Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

How do I connect my LAN port cable to my desktop to grab wireless signal?

This is a discussion on How do I connect my LAN port cable to my desktop to grab wireless signal? within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a LAN port cable, and I have one end connected to the back of my router. Where does


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-04-2012, 07:29 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7



I have a LAN port cable, and I have one end connected to the back of my router. Where does the other end go, so I can receive wireless internet connection of both my Toshiba Satellite Laptop, and Gateway Desktop. First I had the LAN port cable connected at the back of my router, and the other end was connected at the back of my desktop. A little green light lit up at the back of my desktop, saying that it was grabbing signal. I could use the internet fine, and my laptop could grab wireless signal fine as well. I was missing around my router, trying to see what mark it was, and the LAN port cable came off, and when I plugged it back in, i couldn't receive signal, and neither could my laptop. Now the only way I can grab signal is by connecting the WAN port cable from my modem to my desktop, which means I cant get wireless signal on my laptop. Now when I do connect my LAN port cable to the back of my desktop, I try connecting to my wireless connection, and when I go to Network and Sharing Center, it says Connected (With full bars). But when I try to go online, it says Internet Problem/Connections. In the bottom of the name of my router it says"No Internet access."

Help :(

__________________
NeedHelpBadly69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:36 PM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,021
OS: Windows O/S'es



Welcome to TSF,

What's the Make and Model of your Modem & Router?

If you have a Modem and a Router make sure that a patch network cable is connected between the Modem output port and the Router’s WAN or Internet Port. Connect a patch network cable (also called an Ethernet cable ) from one of the router’s LAN or Ethernet Ports to each device that will use a wired connection. Keep an eye on the Modem and Router’s lights until they are stabilized. A Power Cycle might be needed if you still can't wireless connect.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie - Network Flow Analysis
Hi Guys, I am new to analysis of the network flow. I have uploaded the image of the network flow that I need help with analysis. I think it is the case of UDP flooding in which source is sending a large number of UDP packets to random ports on a remote host. Can somebody please look at the...
micky_577 Networking Support 3 04-20-2011 11:16 AM
Wireless graphics card takes the desktop out of desktops
Wireless graphics card takes the desktop out of desktops | DVICE http://dvice.com/assets_c/2011/01/wirelessgcard-thumb-550xauto-55264.jpg
McNinja Gaming Discussion 10 02-23-2011 12:25 AM
Lag in Dragon Age: Origins
I have Dragon Age: Origins Ultimate Edition for the PC. My PC surpasses the minimum requirements for the game and it runs really well for about an hour until it begins to get really sluggish. Around this point the loading times will increase and the frame rate will drop. What would cause that? ...
AndyJP PC Gaming Support 9 01-30-2011 07:47 AM
RAM memory in BIOS
Hello When im trying to clock my RAM memory in BIOS its all gray. Any suggestions? "BIOS-Version and -date. American Megatrends Inc. 3.24, 2005-08-11" And installed RAM is only 512
Abfe Overclocking 6 01-27-2011 01:33 PM
No Sound Problem !!!
I have problem with no sound on my PC. It began after restarting. When I go to Device manager > Sound , video and game controllers I see yellow warning sign and when click on it ___Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware. The driver may be corrupted or missing. (Code 39)___...
damjanes Driver Support 8 01-21-2011 05:32 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts