Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Intermittent wireless connection

This is a discussion on Intermittent wireless connection within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello I am consistently disconnected from the network (Internet) when I use my new PCI Express wireless card. I can


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-22-2012, 07:25 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 175
OS: xp



Hello

I am consistently disconnected from the network (Internet) when I use my new PCI Express wireless card. I can connect, but only intermittently, and need to click on the wireless icon near the clock to get reconnected.

I click on the icon (in yellow - please see attachments) to get to NetworkProfile and get reconnected. This happens many many times during the course of, say, an hour though the signal strength is good. There are no other computers here that are connected to any network or router, and I am running Win 7 on a brand new PC.

It also seems to affect keyboard strokes - when I lose the wireless connection, the keyboard temporarily ceases to work - which means that I have to type, and retype email messages because I need to refresh the page and so lose my text.

What could possibly be wrong?

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wireless_icon.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	13.4 KB
ID:	106934   Click image for larger version

Name:	wireless_connection.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	39.8 KB
ID:	106935   Click image for larger version

Name:	wireless_connection1.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	40.4 KB
ID:	106936  

Click image for larger version

Name:	wireless_connection2.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	30.7 KB
ID:	106937  

__________________
_postman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 07:37 AM   #2
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,670
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



can we see an ipconfig /all and the three ping tests and xirrus when its working and then repeat ALL the test when it disconnects and post the results

whats the make and model of the router and modem if separate

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ping Tests
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
Quote:
For your information only
these tests will check various stages of the connection, the first ping test, ping default gateway checks to see if you still have a connection to the router the next two
Ping google.com & Ping 209.183.226.152 tests the connection to internet , one by name and one by number which checks that the dns is working

------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.


Wi-Fi Inspector | Xirrus
Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/0047...etup.1.2.0.exe

{If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi...uide1-2-0.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.


Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

If you are using the Mac OS then use iStumbler 99
------------------------------------------------------------------------

__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 12:17 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 175
OS: xp



Hello etaf

Thanks for your reply.

OK, here are the details (connected and disconnected, plus some screenshots):

Connected:

C:\Users\Owner>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Owner-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TP-LINK 300Mbps Wireless N Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F8-D1-11-CD-76-BB
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b8ff:5452:9bd1:902a%14(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.3(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 22 March 2012 08:51:47
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 25 March 2012 15:41:50
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 335073553
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-64-B9-5F-D0-27-88-6F-F5-07

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : D0-27-88-6F-F5-07
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.lan:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:ca1:b56:a53c:4573(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ca1:b56:a53c:4573%13(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
Tunnel adapter isatap.{8713565A-3F9A-4597-8AA1-469567AC38B4}:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

C:\Users\Owner>ping 209.183.226.152
Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=103ms TTL=50
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=103ms TTL=50
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=102ms TTL=50
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=103ms TTL=50

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 102ms, Maximum = 103ms, Average = 102ms
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

C:\Users\Owner>ping google.comPinging google.com [173.194.34.167] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 173.194.34.167: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=57
Reply from 173.194.34.167: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=57
Reply from 173.194.34.167: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=57
Reply from 173.194.34.167: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=57

Ping statistics for 173.194.34.167:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 29ms, Maximum = 32ms, Average = 30ms


Disconnected:

C:\Users\Owner>ipconfig /all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Owner-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TP-LINK 300Mbps Wireless N Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F8-D1-11-CD-76-BB
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : D0-27-88-6F-F5-07
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.lan:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{8713565A-3F9A-4597-8AA1-469567AC38B4}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

C:\Users\Owner>ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.0.3: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.0.3: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.0.3: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.0.3: Destination host unreachable.
Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

C:\Users\Owner>ping google.com
Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again

C:\Users\Owner>ping Google

Ping request could not find host Google. Please check the name and try again.



I have a wireless N adapter TP-Link 300Mbps 8.0.0.376 with a wireless router: SKY71663 (Netgear 16:E1:53).

Thanks for your help.

Postman
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen1.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	261.4 KB
ID:	106946   Click image for larger version

Name:	SpeedTest.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	142.4 KB
ID:	106947   Click image for larger version

Name:	QualityTest.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	170.3 KB
ID:	106948  

Click image for larger version

Name:	NetworkTests.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	100.1 KB
ID:	106949   Click image for larger version

Name:	disconnected1.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	151.7 KB
ID:	106950   Click image for larger version

Name:	disconnected2.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	32.8 KB
ID:	106951  

__________________
_postman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 12:21 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 175
OS: xp



Two more screenshots (went over my limit).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	disconnected3.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	28.7 KB
ID:	106954   Click image for larger version

Name:	disconnected4.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	65.9 KB
ID:	106955  
__________________
_postman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 07:24 AM   #5
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,670
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



looking at the screen shots and as you have not indicated which represents which condition , I would guess the signal of -72 is where you lost the signal - as the user manual for xirrus indicates -70 for a reliable signal

Also change the channel in on your wireless router - you may have interference form the other VERY strong sky signal sky97707 - use channel 1

SKY97707 - how comes that's so strong and yours is weaker ?
what's the geography / landscape like of where you are and where the router is

Move the router even slightly or the aerial may help
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 08:13 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 175
OS: xp



Hello etaf

Thanks again.

