Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

How to configure D-Link DI-524 wireless router to connect to a DI-514 Wireless who's

This is a discussion on How to configure D-Link DI-524 wireless router to connect to a DI-514 Wireless who's within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. How to configure a D-Link DI-524 wireless router to connect to a DI-514 Wireless router who's connect to the Internet?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2008, 09:48 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
OS: Vista premium 32 bits



How to configure a D-Link DI-524 wireless router to connect to a DI-514 Wireless router who's connect to the Internet?

Thank you!

__________________
ccaillou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 09:09 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Are you trying to connect wirelessly between the two? If so, no can do!

If you want to run a wire between them, here's the recipe.

Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together.

Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!

This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 01:00 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
OS: XP SP2


Thumbs Up

Thanks. That helped. I was wondering if I needed to also do that as well.

So I tried this first and voila! You saved me a lot of time.
__________________
InfoHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 01:57 PM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Glad we could help someone.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts