Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Internet is connected, browser will not load Windows Vista

This is a discussion on Internet is connected, browser will not load Windows Vista within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So my girlfriend gave me her laptop with what I assumed would be an easy fix. She has an older


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-15-2012, 11:43 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 Premium



So my girlfriend gave me her laptop with what I assumed would be an easy fix. She has an older HP Vista laptop that connects to the internet just fine (including downloading updates, connecting to messenger clients, etc.), but it will not connect to any of her browsers... I can't figure it out for the life of me. As a note; she came to me saying that something popped up, she clicked something, her browser started acting weird and so she started uninstalling adware/spyware programs thinking it would help. So things could be all sorts of confazzled.

1. I understand firewalls can throw huge issues, I am pretty sure this is where the problem lies. She was using Ad-aware and I am pretty sure that the window that popped up that she clicked switched her firewall settings back to default and left something weird in the system. When I try to disable Windows firewall and go back to Ad-aware it won't let me exit snooze. It asks if I confirm and when I do nothing happens.

2. I have done a winsock reset and made sure that the proxy boxes are unchecked to make sure there isn't a proxy problem.

3. The ipconfig/reset threw no errors, everything looks fine.

4. No hardware conflicts or errors reported in device manager and all drivers are up to date. Again since the internet is actually working minus the browser I don't think it is a hardware issue.

5. No virus detected. Symantec is loaded on the laptop did a run with that, also have AVG that I installed and ran (disabled one and did the other, never run simultaneously). AVG is now uninstalled as Symantec is disabled to avoid any conflict with AdAware.


Is there any way to completely disable all firewalls, remove any settings or registries (if any), and start from scratch with it? Also, as networking is by far my weak point, is there anything I need to check as far as the DNS is concerned?

Thanks for the help everyone, new to posting but have used this site many times for help. This topic is actually posted a few times on here but none of the solutions I found worked for me. Hoping some networking guru can help :)

__________________
waddlecaudle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 05:00 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 Premium



Forgot to add connecting wirelessly through a larger network right now (my schools wireless network) so I can't test the connection in safe mode, unless someone knows how to get full access through a wireless router in safe mode. Assuming it still doesn't work what is the next step as far as drivers and such go?

__________________
waddlecaudle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 05:09 PM   #3
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,019
OS: Windows O/S'es



Welcome to TSF,

Please check for proxy setting, remove if found.
How to Remove a Proxy Server | eHow.com

Can you please post an ipconfig /all output for review?
How to run an ipconfig /all command?

Yes, it'll be better to try it out in Safe Mode with networking.

It wouldn't hurt to scan for possible Malware/Spyware using SuperantiSpyware Free version.

Might be a little premature to advice this, but worst case uninstalling Symantec by using the Removal Tool might help. Sometimes AV or Security programs may cause issue, then you may always reinstall it back later on if you wish when the issue has been resolved.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 05:17 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 Premium



Hey 2xg, thanks for the reply. I will get the ipconfig up asap just have to get it transferred over to this computer. Proxies are disabled on all browsers and in all possible settings. I did a scan with Spybot and Spyware Doctor and cleaned everything that popped, but I will give that program a shot too. Removing any antivirus/antispyware software is next on the list.

Also made sure it was automatically working with the DNS so that shouldn't be an issue, right? Thanks again, any other suggestions I am more than open.
__________________
waddlecaudle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 05:32 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 Premium



Alright, ipconfig outputs as follows:


Windows IP Configuration


Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.co.comcast.net.
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7d37:981a:492d:fcfa%11
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.4
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 16:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 18:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 19:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 26:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 27:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 28:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 29:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 30:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 31:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 32:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 33:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 35:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 36:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 37:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 38:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 39:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 40:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 41:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 42:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 43:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 44:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 45:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 46:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 47:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 48:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 49:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 50:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 51:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 52:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 53:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 54:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 55:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 56:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 57:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 58:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.co.comcast.net.

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 59:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 60:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 61:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :


First thing I notice is that it is about 20 times longer than any ipconfig I have messed with before (not that I have looked at many... assuming it is IPv6 seeing as I have only really messed with v4), other than that though I really can't see anything throwing flags at me. Microsoft says you can work on removing some of the tunnel adapters:
How to remove the (52 at present!!!) "tunnel adapter Local Area connection" shown in IPCONFIG ALL?

but I don't think it is really necessary.
__________________
waddlecaudle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:31 PM   #6
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,019
OS: Windows O/S'es



Here's a post that I have that will guide you on how to remove all of those ISATAP and Tunnel adapters and other things.
[SOLVED] PC will not connect to internet

Please post another ipconfig /all, do not for get it's suppose to be ipconfig /all, the DNS'es are missing.

I also would like you to uninstall the Symantec program that I have initially (prematurely) advice. Test your connection after.

Panda Cloud Anti-Virus or Avast Free AV are both great alternatives.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:33 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 Premium



Haha danget, mistyped the command the first time and must have forgotten to include the /all the second. Will get the rerun ipconfig output up asap.
__________________
waddlecaudle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:49 PM   #8
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,019
OS: Windows O/S'es



Run the command again after you followed the post from the link that I have provided you so that we'll see a clean ipconfig /all output.
Quote:
Originally Posted by waddlecaudle View Post
Haha danget, mistyped the command the first time and must have forgotten to include the /all the second. Will get the rerun ipconfig output up asap.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IE7 cannot connect with secure sites
Hi...my problem with IE7 may well be part of a bigger problem. However at the moment every time I try to connect with microsoft.com or other M/soft sites I get the message "Internet Explorer cannot display the web page". The same applies with any site resembling anti virus s/ware or other...
raringer Internet Explorer Forum 6 05-21-2012 12:27 PM
Rootkit TR/Sirefef.BP.1 and Rootkit.Gen2
Hi Everybody, I have this issue with my computer: Rootkit TR/Sirefef.BP.1 and Rootkit.Gen2 have been detected by Antivir and, though removed, reappear at the PC reboot. Avira RealTime Protection keeps sending alerts, detecting unspecified viruses with access denied. Several of the directories...
beppe1968 Resolved HJT Threads 81 03-15-2012 12:19 PM
virus removal help
:smile::smile: thanks in advance for any help you can provide. i have been a member on the forum for a number of yrs, and you have helped me in the past. i started to see my pc slow down so i did all the standard (cleaning, delete all tmp files, etc) it did not help. then i notice that i was...
stroh Resolved HJT Threads 50 03-04-2012 08:06 AM
3TB HDD won't format
I recently bought a 3TB 5400RPM hard drive and placed it in an enclosure. I orginially had connected it to my PC via USB 2.0 and formatted the entire drive and everything seemed to be in working order. After that I decided to connect the drive via eSATA because of the speed increase. When...
UhOhOhNo Hard Drive Support 8 09-13-2011 09:22 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts