Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

How to hide my computer details via remote desktop

This is a discussion on How to hide my computer details via remote desktop within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, Are there any bofins out there that can help. I know that when you surf the web, websites can


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2011, 10:12 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Win 7



Hi,


Are there any bofins out there that can help.


I know that when you surf the web, websites can log your IP & MAC address.


If you get my jist, I don't want my laptop to be flagged on a few web sites I have been on.


My plan is to use another pc, that has a wireless braodband dongle from a mobile phone company.


The pc will be attched to the wireless router via eithernet, but banned from access the web via the router.


This way I can connect remotley from my laptop.


So my question is. Will they still be able to see my laptop?


Thank you all in advance

__________________
tippy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 10:20 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,706
OS: Windows 7

My System


if your firewalls are good enough then no one should be able to access your pc or laptop.

run shields up https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2 and it will tell you how good your firewalls and security is. you need to run the port scanner. If it comes back with all green and says your pc is hidden then your system is very safe. If it comes back suggesting problems then you have security flaws.

__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 10:26 AM   #3
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,911
OS: Vista/Win7



"websites can log your IP & MAC address"
ip address yes mac no. mac never leaves the lan

The piece of information you are missing is web site log your WAN ip not your private ip.

Your suggested setup has you coming into your network via the mobile wan connection to your pc then from your pc to the web.

You are using the routers wan to get to the internet. If that wan ip gets banned anything from that network going thru that wan connection is banned.

Best not do things that get you banned.
Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 10:27 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Win 7



Thank you for you reply.

However, these site require that they can place a cookie and see my computer details.

I am happy for this if it is the other machine, but not my Laptop
__________________
tippy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 10:29 AM   #5
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,706
OS: Windows 7

My System


well shield up is 100% trusted as if I am right its run by the boffins at hardvard or some other big top uni and it will totally confirm wether your safe or not. Most home users will find running this that they are not safe.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 10:30 AM   #6
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,911
OS: Vista/Win7



cookies are not about your computer details. Its about that web sites and your access details.

what exactly are you trying to protect? perhaps there is a better approach.
Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 10:42 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Win 7



I have been on the site and the test came back that I am secure.

However, I do know that my mac address and IP address can be seen. This I don't mind.

However, I am trying to mask my Laptop via Remote desktop. That way it is just the other PC with the broadband dongle that is visable.

I don't feel the web site you recommended answers this.
__________________
tippy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 10:50 AM   #8
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,911
OS: Vista/Win7



use an internet based proxy service
use an internet based vpn service

if you have a router and a pc why wouldn't you just rdp to the pc and go to the internet that way? No need for mobile broadband.

Concerning your misunderstanding about mac address please review the following;

"All a computer needs to know is how to get to the next router on the
way to its final destination (next hop). Once your PC has the mac
address of your closest router and hands the data off to it, then it
is that next router's job to have the mac address of the next router
in line and so on."

from here
Google Answers: Do external sites see MAC address of router?
Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 11:46 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Win 7



Thank you that is really good info.

I can't use the same router as this info is logged, hence the wireless modem.

Do you suggest any good VPN

I don;t know much about proxys

__________________
tippy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! My mums PC is infected
Hi Everyone :wave: Just having some issues with my mums PC. Its WindowsXP with SP3 and prior to this infection had AVG Free. This morning I uninstalled the AVG and put Avira free as I believe it is much better :) I have also run scans with MBAM and the first one showed 2 malicious items...
ItsMeTaraLee Resolved HJT Threads 83 05-05-2011 01:29 AM
how to force users to log off and access remote desktop computers
I was trying to access some computers in network via remote desktop. All those computers had been used by other staffs. What I noticed that, for some computers I can access via remote desktop by forcing them to log off (people who were using the computers) But for some computers, I got the...
comonforall Networking Support 6 03-18-2011 12:06 AM
Remote Desktop multi-platform
Hey guys, ive been googling like crazy for a program that allows me to remote desktop my Ubuntu (Desktop 10.10) system from Windows 7. Ive tried TightVNC but iv been failing to get it to connect. I dont even know if i have the server running properly on Ubuntu. I know there are a few Remote...
Aus_Karlos Linux Support 6 03-08-2011 03:53 AM
Printing From Remote Desktop to Local Printer
Hello, I am having trouble printing from a remote desktop (through VPN) to my local printer. The remote computer is running XP the local computer is running Win7. Does the remote computer need drivers for Win7 or XP? When i try to add a network printer, it just does not see it. ...
tillerlw2 Printer Support 0 01-04-2011 06:55 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 04:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts