Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

do usb to ethernet adapters work in routers?

This is a discussion on do usb to ethernet adapters work in routers? within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am still working on trying to run my Belkin router as an access point. I always have trouble with


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-16-2011, 01:27 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
OS: vista service pack 2 32 bit



I am still working on trying to run my Belkin router as an access point. I always have trouble with it though, as once I set up an IP then the original no longer works and neither does the new one I set.
My router is a Belkin N+ f5d8235-4 v2000

My internet connection is AT&T dsl and for my modem/household router I use a Netgear model DGN2200.

my dell latitude E6500 internal card is only a G card and has gone out anyway so I use a belkin usb wireless adapter to network with my netgear. I also have a linksys usb wireless card that I try to use for my belkin. A few times I can get it set up via ethernet and it will work until I shut down and restart, however no matter what I can never get into the hard drive in the belkin storage.

So what I am wondering now, if I ever get it to set up, is if after hooking up multiple hard drives via a usb router if that can hook into one of the lan jacks with an adapter and be accessible? It has just been getting annoying having external drives all around me as I now have 7 up and running.and have a few more to go. I am also going to ask the dell tech tomorrow as he is coming by to replace my card.

__________________
s10sleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 10:00 AM   #2
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


If they are USB Ext hard drives then the answer to your question is no they cannot be connected to the Belkin access point as they canot receive an ip address from the belkin they are designed to be attached to the USB port of your computers.

If you set up files sharing with homegroup with windows 7 then you should be able to put the drives into the shared folder and have access between computers that are part of the homegroup.

Below is a tutroial on files sharing and how to:

http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ls-561869.html

__________________
TheCyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 12:55 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
OS: vista service pack 2 32 bit



The routers themselves are wireless with 4 ethernet lan connections and 1 usb memory connection each. What I have been trying to do is to hook up an ethernet from one of the lan ports on the netgear and run it to a lan port on the belkin. The only way I am able to get anything set up is to run a line to another lan port on the belkin from my computer.

The tech came out to repair my laptop today and since I was having other problems, he gave me a new disc so instead of running vista 32 I now have windows 7 64. So I just pulled out the 160 that was in my laptop and stuck in one of my 320 drives as a replacement and so I didn't have to spend time reformatting or losing anything. I wonder how much easier windows 7 will be for networking, I am also concerned that one of the Belkin reps told me that the only way it will work is if it is connected via ethernet and wireless won't work.
__________________
s10sleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:30 PM   #4
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


Hi i have just read up on the Belkin and it can be used for connection to ext HDD so i must apologise for earlier advice.

First tho we need to get internet connectivity for your Belkin and any computers connected to it.

1. Power down the netgear, Belkin and all computers.

2. Connect an ethernet cable from one of the Lan ports on the netgear and the other end of the cable to the yellow(WAN port) port on the back of the Belkin.

3. Connect an ethernet cable to one of the Lan ports of the Belkin and the other end into the ethernet adapter port on one of your computers.

4. power up netgear wait until lights stabilise, then power up the Belkin router wait until lights have stabilised then boot the computer connected to the Belkin.

5. The Belkin may have automatically received an ip address from the netgear open a browser and see if you have internet connectivity. If successful go to step 8.

6. If no internet connectivity you will have to login to the belkin and set the WAN connection type.
Open a browser and navigate to 192.168.2.1 check documentation or on bottom of router if this is not correct or go to address if router IP has been changed by you.
log in to the Belkin with router username and password under the internet WAN heading chosse connection type and set it to dynamic you can leave host name blank and click apply settings.

7. Re-boot Belkin and check for internet connectivity.

8. Now connectivity has been established via ethernet cable you can setup the wireless. In the netgear open a browser to the router IP 192.168.1.1 or different if has been changed from default wireless security settings you will need to make a note what security type is set WEP or WPA/WPA2/TKIP/AES and the actual network key. In the wireless settings page make a note of the channel number and the wireless mode set ex 802.11b/g or mixed mode 802.11b/g/n these settings with the exception of the channel no will need to be input into the belkin wireless settings.

9 Navigate to the Belkin and log in under Wireless heading and choose channel and ssid change channel from auto and select a channel that is five channels apart from the netgear router channel that you made a note of ex netgear may be set to ch1 set Belkin to ch 6 select wireless mode so it matches the netgear mode click apply settings.

10. Choose security and set security type to that of the netgear and enter network key and click apply settings. RE-boot router.

11. On any of the computers you want to connect wirelesly with click on the network icon in the taskbar and select the Belkin ssid from the available connections list click on it and enter the network key.

Three things to remember about network keys is

1. All letters to be capitals
2. No spaces.
3. Anything that looks like the letter o is a zero.

If all successful you can install the storage software so your Ext HDD appears in my computer.

Alternatively you can use a webrowser and type: 192.168.2.1/Device name(name assigned to EXT HDD).
__________________
TheCyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 12:50 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
OS: vista service pack 2 32 bit



Thanks, I will give it a try, it is basically what the techs walked me through, but just to make sure you are referring to connecting from the computer wired port on the netgear to the computer port on the Belkin router and not its modem part? I just wanted to be sure because that is what they tell me to do each time is to plug in to one of the computer ports on each router.
__________________
s10sleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 12:20 PM   #6
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


Hi connect from one of the Lan ports on the netgear to the yellow port on its own may be marked WAN or INTERNET, then you would connect one of the computers to a Lan port on the belkin router.

__________________
TheCyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What version USB do I have?
So the problem started when my first flash drive began transfering data at unusually slow speeds. I would always transfer 700MB or so films from my computer to the flash drive to watch onmy Xbox 360 later but it had recently began copying at slow speeds, under 1MB/sec, which was not what it used to...
Solidify Other Hardware Support 19 05-16-2011 02:34 PM
[SOLVED] Motherboard can't detect ethernet. No Network Adapters
Hey guys I've been having problems with connecting to the internet lately. There's nothing wrong with the modem, router or the ethernet cable, I've already tested them. For whatever reason my motherboard can't detect it. I run Vista 32-bit and when I check the Device Manager it has no listing...
Griffonian Other Hardware Support 7 03-04-2011 07:04 PM
[SOLVED] Installed Win 7 - Case become loud
Hi all. I know that im profoundly deaf but im really not happy with my PC as i installed Win 7 and the noise started to raise since extracting windows installion and thought it will be gone as when Win7 loads but since win7 start. the case begin to get loud and loud. I can feel the heavy...
CrazyComputerMan Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 9 02-24-2011 02:52 PM
Infinite Hourglass in Windows Explorer
Hello, TSFers! I'm experiencing a problem that consistently forces me to a hard shutdown. Occasionally--but without fail at some point--when I'm using Windows Explorer to navigate to a file on my external drive, I get a "permanent" (i.e., it'll go on indefinitely) hourglass once I click on the...
misha.spisok Windows XP Support 9 01-29-2011 05:11 PM
Incomplete XP sp3 Ethernet Boot-Up
PC Hardware Troubleshooting - Ethernet Network Interface Initialization Problems Hardware: A 6-year old Gateway 825 GM Desktop Computer - Windows XP MCE 2005 SP3 - Phoenix BIOS - Built-in Marvel Yukon 88 E 8050 Gigabit Ethernet - Hard wired with an Ethernet cable to a D-Link DIR 825 V 1.01 Router...
emg-gwy Other Hardware Support 2 01-15-2011 09:35 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:56 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts