Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Internet Doesn't Work with Router..but Works when connected to Modem

This is a discussion on Internet Doesn't Work with Router..but Works when connected to Modem within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My internet connection has always worked fine when connected to my router, but all of a sudden the internet stopped


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2008, 10:21 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
OS: Windows XP



My internet connection has always worked fine when connected to my router, but all of a sudden the internet stopped working a few days ago.
It says my Local Area Connection is connected; however theres only activity in the "Sent" packets, while the "Received" packets stays at 0.

The other computer connected to the router still works perfect and my computer will only connect to the internet if I disconnect my ethernet cable and insert it directly into the modem.

I ran a command and IP Configuration and heres what came up:

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name........................: dirtydizzo
Primary Dns Suffix...............:
Node Type.........................: Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled...............: No
WINS proxy Enabled.............: No

Ethernet adapter Network Bridge:

Connection-specific DNS suffix...:
Description.............................:MAC Bridge Miniport
Physical Address......................:A2-9E-0E-51-5C-16
Dhcp Enabled..........................:Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled.........:Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address.....:169.254.125.249
Subnet Mask..........................: 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway.....................:

I also tried to run........" ipconfig/renew " and heres what came up "Error occured while renewing interface network bridge: unable to connect to your DHCP server"

Any HELP would be greatly appreciated!!!

Need some HELP please!!!!!

__________________
rhauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 11:18 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
scapedriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 82
OS: XP Pro SP2

My System


Power off both modem / router.. press reset buttons on both... power on modem give a minute or two then power on router.

__________________
scapedriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 11:20 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
OS: Windows XP



I've tried that a million times...but no such luck!
__________________
rhauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 11:28 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
scapedriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 82
OS: XP Pro SP2

My System


log on your router reset defaults. then you might need to re setup your pc network.
__________________
scapedriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 06:37 AM   #5
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Turn off bridging on your computer's network configuration. I have no idea how that got set.

This is not a router issue, don't screw around with the router settings!

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts