Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

IPv4 connected to internet but IPv6 not... randomly slow speeds

This is a discussion on IPv4 connected to internet but IPv6 not... randomly slow speeds within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello I'm new to posting here so I'm sorry if I mess something up.. The problem is that my laptop


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-06-2012, 10:07 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
OS: XP



Hello I'm new to posting here so I'm sorry if I mess something up.. The problem is that my laptop has been randomly getting very slow speeds (from 54mbps down to 32 and 26 and 2mbps) while the other 2 laptop and the wired desktop have no problems at all.

The only difference I've examined in the connection statuses between the laptops is that the working ones say IPv4 connectivity: Internet and IPv6 connectivity: Local while my laptop says IPv4 connectivity: Internet and IPv6 connectivity: No Internet Access.

Our ISP is Comcast and I think the broadband is cable. We are using an oldish Wireless G Linksys router also. My antivirus is Avast. Is this a hardware issue from the laptop being refurbished or can I fix this on my own possibly? Thank you for helping me.


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Stephanie>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Stephanie-HP
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ga.comcast.net.

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ga.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 4313 802.11b/g/n
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 40-2C-F4-07-5F-9E
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::49c9:e979:2fa:59b0%15(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, August 05, 2012 12:56:18 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, August 07, 2012 12:10:29 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 373304564
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-97-A0-2F-2C-27-D7-AF-83-62

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 75.75.75.75
75.75.76.76
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 2C-27-D7-AF-86-D8
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Hamachi:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Hamachi Network Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 7A-79-05-7B-F6-71
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2620:9b::57b:f671(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::84ef:dd54:2dec:645f%19(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 5.123.246.113(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, August 05, 2012 12:55:00 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, August 06, 2013 12:10:29 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 5.0.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 5.0.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 528120178
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-97-A0-2F-2C-27-D7-AF-83-62

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{F9E27CFA-5295-45D0-96F5-758768568F7C}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.ga.comcast.net.:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ga.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:953c:4b7:ee1:b39e:883a(Prefer
red)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4b7:ee1:b39e:883a%18(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{1299B1C3-33B2-4853-8D2B-2C70B5161F2B}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Stephanie>

__________________
aleia15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 07:20 AM   #2
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,437
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



dont worry about ipv6 - only being used by a few people - its available for the internet expansion

can we see an ipconfig /all from one of the working laptops

also an xirrus screen shot - from the non-working (slow) pc and one of the working pcs
make sure we know which is from which machine


------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

Wi-Fi Inspector | Xirrus
Direct link to the program is here Wi-Fi Inspector Confirmation

{If the above link does not work heres another link Thank you for downloading Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector | PCWorld}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus...-1-RevB-6.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running.
if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

To post a screen shot of the active window.
1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
OR
2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

If you are using the Mac OS then use iStumbler 99 or
if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
AP Grapher - Mac OS X AirPort Stumbler and Wireless Graphing Software which has a graph function to monitor signal
------------------------------------------------------------------------
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IPv6 Internet Connectivity
Okay so this is my evil little problem that I'm having, I used to be connected to "Internet Protocol Version 6(TCP/IPv6) not just the "IPv4" I've noticed a HUGE LOSS in overall internet connection because of this.:banghead: Almost all internet pages take up to 2 minutes to load completely or don't...
Telos Networking Support 2 02-05-2012 10:03 AM
no internet access after virus
recently had win 7 2012 virus, removed virus, now cannot connect to any internet. troubleshooting states can not detect networks proxy settings. i dont know what any of following report means, but thought it might help. Farbar Service Scanner Ran by haley (administrator) on 09-01-2012...
cody7880 Resolved HJT Threads 65 01-18-2012 10:32 AM
Internet Slow, Download/Upload Speeds slow
I did a search and came across this board because I too am having the same issues with wireless connection. I went as far as buying a new router, which like the original post stated, worked well for a few and then stopped. It's frustrating because I need the wireless connection for many items I use...
latintreasure Networking Support 2 07-30-2011 07:01 AM
XP Internet Security 2012 Firewall Alert
Hello. Two days ago I got the virus XP Internet Security 2012 Firewall Alert. It does not let me open any file/folder/browser. When I try to google how to remove it, it redirects me to different websites. Please ...
lilbrat0326 Resolved HJT Threads 15 07-03-2011 06:49 PM
Explorer.exe not fully loading + some
I have been having trouble with Explorer.exe fully loading at startup. I can get it to load eventually through cmd. Also, when I go into task manager it doesn't show what processes are my login and which are system anymore. Windows update wont load and I think I have the redirect thing too. If I...
Invertediq Resolved HJT Threads 12 01-19-2011 06:01 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts