Machine 3
- Is using ADSL 1
- Is using a D-Link Modem with 4 100mbps port switch
- Is 8 years old
- Is running XP SP3
- Is running as a Print server only
- Is using Zone-alarm Pro 7
- Is using NOD32 Anti Virus
- Is using Spybot Search and Destroy

I have done the following to Machine 1
- Update the NIC Driver to the most recent version, and then tried 2 previous from an archive copy.
- Release and renew the IP address from the CMD prompt
- Flush all DNS information using CMD prompt
- Reset the TCP stack by using the WINSOCK Cmd netsh int ip reset reset.log
- Run the machine in "Safe Mode with networking, no change"
- Changed the cable, changed the port on the router/modem
- plugged another machine into the same port/cable configuration with no issues.
- release the DHCP address assigned to the device on the router config
- rebooted the router
- rebooted the machine (several times)

I have done the following to Machine 3
- Has had the router rebooted
- Has had the DHCP list cleared
- Has had the NIC driver updated to the latest version and 2 prior
- Has had SP3 removed
- Does not resolve the issue in Safe mode with networking
- Has had a Brand New NIC installed
- Has had the CD Drivers installed for the new NIC and then the latest one off of the internet plus 2 Prior.
- Reset the TCP stack by using the WINSOCK Cmd netsh int ip reset reset.log

I have not yet been able to look at machine 2.

It appears that the machines are simply not getting replies to their DHCP request packets and are timing out. I am wondering if anyone else has had this issue after the 1st of June 2009, as I believe that a windows Update may have caused this issue but will stand corrected if someone has this issue and does not run windows update.

I am getting to the point where a re-image of these machines is the only option? I might try a windows XP repair but feel that I might be clutching at straws.

Regards,

Totthead
__________________
Totthead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 01:00 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 39
OS: xp home, xp pro, vista home prem, debian, ubuntu, mandriva



Can you provide the output of

ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew

So we can see that whether your communicating with your DHCP server
__________________
chrishunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 06:02 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
lorjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,960
OS: XP, Win7



@ Totthead

Please create your own thread for your own issue and do not hijack another person's thread. You will need to post a complete and detailed description if the problem and any relevant information.
__________________
lorjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 11:06 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7 Release 7100, Windows Vista SP1 & SP2, Windows XP Pro SP2 & SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by lorjack View Post
@ Totthead

Please create your own thread for your own issue and do not hijack another person's thread. You will need to post a complete and detailed description if the problem and any relevant information.
Hey,

Please accept my apologies, it was not my intention to 'Hijack' the thread, I was simply explaining that I am having an identical issue, I was trying to indicate to the thread starter that they were not the only one who was experiencing this issue by providing an example of my own experience and troubleshooting steps.


I apologise once again.

Regards,
__________________
Totthead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 06:36 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
lorjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,960
OS: XP, Win7



I understand, it is just difficult to keep track of who is doing what when there are multiple people needing help on a single thread.
__________________
lorjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 03:19 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
OS: WinXP



Hi. Here are my results when in Safe Mode with Networking (I can view websites when in this mode)

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Ross>ipconfig /release

Windows IP Configuration

No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection while it has its media di
sconnected.

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

C:\Documents and Settings\Ross>ipconfig /renew

Windows IP Configuration

No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection while it has its media di
sconnected.

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.5
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

C:\Documents and Settings\Ross>

...and here are the results when in normal mode

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Ross>ipconfig /release

Windows IP Configuration

No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection while it has its media di
sconnected.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Ross>ipconfig /renew

Windows IP Configuration

No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection while it has its media di
sconnected.
An error occurred while renewing interface Wireless Network Connection : unable
to contact your DHCP server. Request has timed out.

C:\Documents and Settings\Ross>
__________________
ldu97177 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 01:44 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 20
OS: XP



did u try once by reinstalling operating system.if not try once

__________________
sanat83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts