Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Factory reset Acer Aspire 2920

This is a discussion on Factory reset Acer Aspire 2920 within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all, Having some trouble with a reset of an Acer Aspire 2920.. usually to reset an Acer I would


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-06-2010, 11:00 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 126
OS: XP Home/XP Pro/SBS 2008



Hi all,

Having some trouble with a reset of an Acer Aspire 2920.. usually to reset an Acer I would use the empowering technology built in but it seems that a virus or something has taken that out!

When I try and launch it I get:

"the item 'eRAgent.exe' that this shortcut refers to has been changed or moved, so this shortcut will no longer work properly."

Is there a way to force a factory reset from a hidden partition...

Maybe F10 or something similar on a bootup?

many thanks,

greens85

__________________
greens85 is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 11:33 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 51
OS: XP SP3, Vista Sp2, and Win 7



used ALT+F10 to get into the recovery mode

__________________
speedturtle is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 11:52 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 126
OS: XP Home/XP Pro/SBS 2008



Quote:
Originally Posted by speedturtle View Post
used ALT+F10 to get into the recovery mode
I can get into using that but there is no option for a factory reset but just a load of other options that dont really help.

I will update this with the options when I get back into the recovery part.
__________________
greens85 is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 12:00 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 126
OS: XP Home/XP Pro/SBS 2008



I've re-downloaded the 'eRecovery' part for the computer which seems to have worked but when I go to:

'Restore system to factory default' i get the message:

'Please enter the Empowering Technology password'

Any ideas what this will be? I havent set anything!
__________________
greens85 is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 12:28 PM   #5
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,892
OS: Windows O/S'es



We can't assist you on this:
Quote:
'Please enter the Empowering Technology password'
Forum Rules I'd suggest for you to contact Acer.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Old 05-23-2013, 03:11 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



ALT+F10 does not work for me... I have the same laptop. I did enable the F2 menu
__________________
Vincent Laar is offline  
Old 05-23-2013, 09:00 AM   #7
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,892
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello,

This is an old Thread, if you need assistance please create your own Thread.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Laar View Post
ALT+F10 does not work for me... I have the same laptop. I did enable the F2 menu
Time to Close this one now.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts