Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Issues with Cannon PIXMA MP495 wireless install

This is a discussion on Issues with Cannon PIXMA MP495 wireless install within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a brand new printer for my Win7 Desktop. I can install the printer using the USB method. When


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-28-2011, 08:32 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
kariross69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Boaz, AL
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7, Mepis 11, Suse 11 [All 64 bit]


Post

I have a brand new printer for my Win7 Desktop.
I can install the printer using the USB method. When I unplug the usb of course is becomes not usable. I have the printer installed right next to the wireless router. The Router works well with all the other wireless devices on the hub [security system, camera, etc. after setting the SSID # and Security Code. For some reason the Printer has this weird-Cannon SSID # that my router cannot see..so it will not install.
1. Is there some way to get into the Printer and change the SSID or is that necessary?
2. There is a PIN number supplied with the printer and I have printed that out but cannot get to the menu inside Win7 to use? Or I am not sure which menu!

I do NOT want to run the printer with a USB cord as my wife sits in another room in the house and her current printer is older that the hills[still works] but uses a different Ink Cart. Trying to save on ink.
The Cannon printer Scan's and Prints [we never Fax] and prints everything we need..Help.

__________________
kariross69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 10:56 AM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,896
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello,

This is wireless networked printer so you don't need to plug it in anywhere. You may also choose to wired connect it to your router by using a patch network cable.

I'd try to wire it to the router first, perhaps this is an easier option. Get the printer software/driver CD and install it on all the computers in your network. All your wired/wireless computers shd detect the IP of the Printer.

If you are planning to use the wireless option, you will need to assign your network's SSID and Security key to the wireless printer.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 07:08 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
kariross69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Boaz, AL
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7, Mepis 11, Suse 11 [All 64 bit]



Quote:
Originally Posted by 2xg View Post
Hello,

This is wireless networked printer so you don't need to plug it in anywhere. You may also choose to wired connect it to your router by using a patch network cable.

I'd try to wire it to the router first, perhaps this is an easier option. Get the printer software/driver CD and install it on all the computers in your network. All your wired/wireless computers shd detect the IP of the Printer.

If you are planning to use the wireless option, you will need to assign your network's SSID and Security key to the wireless printer.
**********************

I then need a Patch Cable that goes from the Type B in the printer to a CAT 5 Router? Is that what you are saying..I have never seen a cable to do that.


have installed the Printer/Drivers to all the computers I will use, but still cannot get it to work

My next option is to delete all the previous drivers for any printer and start from Scratch with a download from Cannon.

Please let me know about the possible cable..Great Idea but I have never seen such an option.
__________________
kariross69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 12:34 AM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,896
OS: Windows O/S'es



Yes, cat5e or cat6 patch network cable would do.
Downloading the entire software would be better if you want all your computers to utilize the All In One features of the canon printer.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 08:27 AM   #5
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



I would go back and follow the instructions for setting up your printer. Typically you start to install the Canon software on your PC, then connect a USB cable, when prompted, from the printer to the PC to configure it. When configuring the software, you'll have an option for how all computers will connect to it - make sure you select Wireless (not Print Server). Disable any PIN #'s unless you are using the Wifi protected setup on ALL devices and router.
__________________

Fred Garvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 05:11 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
kariross69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Boaz, AL
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7, Mepis 11, Suse 11 [All 64 bit]



Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Garvin View Post
I would go back and follow the instructions for setting up your printer. Typically you start to install the Canon software on your PC, then connect a USB cable, when prompted, from the printer to the PC to configure it. When configuring the software, you'll have an option for how all computers will connect to it - make sure you select Wireless (not Print Server). Disable any PIN #'s unless you are using the Wifi protected setup on ALL devices and router.
************************
Thanks
I followed the instructions very closely. I selected Wireless Not print server. I was never give the opportunity to put in a PIN# or see the printer appear.

I am going back and deleting all printers I have installed [two HP and one Scanner] then Start again with the Cannon.

thanks
__________________
kariross69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 06:13 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
kariross69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Boaz, AL
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7, Mepis 11, Suse 11 [All 64 bit]


Grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by kariross69 View Post
************************
Thanks
I followed the instructions very closely. I selected Wireless Not print server. I was never give the opportunity to put in a PIN# or see the printer appear.

I am going back and deleting all printers I have installed [two HP and one Scanner] then Start again with the Cannon.

thanks
*********************************

Thanks to all who posted.
The answer was DOWNLOADING the UPDATED driver OFF the Cannon Web site.
I brought up the correct boxes for my wireless connection and let me add my
wireless WEP Key. I knew that I had to do that, but the CD software supplied with the printer was wrong for Win7..Great perhaps for XP and Vista.
__________________
kariross69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 09:25 AM   #8
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,896
OS: Windows O/S'es



Glad to hear that you have it all sorted.

Also, instead of having a WEP Security in your network, you shd change it to a WPA2 Security, someone can tap in to your network using a WEP encryption.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Wireless Card Detected, But No Internet in 2nd PCI Slot
Hello there, Hope this is the right forum. I have an interesting problem, though quite frustrating. I've found that my wireless card does not access internet in the "2nd" pci slot. After much perusing of forum threads, I've tried many things before posting and will list all my attempts...
SaigoChan Cabling and Network Cards 6 09-05-2012 04:19 PM
Xbox 360 wireless issues
Hey, I am trying to connect my Xbox to my home wireless network. My lap top in the same room as the Xbox gets a very strong signal but for some reason my Xbox will not pick it up. I tried entering everything in manually but it still didnt work. Also the Xbox picks up surrounding wireless but...
DFR312004 Online/Network Gaming Support 1 01-27-2011 04:01 PM
Issues with audio and wireless connection
Hi there, I have recently got back a laptop from someone who fixed up one that junked out on me, its just an extra laptop for my girlfriend, but I'm having some issues with it. I cannot get the computer to recognize the audio device, realtek ac'97, Ive updated the drivers for it, made sure its...
Kemperz Windows XP Support 7 01-25-2011 02:20 PM
Wireless card not working after fresh xp pro install on Dell Latitude d610..
I had to do a Fresh XP Pro install on my Dell Latitude d610...headache...I have installed the Broadcom Ethernet driver, the Conextant driver, Texas Instruments PCMIA driver, my ATI control, Intel Chipset, And Intel Proset/wireless driver utility. However, I am having trouble finding the driver for...
fjade Driver Support 14 01-23-2011 06:25 PM
Please Help! Wireless N Issues
Thank you in advance for your help, I have a Linksys E1000 router. It WILL NOT give me a broadcast speed of 300 mbps. Spent 2+ hours on the phone with Linksys and I got "The router is clearly bad" answer. I exchanged it and still the same issues. I logged in using both Cisco connect and...
Luke5181 Networking Support 2 01-02-2011 06:28 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts