Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

I can't see my wireless network but I can see my neighbors

This is a discussion on I can't see my wireless network but I can see my neighbors within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Guys, I am a new member and this is my first ever post. I am by no means an

Old 03-12-2012, 04:33 AM   #1
Registered Member

Question

Hi Guys,

I am a new member and this is my first ever post. I am by no means an expert with computers and will need some fairly good step by step instructions if possible please.

My brother has just given my wife his old BENQ Joybook R55 series laptop and for some reason it will not contect to my wireless network at home. It can see both of my neighbors networks fine but will not see mine. It's running XP with SP3 and has never had any issues with seeing networks previously to my brothers knowledge.

I am using a vivid wirless router modem which is a Greenpacket 802. 16e WIMAX modem model No: DX-230.

I currently have my laptop (Vista), my sons laptop (winsows7), 2 iphones, 2 ipod touches and 2 ipads all connected with no issues ever. Friends and family can all connect when they come over with no issues either.

I can connect directly via lan cable no problems. I have done a power-cycle on the modem with no joy. I have manually entered my network settings, no joy.

I am in need of your help people.

Old 03-12-2012, 06:52 AM   #2
Registered Member

OS: Vista,XP, Windows 7, Server 2003, Server 2008 R2 and Linux.

Hi,

Which utility are you using to connect wirelessly? Is it the inbuilt windows wireless utility or a 3rd party one like inter wifi pro?

Maz

Old 03-12-2012, 06:55 AM   #3
Registered Member

I have also now uninstalled and reinstalled my wifi device driver and still no luck. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 03-12-2012, 06:56 AM   #4
Registered Member

Windows Wireless utility.
Old 03-12-2012, 10:32 AM   #5