I will try messing about with the ariel on the router and/or my own wireless card.

The router is downstairs (next floor down in a family house) and is connected to a PC using a cable. The other, wireless PC is upstairs (it has both cable and wireless network cards).

I am unsure what you mean 'change the channel on your router'. There are no switches/buttons on it: just lights (4 of them) that light up green at the front, and a few sockets for cables at the back.

Thanks again.
__________________
_postman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 09:42 AM   #7
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,670
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



Quote:
The router is downstairs (next floor down in a family house)
is this your house ?

Quote:
I am unsure what you mean 'change the channel on your router'. There are no switches/buttons on it:
you need to log into the router itself

make and exact model of the router
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 09:54 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 175
OS: xp



Hello etaf

Well, it's my family's house. My dad connects downstairs with a network USB cable and I am upstairs with a wireless connection.

I am attaching the router details.

Thanks again for your time.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf RouterDetails.pdf (23.1 KB, 7 views)
__________________
_postman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 10:36 AM   #9
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


Link below how to change your channel use drop down menu set to 1 and click apply.
Wireless Setup - Netgear - WGR614 v7 (Netgear Firmware) | PcWinTech.com
__________________
TheCyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 10:48 AM   #10
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,670
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



http://support.netgear.com/ci/fattac...UM_14May08.pdf

see section 1-2 logging onto the router

and 2-7 for the wireless channel
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 06:50 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 175
OS: xp



Hello etaf and Cyberman

I have logged into the router and changed the channel to 1.

I will try it for a day or so and hopefully it will be more reliable - I will post back.

Thanks again for all your help.
__________________
_postman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 03:22 AM   #12
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,670
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



try an see if you can find a location where you achieves over -70 Remember its negative numbers so you are looking for a lower number -60 -50 etc (and the signal will be shown as green) on xirrus

then monitor the signal using the graph
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 09:21 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 175
OS: xp



Hello etaf

Thanks again for your reply.

I am not too sure what you mean about Xirrus (graph and minus stats), but I am getting the following:

I am getting the following results in Xirrus:

Speed:

Ping: 35ms
Download speed: 2.96Mbps
Upload speed: 0.69Mbps

Quality test:

Packet loss 0%
Ping 32ms
Jitter 4ms

Connection test:

Test Address Summary Result

DNS Reachable 192.168.0.1 Ping: 5 of 5, 3 msec latency - Pass
Gateway Reachable 192.168.0.1 Ping: 5 of 5, 6 msec latency - Pass
DNS Lookup Google IP address: 173.194.66.105 - Pass
Internet Reachable 173.194.66.105 Ping: 5 of 5, 37 msec latency - Pass

It all seems OK at the moment.

Thanks for your help.
__________________
_postman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 11:33 AM   #14
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,670
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



Quote:
I am not too sure what you mean about Xirrus (graph and minus stats), but I am getting the following:
have a look at the screen shot you will see a graph at the bottom

-60 is better than -70 - so you are looking to ensure does not go below -70

__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Wireless Connection on One System
Or some reason my desktop can't connect to my wireless network at all. Every other device in the house will connect just fine but this desktop either won't connect or will only connect with a very slow, intermittent speed. I don't know how I would be able to post an IP Config because I'm having to...
RedSwirl Networking Support 81 04-25-2012 06:20 PM
why does my connection keep dropping out??
i recently purchased a D-link n300 DIR-632 (wireless router), i ran the setup wizard and it seems to work. HOWEVER. for some random reason the data transfer will cut out for around 30 seconds or so and all activity is halted. I have looked in the routers Settings however i am not comfortable with...
rhysp Networking Support 8 03-22-2012 03:52 AM
Hello Kitty wireless USB keyboard
I recently purchased this from Best Buy. It is item number 90509. I can use my wireless mouse on the laptop, but the keyboard isn't working right. I plug in the USB piece and press the button. After it flashes, I press the button on the keyboard. I know they are connecting together because whenever...
hayleypm93 Laptop Support 3 03-22-2012 01:48 AM
wireless printing HPc6180
how do i set up my laptop to print wireless to my HP C6180? Please be detailed in you instruction I'm operating a windows 7 Toshiba laptop
evonwill Laptop Support 1 03-21-2012 08:52 PM
Logitech wireless receiver
Does anyone know where I can obtain a logitech C-UQ27 receiver for an older logitech number pad (part no. 867429-0000)? Or can anyone tell me if there is another logitech receiver that would work with this number pad? I would be very grateful for any useful information. This receiver also...
aperio Other Hardware Support 4 03-21-2012 08:14 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts