Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

How to stop internet from connecting at startup?

This is a discussion on How to stop internet from connecting at startup? within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. When i start my pc it connects to the internet. It doesnt open the browser but it connects and shows


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-29-2007, 08:00 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 278
OS: Windows XP



When i start my pc it connects to the internet. It doesnt open the browser but it connects and shows the little tray icon and says local area connection connected/ This really slows down log in time and load time for start up I think and i want to know how to stop it from connecting at startup.

__________________
RobbyJK is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 08:21 PM   #2
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Whyalla, South Australia
Posts: 11,263
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2

Hi Robby,

Try this...

Go Start > Control Panel > Switch to Classic View > Network Connections.

Once in here, Right Click on the Connection Icon and disable.
You will then have to enable the connection every time you need Internet access.

Conversely, you will need to disable it whenever you do not want the connection.

The best way to do this would be to create a Desktop Shortcut for your Internet Connection.

Post back with the results.

Kind Regards,

__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline  
Old 10-30-2007, 06:24 AM   #3
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


It would help to know if this is broadband or dial-up.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 10-31-2007, 01:04 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 278
OS: Windows XP



broadband i have a cabel modem
__________________
RobbyJK is offline  
Old 10-31-2007, 05:48 AM   #5
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


This is like pulling teeth. What's the make/model of the modem? Is this DSL or cable?
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 10-31-2007, 06:24 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 278
OS: Windows XP


Red Faced

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwill View Post
This is like pulling teeth. What's the make/model of the modem? Is this DSL or cable?
Im sorry i dont know. Im stupid. I get free cabel internet from my APT and i lease the modem from Charter! It doesnt say on it. Charter connected me over the Phone and it is cabel becuase its from charter (I THINK) Im sorry im just not smart on this stuff. I have no clue in this area.
__________________
RobbyJK is offline  
Old 10-31-2007, 06:31 AM   #7
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


FWIW, with a cable modem, there's no reason that there's any delay when booting. Truthfully, if the modem is not active, it normally takes longer to boot. The DHCP client waits for an IP lease for 30 seconds before giving up and assigning the autoconfig address.

I can't see the broadband connection being the source of the slowdown. If it is, it's likely you have some other system issues.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 10-31-2007, 06:42 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 278
OS: Windows XP



Okeey DOkeey! Thanx!

__________________
RobbyJK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts