Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Does a wireless router have to be next to the modem on a wired network?

This is a discussion on Does a wireless router have to be next to the modem on a wired network? within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Just got a new Belkin N1 Vision wireless router to share our wired network's internet connection. I was under the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2007, 11:58 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
OS: xp



Just got a new Belkin N1 Vision wireless router to share our wired network's internet connection. I was under the impression that you could have the router set up off any one of the pc's on a network. Does it have to go through the modem first? Or did I get the wrong hardware? The thing is that the server with the modem is on the other side of the building and I know the signal would be very weak where I need it if I had to have the router over there.
THanks

__________________
nubie is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 12:32 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
OS: xp



*Latest* Instead of using the "Modem In" port on the router, I used two of the other four ports that say "to wired computers". So I've got the network cable that originally went into this pc now plugged into the router and another then going back to the pc. Now I can access the network and the internet. But the Belkin "Easy Setup" card says to open an internet browser and type in routersetup and it should pop up...nothing happens. Before this, I called Belkin and they said that the router had to first go through the modem, hence my first post. But now, I'm encouraged that this can work if I can get it set up. Does this sound possible?

__________________
nubie is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 12:33 PM   #3
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


The router WAN/Internet port MUST be connected to the modem. However, you can run an Ethernet cable to the modem, no reason they have to be together.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 12:41 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
OS: xp



So I guess it's just acting as a hub now, and not atually able to broadcast a wireless signal since there's nothing going into the 'modem' port? What is the difference between this and an access point?
__________________
nubie is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 04:49 PM   #5
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Not much difference if you're not using the routing function.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home network w/ modem & wireless router
Hi all, I am trying to set up a home network, but my computers can not see each other. Here is what I have. A DSL modem connected by ethernet cable to the desktop A wireless router - also connected to the DSL modem with an ethernet cable. The wireless router is used by 2 laptops. All...
Cumberland Mike Networking Support 2 07-28-2007 12:24 PM
VISTA drivers all
Greetings with a great respect to you all, I've found a site supporting vista drivers to plenty of hardwares and it may be of help, I hope you try it these hardware Such as: Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC Atheros AR5005G Wireless Network Adapter Atheros AR5005GS Wireless...
Abdurrahman Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 05-03-2007 07:52 AM
Trouble with wireless network connection
I have a co-worker who's having trouble setting up the wireless connection on his laptop. I'm not much of a network guru, but I told him I'd help look into it. He's getting a connection when it's hookup via hardwire, but not wireless. However, he is getting connection to his LAN just not to the...
gr00m Networking Support 0 02-14-2007 11:18 AM
Can't connect to internet wirelessly despite adapter detecting router
Hi everyone: I’m having an extremely frustrating problem connecting to my Netgear DG384G v3 wireless router in my flat. In short: Ever since I reformatted my hard drive and reinstalled Windows XP Pro, internet browsers do not detect a connection to the internet despite a wireless connection...
mb667584 Networking Support 13 02-08-2007 09:32 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts