Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Keep Losing Internet Connection

This is a discussion on Keep Losing Internet Connection within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Recently, I have been getting problems connecting my computer to the internet through my router. Sometimes, when I boot up


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2008, 09:46 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP


Cry

Recently, I have been getting problems connecting my computer to the internet through my router. Sometimes, when I boot up the computer, there is no internet connection available. I would have to reboot my modem, router, and/or computer, and sometimes more than once, for it to work again. Even after I have got internet working again, it it would randomly cut off again after a period of time, where I would have to reboot the devices again, and repeat the cycle.

I have the computer connected directly to the router using an ethernet cable. My laptop, which connects wirelessly, picks up the internet connection perfectly, even while my computer is having problems. This leads me to believe it is possibly a configuration problem on the computer end. Does anyone have any ideas of what this problem could be?

BTW, my internet connection is a cable connection, and I'm using a Netgear WGT634U with the latest firmware, if that helps. I also am not using any firewalls, and only using antivirus and antimalware software.

Thanks

__________________
ashfaqrasul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 10:04 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



Forgot to mention that while I'm having problems connecting to the internet, I also have problems connecting to my router. These problems go away while the internet is working.

__________________
ashfaqrasul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 11:36 AM   #3
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Since the laptop doesn't have an issue, I'd be starting at the wired connection.

Try a different port on the router, and a different cable to start.

Next, when you are experiencing the issue, please do the following steps.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

Please respond to all the following steps.
  1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
  2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
  3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?


I'd also like to see this.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 03:23 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



In the Device Manager, there is a red cross next to the inbuilt wireless adapter, which I disabled after the problem started to see whether that was causing it in some way. Apart from that though, everything else is good.

The IP configuration when all is working well is as follows, if it's of any use. Haven't had a problem for a while.

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : 22ndstre-552b9b
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010 PCI
Gigabit Ethernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-92-21-D6-3B
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.23
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit
Ethernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-92-21-E3-E2
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 13 December 2008 21:54:27
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 20 December 2008 21:54:27
__________________
ashfaqrasul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 06:54 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



And here it is while I'm having the problem.. and it's identical:

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : 22ndstre-552b9b
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010 PCI
Gigabit Ethernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-92-21-D6-3B
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.23
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit
Ethernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-92-21-E3-E2
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 14 December 2008 14:39:27
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 21 December 2008 14:39:27
__________________
ashfaqrasul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 08:31 AM   #6
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


When it fails, please do this.

Try these simple tests.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

IPCONFIG /ALL

PING <computer_IP_address>

PING <default_gateway_address>

PING <dns_servers>

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

<computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 08:53 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 86.18.185.121

Pinging 86.18.185.121 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 86.18.185.121:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 192.168.1.1 (Note: This is the IP Address for both the Default Gateway and the DNS Servers)

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 206.190.60.37

Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping yahoo.com

Pinging yahoo.com [206.190.60.37] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
__________________
ashfaqrasul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 09:16 AM   #8
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Where did you get the IP address of 86.18.185.121?

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 09:38 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



That would be my IP Address, which I got from http://whatismyip.com/

I tried those steps and rebooted, but am still having the same problems. The connection now keeps disconnecting around every 25-30 minutes for a period of around 15-20 minutes, after which it automatically reconnects. I don't have to reboot the router to get it to work.
__________________
ashfaqrasul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 08:27 AM   #10
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


This is only this computer, and other computers on the same router work fine?

Have you tried a different cable and a different port on the router?
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 03:53 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



Finally. Looks like it's working now. I switched the port on the router and rebooted. At first, there was no internet connection. Then I actually diabled the internet connection on the computer, and then reenabled. It then started working and without dropouts (so far, been like 4 hours).

Thanks John for all your help.
__________________
ashfaqrasul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 07:59 AM   #12
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Hopefully, it was as simple as that.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts