Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Get IP address from router SSID

This is a discussion on Get IP address from router SSID within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I've few wireless router (Netgear 1 WAN/4 LAN) using in my office. I just forget IP address of 1


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-03-2010, 04:20 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 365
OS: Win 2008 server, Win XP/Vista/Win 7



Hi,
I've few wireless router (Netgear 1 WAN/4 LAN) using in my office. I just forget IP address of 1 router (I put it manually few months ago).
But I know the SSID (Its showing in the router list when searching) & also it's working fine.

Thanks in advance.

__________________
akaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 06:43 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: England
Posts: 905
OS: Vista,XP, Windows 7, Server 2003, Server 2008 R2 and Linux.



connect to the router through a client and a do a ip config. The default gateway is the ip address of your router ;)

__________________
Maz_- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 01:26 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 365
OS: Win 2008 server, Win XP/Vista/Win 7



Hi Maz,
Sorry for late reply. Actually I know this way, but I think my structure is little different. Basicaly, my default GW is same for all router. Please ask me what exactly you need to know.
But, I am 50% sure about the IP I put for that router, but "Page can not displayed" I got when try to open page using that IP, even ping result failure (Requst time out). But that router working fine!!!
So, I need a command which will say me the IP addresses of all router.
Any idea...
__________________
akaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 04:32 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: England
Posts: 905
OS: Vista,XP, Windows 7, Server 2003, Server 2008 R2 and Linux.



No the default gateway for the router is the same but when a device connects to a router..the router becomes the DGW for that device.

So try to connect your device then do ipconfig on the device from cmd..it should work.

If not then connect to the router, go to cmd and type in:

ping -r 1 www.yahoo.com

It will give you a ping response but it will also show a route IP and that should be the ip for the router i think.
__________________
Maz_- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 09:36 AM   #5
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,693
OS: Vista/Win7



"my default GW is same for all router"

If this were true you would not be routing at all.

post the results of an ipconfig /all from your workstation for review.
__________________
Wand3r3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 08:26 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 365
OS: Win 2008 server, Win XP/Vista/Win 7



Hi All,
1. Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : magnusbd.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR WG311v3 802.11g Wireless PCI Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-2A-BD-ED-AC
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.42
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.250
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.201
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.201
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 8:52:59 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 8:52:59 AM

*** this client connected with 192.168.1.252 (IP of connected router)

Hope this will help.
__________________
akaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 03:40 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: England
Posts: 905
OS: Vista,XP, Windows 7, Server 2003, Server 2008 R2 and Linux.



Looking at that i would think that your router ip address: 192.168.1.201 as thats the DHCP and its the router thats assigning the ip address..

__________________
Maz_- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts