Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Laptop not connecting to internet

This is a discussion on Laptop not connecting to internet within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, my laptop has suddenly stopped connecting to the internet. It was working fine up until about 2 weeks ago.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-04-2007, 02:49 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Troon, Scotland
Posts: 107
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to theGman

Hi, my laptop has suddenly stopped connecting to the internet. It was working fine up until about 2 weeks ago. I've tried connecting to 3 different wi-fi zones in hotels but no joy. Now that I'm back home I tried to connect to the web through my own wireless router, the system tray says that the laptop is connected, speed 54 Mbps, signal strength 'excellent'. When I check the wireless network status it says 'packets sent 479, received 0'
When I check the event viewer I see the following error, 'W32Time'
'The time provider Ntpclient is configured to acquire time from one or more time sources, however none of the sources are currently accessible. No attempt to contact a source will be made for 15 minutes. NtpClient has\ no source of accurate time' . Hope this info helps.

__________________
theGman is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 12:14 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


First off, does it work with a wired connection?


Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

Make and model of the broadband modem.
Make and model of the router.
Connection type, wired or wireless.
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
Make/model of your computer (motherboard if home-built).
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP-Home (or XP-Pro), SP2, Vista, etc.




I'd also like to see this.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 01:05 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Troon, Scotland
Posts: 107
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to theGman

Hi, sorry about the lack of info, I've got the problem on my wireless laptop, my modem/router is ok. The wi-fi is built into the laptop. The wireless was working fine then stopped? I've tried it in 3 different hotels, hotspots and on my home wireless network. The results are the same each time. My laptop says that I'm connected to the wireless network but I cannot get on the web.

Network adaptor Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
WEP
Compaq Presario M2000
WinXP SP2
My wireless status says that packets are being sent out but not received. I've also disabled my firewall and anti-virus to see if that would make a difference but it didn't.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Gerry>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Gerryslaptop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-A5-29-7B-DF
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.11.157
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-9F-BA-1E-02

C:\Documents and Settings\Gerry>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Gerryslaptop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-A5-29-7B-DF
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.11.157
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-9F-BA-1E-02

C:\Documents and Settings\Gerry>

I also get this warning in event viewer error id :1007

Your computer has automatically configured the IP address for the Network Card with network address 0014A5297BDF. The IP address being used is 169.254.11.157

hope this is a bit more helpful.
__________________
theGman is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 03:38 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Troon, Scotland
Posts: 107
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to theGman

Hi forgot to add the laptop works fine using a wired network connection. I've tried running WinsSockXPFix.exe, as advised from HP help desk, now getting an event error id 29, W32Time text: "The time provider NtpClient is configured to acquire time from one or more time sources, however none of the sources are currently accessible. No attempt to contact a source will be made for 15 minutes. NtpClient has no souorce of accurate time." Takes about 9 minutes to acquire network address. Then shows connected in the system tray, but unable to access the web or home network
__________________
theGman is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 02:25 PM   #5
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 03:27 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Troon, Scotland
Posts: 107
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to theGman

Hi johnwill, I've tried your instructions but still no difference, I still get the same symptoms and the following event viewer entries.
1. Warning
Source Dhcp error id 1007.
Text
Your computer has automatically configured the IP address for the Network Card with network address 0014A5297BDF. The IP address being used is 169.254.11.157.

For more information, see Help and Support Center.

2 Error
Source DCOM error id 10010

text

The server {C7E39D60-7A9F-ABB1-03DC0FA4F493} did not register with DCOM within the required timeout.
__________________
theGman is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 09:38 AM   #7
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Well, my next step would be to install the latest version of the wireless card drivers. If that doesn't work, here's a couple of things I found on a search:


http://forums.mcafeehelp.com/showthread.php?t=191919
Quote:
Source: DCOM
Category: None
Event ID: 10010
The server {C7E39d60-7A9F-42BF-ABB1-03DC0FA4F493} did not register with DCOM within required timeout.

Well I tried all suggestions, nothing worked, so here is what I found:
I investigated DCOM and found that most people do not consider it necessary for home user and many others too. Ended up removing it, and disabling associated baggage. that included for me Internet information services. I have lost no functionality, my system is faster in every way, and no more errors since no more DCOM. This is the situation for about a week now.
I am not an not an expert by any means just a neurotic compulsive that does not like to see error messages in event viewer. Hard to understand why Mcafee with their technical expertise could not recommend this type of solution. Is it because there is a problem with Mcafee code that can not be corrected for those unfortunate corporate types that may actually need DCOM? BTW I solved another McAfee problem by disabling IPv6 Helper Service, not related to above error, and I do not feel like enabling it to find out what problem it solved. But once again I did not have any reduced functionality. Hope this helps.
Quote:
In Control Panel-Administrative Tools-Event Viewer-System, I have been getting the following message:
Source: DCOM
Category: None
Event ID: 10010
The server {C7E39d60-7A9F-42BF-ABB1-03DC0FA4F493} did not register with DCOM within required timeout.

Problem's got solved after disabling all "Networking Services" from "Add/Remove Windows Components". Error message's stopped appearing.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 01:19 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Troon, Scotland
Posts: 107
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to theGman

Hi johnwill, tried the above suggestions but to no avail, still can't connect to the web.
__________________
theGman is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 05:20 PM   #9
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Check your Services are Started:
  • Computer Browser
  • DHCP Client
  • DNS Client
  • Network Location Awareness
  • Server
  • TCP/IP Netbios helper
  • Workstation

Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 04:16 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Troon, Scotland
Posts: 107
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to theGman

Hi, just checked the above services. All are 'started' and set to automatic?
__________________
theGman is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 03:54 PM   #11
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


I'm running out of ideas, you may have to do a repair of XP.

How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 03:03 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Troon, Scotland
Posts: 107
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to theGman

Hi John, sorry about th edelay in replying. I tried doing a repair, didn't work for some reason I could not re=install the required files in the windows folder i386? So , I opted for a clean install of windows. This still has the same faults/ errors. The problem only seems to be with the wireless connection. Wired works perfect. Since my last post I have been away from home working and I was able to access the web via a hotspot? But still no joy at home, still no conection. Also get the warning 'limited or no connectivity' My home modem/router is Netgear DG834G , not sure if this is the problem.
__________________
theGman is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 08:37 AM   #13
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


I can't imagine why the router would be the issue.

Did you download the drivers from the laptop manufacturer? Make sure you install the chipset drivers, then the network drivers.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 09:15 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Troon, Scotland
Posts: 107
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to theGman

Hi John, when I use my wired connection I get connected to a 192.xxx website but with my wireless it defaults to a private address 167.xxx.xxx
__________________
theGman is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 01:42 PM   #15
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


If the wireless is still failing, I'm just about left with a failure of the wireless hardware.

I'm assuming you have not simply disabled the wireless transmitter with the button on the keyboard, right?
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 01:54 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Troon, Scotland
Posts: 107
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to theGman

Hi, I have another wireless laptop which connects to my router ok , i definetely think it is my laptop that has the problem, as I said before if I look at the wireless status screen it shows me as connected, with excellent signal strength. It aslo shows packets being sent but not received. Pretty confused with this now as it works at wi-fi open zones but not at home.
__________________
theGman is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 02:15 PM   #17
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


I forgot to suggest, try disabling encryption on the router and see if you can connect at that point. I'm not sure where my head is, but mis-matched encryption keys are a very common issue.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts