Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Laptop disconnects from WiFi

This is a discussion on Laptop disconnects from WiFi within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I'm having problems with my brother's newly bought laptop. I have WiFi setup at home and I'm the one


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-29-2011, 09:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
rayanami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Philippines
Posts: 72
OS: XP



Hi,

I'm having problems with my brother's newly bought laptop.
I have WiFi setup at home and I'm the one that set that up.
I have one computer connected via cable to the WiFi router and a laptop which connects via WiFi.

When my brother tries to connect to the WiFi, every PC gets disconnected. I though at first that there may be too many PC trying to connect so I turned off my laptop and have him try again but the same thing happened. We even tried hooking his laptop via a LAN cable but the same thing happened again.

We tried again another day and it worked. None of the PC got disconnected. At least for a while. Later, for some reason, everyone just got disconnected. The effect seems like everyone has just made an ipconfig /release and then ipconfig /renew on each PC.

Other laptops has connected to my WiFi in the past without any problem. It is just my brother's laptop that is causing this disconnection.

So my brother finally asked me to take a look at it but I don't know where to start, save for a complete reformatting. Both Wired and Wireless connection caused the disconnection.

Maybe a virus, but the problem occurred on the first time he has opened the laptop after buying it.

What do you guys think?

__________________
rayanami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 11:43 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Home
Posts: 35
OS: Windows 7 SP1



Type in your ip addresses statically, see if it happens again.

Go to your Local Area Connection - Double Click it - Properties - Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4)

Type manually ip addresses. You can type the same that you get from DHCP or if you don't know what to type just post a screenshot from your Command Prompt by typing "ipconfig /all". Upload the picture here.

__________________
heliuminside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 06:06 AM   #3
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,389
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



lets see an ipconfig /all from the working PCs and then from your brothers PC - make sure we know which is which


------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 06:04 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
rayanami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Philippines
Posts: 72
OS: XP



Here are the information requested:

My Desktop PC (LAN)

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : smartbro.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8121/AR8113/AR8114 PCI-E Ethernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-18-32-17-28
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::60f1:f62b:e675:86b3%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, October 08, 2011 1:24:42 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 09, 2011 1:24:41 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234890776
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-0E-EB-89-00-26-18-32-17-28
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 124.106.5.2
124.106.4.2
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

My Laptop (LAN)

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : smartbro.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82566MM Gigabit Network Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-86-5A-E1-6E
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e90b:3547:9c3a:eee6%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, October 06, 2011 10:25:25 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 09, 2011 1:23:01 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234889606
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-9F-D2-5E-00-21-86-5A-E1-6E
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 124.106.5.2
124.106.4.2
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

My Brother's Laptop (WiFi) [The Problem PC]:

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : smartbro.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-82-B8-51-81
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5179:91c0:651:d695%15(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.103(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, October 08, 2011 9:04:54 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 09, 2011 901 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 369108610
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-D0-C5-2B-C8-0A-A9-E4-85-C9
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 124.106.5.2
124.106.4.2
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

***When I connected my brother's laptop to get the IP information, both my laptop and desktop got disconnected and took a while before it got reconnected.
__________________
rayanami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 02:24 AM   #5
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,389
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



both wireless and cable connection from your brothers laptop disconnect all devices

you could try a static ip set BUT that should not be required - see how below

every thing looks ok with those IP addresses - we recently had a problem where one of the dns servers was set up incorrectly causing the same issue

i would do a tcp/ip reset and also check the settings are set to auto - although the infor above says they are


------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Setup to Automatically get an IP and DNS (DHCP) - for Windows 7
Change TCP/IP settings

that shows how to setup an automatic IP _ but you can also see that by ticking the other box you can set up a manual ip set

if that does not work - try a manual set using these numbers

IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.200
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers primary . . . . . . : 124.106.5.2
DNS Servers secondary. . . . . :124.106.4.2

__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Internet disconnects every few minutes on one laptop
Hey, I've this really annoying problem, we have 2 laptops in the house and one console, One laptop and the console are fine, but the other laptop disconnects from the internet every few minutes, both laptops are connecting wirelessly, the router settings and modem are fine, I think it might have...
Stevenxbl Networking Support 5 09-18-2011 05:23 PM
Laptop WiFi Access for Desktop
I have a Mac G5 desktop that has no wireless capabilities. I also have a Gateway laptop for work. It runs windows 7 and obviously has WIFI. Can i connect my Desktop to my laptop to use the wifi to connect to the internet?
Bill72 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 2 09-18-2011 03:41 PM
Laptop cannot connect to public wifi hotspot
Hi, Before I begin, I must say I am not entirely computer savvy, but that is what I use Google for! Anyway, I have a Toshiba Satellite L645D-S4056 with Win7 Home Premium 64-bit. I've had it almost a year now and have never had trouble connecting to public wifi. Recently, I moved into a new...
Ateretk Networking Support 2 08-28-2011 11:18 AM
[SOLVED] Laptop and wifi
My laptop is connected to the wifi source, but when I open internet explorer it says "Can't display the webpage". My Ps3 and other devices are connected, but the laptop is stubborn and won't. Any help please?
N-941 Internet Explorer Forum 3 06-23-2011 04:13 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts