Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Help! My ASUS laptop's wireless keeps dropping!

This is a discussion on Help! My ASUS laptop's wireless keeps dropping! within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-04-2012, 05:14 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



Hello Guys/Girls

I've been all over the internet, looking for ways to fix my laptop connection - with no success so far.

I'm simply trying to connect my laptop to my router (they connect perfectly fine and the signal strength is excellent) the only problem I'm having is that the connection is dropping every few minutes, leaving my web browser to continuously load. I've tried connecting other laptops and they work flawlessly, without any issues so I'm really stumped why my brand new, £1600 laptop is giving me so many issues!

System:
ASUS G74S Series

Network Adapter:
Atheros AR9002WB-1NG Wireless Network Adapter


I've looked at my connection status in Network & Sharing and I noticed that no matter where my laptop is place, it will always remain at 65mbps



I've also copied some information from command prompt but I don't have a clue what any of it means. I just thought it would help you guys.

Code:
C:\Users\Jordan>IPCONFIG/ALL

Windows IP Configuration

   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jordan-PC
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Home

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 14-DA-E9-BC-BB-64
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : Home
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9002WB-1NG Wireless Network Ada
pter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 74-2F-68-84-08-B1
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::35d2:b4ce:bda6:e6c9%11(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.5(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 04 January 2012 12:06:59
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 05 January 2012 12:07:03
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 242495336
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-DE-41-B6-74-2F-68-84-08-B1

   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.Home:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : Home
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{1EBC2B73-5B92-474E-B634-A621232BEFE1}:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:d3:3f55:a1fa:365c(Prefer
red)
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d3:3f55:a1fa:365c%15(Preferred)
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
If anyone can help, please reply. If you need more information then just state what you need and I'll get it. Thank you in advanced!

__________________
Duckhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 06:14 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Rits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chennai-India
Posts: 696
OS: win xp sp-3

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to Rits

Check that BOTH "Security Type" and "Encryption Type" in the "Security" tab of the Wireless Network Properties of your Connection exactly matches what you've configured on your router. Disconnections every few minutes can be your router's attempt to maintain security on your wireless network.

Rits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 06:42 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Rits View Post
Check that BOTH "Security Type" and "Encryption Type" in the "Security" tab of the Wireless Network Properties of your Connection exactly matches what you've configured on your router. Disconnections every few minutes can be your router's attempt to maintain security on your wireless network.
They're matching

My router is WPA2-PSK (AES) and my wireless on my laptop is set to WPA Personal with AES encryption

Any other suggestions?
__________________
Duckhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 06:51 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Rits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chennai-India
Posts: 696
OS: win xp sp-3

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to Rits

Did you tried performing cleanboot on your computer?

Clean boot state to check for software conflicts and check the status.


How to troubleshoot a problem by performing a clean boot in Windows Vista or in Windows 7
Rits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 07:01 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Rits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chennai-India
Posts: 696
OS: win xp sp-3

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to Rits

Do you see any message on lower right corner of your laptop screen like " wifi turned off" or "Network disconnected"?
Rits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 07:33 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Rits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chennai-India
Posts: 696
OS: win xp sp-3

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to Rits

Install and run Wi-Fi Inspector | Xirrus
Double click the Xirrus Icon on your Desktop, Tap the Printscreen key on your keyboard, open up Paint then choose Edit from the Menu and select Paste, then SAVE it. Upload and attached it here, click on Go Advanced and locate Manage Attachments Tab and attached the file.
Rits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 10:23 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
OS: Win7 Premier



Quote:
Originally Posted by Duckhead View Post
They're matching

My router is WPA2-PSK (AES) and my wireless on my laptop is set to WPA Personal with AES encryption

Any other suggestions?
I ran into the exact same problem with my G75VW-RS72. I followed the instructions that were given in regard to making sure the security settings where the same, and mine seems to be doing MUCH BETTER. I noticed you said your router is WPA2-PSK (AES) and your laptop is WPA. Do you have the option to change your laptop to WPA2 instead of WPA?

__________________
Johnjon99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Wireless Card Detected, But No Internet in 2nd PCI Slot
Hello there, Hope this is the right forum. I have an interesting problem, though quite frustrating. I've found that my wireless card does not access internet in the "2nd" pci slot. After much perusing of forum threads, I've tried many things before posting and will list all my attempts...
SaigoChan Cabling and Network Cards 6 09-05-2012 04:19 PM
My wireless network disappeared
I have a cable modem and it is attached to my computer, and it is also attached to a wireless router that we have been using for various wireless things around the house, like our phones and also the Roku box (for Netflix, etc). When I got the wireless router I was told to set up a private...
khuminis Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 5 11-14-2011 09:20 PM
Wireless is jamming the switch
Hi all, Current network configuration is as follows: Internet -> Router -> 24port Switch (main switch) I have seven network segments, connected to the main switch via 8port switches. Just to clarify, all the segments are in the same subnet. One of the segment, has a wireless N router...
chweetraju Networking Support 3 08-09-2011 09:11 PM
[SOLVED] Need help with Asus WL-520GU
Hi All, just replaced my old MyEssentials wireless G router (setup as access pt) for a new Asus WL-520GU because of added wireless print services. It came with dd-wrt v24 installed which was way beyond what I needed or wanted to learn. I restored to Asus' lastest firmware. It configures just fine...
curtislt1 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 1 08-06-2011 04:01 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts