Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

laptop not recognizing home network after leaving home

This is a discussion on laptop not recognizing home network after leaving home within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-26-2013, 11:59 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 78
OS: windows 7 64



hi all
Feel free to see my prior help threads relating to my network, in case that would help

airstation set up
asus as bridge

The problem that I am having is that my wireless connection on my hp laptop is not recognizing my home network when I come home. At work, I connect using the wireless connection but I have it bridged so that I can connect my xbox while at work (lucky man I know). In the past, I did not have problems connecting to my asus to connect wirelessly. Even when I am gone just 12 hours, I have this problem.

What happens is that I boot up the computer as usual and it attempts to connect to the network. I get a no internet access although I am connected. When I run the wireless troubleshooter it says that I do not have an IP address and recommends I reset the router. This does fix the problem. Unfortunately, this is not always the best solution since we are now running a windows media center set up for TV so if I reset the router we lose TV. An easier solution is to use my old wireless USB adapter. I would prefer, though, to not have to use it. It appears that the wifi is not recognizing my home network as it says it is unrecognized despite being connected the day before. Even if I change it to home network, the problem is not fixed.

Current set up:

FIOS -> actiontec router mi424wr --- asus rt-ac66r


asus --- desktop wired (acts as htpc with cablecard to infinitv4 tuner)
- ceton echo wired
- xbox 360 #1 wired
- xbox 360 #2 wired

--- various wireless connections are connecting fine (chrome book, laptop, wdlive, ps3) including using the wireless adapter on this laptop


Who is your Internet Service Provider (ISP)?
verizon fios

What type of Broadband connection are you using?
fios

What is the exact Make and Model of your Modem, Router or Modem/Router
actiontec m1424wr
asus rt-ac66r
netgear wndr3300
AirStation™ N150 Wireless Router


What is the Name of the Anti-Virus, Security or Firewall Software installed from the problematic computer -
comodo antivirus and firewall
microsoft security essentials
other scanning software

wifi inspector

with hp wifi - working connection of course! Just started working after I took out the USB adapter
ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting

usb adapter
ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting

thank you for reading, I will gladly give any other information. I will post a wifi inspector when it stops working, it may be when I get back from work Friday morning.

__________________
johnyiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 03:09 PM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,986
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello,

Try using this cool utility called NetSetMan and you may setup multiple network connections (LAN and WLAN).

Please let us know if this helps.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 06:58 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 78
OS: windows 7 64



I tried working with that program but cannot seem to get it to accurately save the current profile.

I was going to post with the problem again but putting in the usb adapte and then removing it and reactivating the hp adapter seemed to work.

maybe that is the solution? as crazy as it is
__________________
johnyiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 07:35 PM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,986
OS: Windows O/S'es



Assign Static IP in your home network and call it Home in NetSetMan.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do i disable intel's graphics?
I know that my PC comes with something similiar to a graphics card, it is even wired into my windows 8 settings all by itself. I am having a tech problem, and i believe the display card is the main problem as everything else seems to check, how can i disable it and go back to the display card-less...
aayushagra Video Card Support 37 03-25-2013 09:29 AM
home network connectivity issues with laptop running vista
I have a home network consisting of two routers. The first router is conected to the INternet with address 192.168.1.1 this is looped to a sssecond wireless router address 192.168.2.1. DCHP is turned off on second router. I have a desktop and printer wired to first router and a smart TV wired to...
nickpc Networking Support 4 01-07-2013 03:04 AM
Rootkit Zero Access Trojan / Virus
System Dell Duo inspiron 1090 Windows 7 Home Premium Machine has been infected by above mentioned virus this was deduced by running task manager and the top process read something 778686798.123456.exe then browsing google to see what I could find it couldn't be stopped and it has disabled all virus...
bigfoot57 Resolved HJT Threads 78 11-30-2011 02:31 PM
Laptop not connecting to a wireless network
My problem is my laptop is not connecting to the only network in my home and I can connect to all other wireless networks around. Also there is no problem with the router/modem coz all my room mates can connect and access internet wireless and also through Ethernet. Even I'm able to connect to...
quadri.owais07 Networking Support 1 09-10-2011 11:08 PM
[SOLVED] Rootkit problem: hidden boot sector.
Dearest Techies: I have Windows 7 Home Premium on a Dell Inspiron N7010 Notebook. A few days ago the computer would not start and took me to the windows 7 startup repair utility, and it was unsuccessful in repairing the problem. I ended up having to restore the system to factory settings to get...
Raygumm Resolved HJT Threads 60 07-03-2011 09:07 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts