Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Ipconfig says "Media Disconnected"

This is a discussion on Ipconfig says "Media Disconnected" within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. when i open up my network connections tab, i see two icons: "Wireless network Connection" and "Local Area Connection" It


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-16-2012, 03:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
OS: Vista


Razz

when i open up my network connections tab, i see two icons:
"Wireless network Connection" and "Local Area Connection"



It clearly says a cable is unplugged, but no cable is unplugged and i am 100% sure of that.

when i type "ipconfig" into command prompt, i see all these things that say "tunnel adapter Local area connection" and it says media disconnected.



how would i go about "Connecting" the media? i am concerned about this issue so much because, even though i can connect to the internet (ip:192.168.1.1) i cannot connect to my printer (ip:192.168.1.4) and when i tracert the printers ip it says "media disconnected" so i know the two errors correlate to one another.

__________________
lilparis47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 03:07 PM   #2
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,082
OS: XP, Win 7



and welcome to the Forum

Let's look at the entire ipconfig report:

with the pc connected to the router, Click on Start . . Run . . type CMD

At the > prompt type type the following command: IPCONFIG /ALL and press enter.


Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter. Come back here and Paste the results in a message.

Old Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 03:19 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Walter Odim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: England
Posts: 363
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


Hi -

Just thought I'd give my two cents on this. This is usually nothing to worry about. I have about 5 similar 'media disconnected' messages whilst doing ipconfig /all. I'm not too sure what they are, but they persist even on a fresh Win 7 installation.
__________________
Walter Odim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 03:22 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
OS: Vista



sure here ya go
im posting as an image, if you need text ill post too, i didnt see the Select all part
__________________
lilparis47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 03:39 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
OS: Vista



Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\nick>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : nick-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-25-56-77-62-3F
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::19d5:3b2e:d1c0:6e98%14(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.6(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, December 16, 2012 4:17:00 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 17, 2012 4:19:24 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 167781718
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-DA-AD-E3-00-25-56-77-62-3F

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Networking
Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-16-DC-16-C4
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:953c:1890:3fff:94f5:f5b1(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1890:3fff:94f5:f5b1%11(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{DFC8F9ED-4F47-4B68-9016-12CE66266
2AF}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{253DFD37-150A-42F5-8F1E-065EF829C
45C}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{DFC8F9ED-4F47-4B68-9016-12CE66266
2AF}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
__________________
lilparis47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 03:59 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Have you at one time assigned a static IP address to the LAN adapter as DHCP is not enabled on the Ethernet adapter.
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 04:12 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
OS: Vista



i remember a while ago i changed from dynamic ip to static ip, but im pretty sure i changed it back, how would one go about finding the dynamic/ip ****?
__________________
lilparis47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 04:30 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Navigate back through Network and Sharing Center/Change adapter settings and right click on the Local Area Connection > click on Properties > (TCP/IPv4) > Properties and tick the radio button for Obtain an IP address automatically.

Tick the box for Validate settings upon exit > OK > Close and the Windows diagnostic will kick in and should come back with that it couldn't ID the problem, which means it's okay.

Can't remember if you need to reboot, but back in Change adapter settings where you see it as unplugged - if you're wired up then the Unplugged bit will no longer be there and you can confirm this by running another ipconfig /all where it should then display with a valid IP address similar to the wireless adapter.

If it returns with a 169.xx.xx.xx address, then download the driver for it Drivers - Download NVIDIA Drivers and if that doesn't resolve then we have a few other things you can try.
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 08:50 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Where all your exes live.
Posts: 283
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64

My System


Do you have another cable you could try? It could be a bad cable. Also, you shouldn't have any issues connecting to your printer if everything is connected to the same network and configured, regardless of whether your PC is connected wirelessly or not. Are you able to ping the printer? What is the make and model of the printer?

What is the make and model of your router? Depending on which one it is, you maybe be able to see all connected devices through the web interface. This would help to identify where the connection issue lies. The main issue is being able to connect to the printer, right?

Just to clarify, since it isn't apparent what your network setup is - do you have a non-wireless network printer that is connected to your router via ethernet cable, with your PC also connected to your router through a network cable? If not, then what is your setup like?
__________________
CubicleCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 08:55 AM   #10
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


Do you have an ethernet cable running from the ethernet port on the probmatic computer connected to a router on the other end?
__________________
TheCyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 01:28 AM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,219
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Go to Start/Run and type inetcpl.cpl and press enter/Connections/LAN Settings. Make sure all the boxes are unchecked. Now go to Start/Run and type ncpa.cpl and press enter. Right click the Local Area connection/Properties scroll down to Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP-IP)/Properties. Make sure Obtain an IP Address and DNS Server Address Automatically are both checked. Now go to Start/Search and type CMD Right click the CMD icon in the Search Results and Run As Administrator. IN the Command Prompt type ipconfig /release and press enter. the IP Address changes to 0.0.0.0 Now type ipconfig /flushdns and press enter. Now type ipconfig /renew. Now type ipconfig /all. You should have a new IP address try it again. If you still cannot connect please include the text output of your ipconfig /all in your next post

spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no media in IPCONFIG
Hi, I had a look at the board and have not been able to fix my IPconfig for Windows 7 to connect to my wireless on a Dell Inspiron. I tried resetting ipv4 & 6 and Winsock and going back about 6 weeks to a set up that did not have this problem NG. Below is the text file from the little...
NZMark Networking Support 2 10-13-2012 08:26 AM
Ipconfig media disconnected
Hi. My internet connection is not working. It keeps telling me that the cable from the computer to the cable modem is disconnected. When I go into ipconfig it says media disconnected. It was working fine until tech support tried to help me set up my router, they went into ipconfig and suddenly the...
Bugsbunny2 Networking Support 5 07-07-2012 02:11 PM
ipconfig "media disconnected" help please
My IP and whatnot is showing up, but also tons of "Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection". There may not be a problem since I can connect to the internet relatively easy and there is a wireless icon in my system tray. If there is no problem, I'm still curious about it. ipconfig Windows IP...
Pedr0NorthmaN Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 7 11-15-2011 10:25 AM
Wireless lan adapter - "Media disconnected" [moved from Vista/ Windows 7]
Dear All, I kindly need your support to understand what kind of trouble I'm into. I am not able to connect wifi network on my new HP Probook 4320s (with 802.11 b/g/n standards), running Windows 7 Pro, 64-bit. I found many thread on this forums..applied still and not solved.. I'm using...
sirpavel Networking Support 4 06-14-2011 12:06 PM
"media disconnected" in ipconfig
ok, I'll try to make this as concise as possible... HAD one Win7PC and two XP SP3 PCs connected (wired) to cheap walmart Belkin N router. Had a bad lightening storm and router shut off. when turned on wireless still could connect to router and the Win7 desktop could also, but there was no internet...
magnanpt01 Networking Support 0 04-23-2011 05:45 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts