Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

dhcp problems on router

This is a discussion on dhcp problems on router within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I been trying to figure this out for the last couple of years. why is it that the dhcp on


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-07-2011, 09:38 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: sc
Posts: 12
OS: window xp pro sp2, window xp home sp3, android 2.2



I been trying to figure this out for the last couple of years. why is it that the dhcp on my router is no longer able to give out ips or rather it assign them as for as it concerned as it will list say 199.170.0.102 but the device will have none or make up one for it's self and never get the ip that the routers dhcp gave it this happens on all devices. I know power cycling will fix it temporally but usually it will start doing it again in a few hours also I know that I can use a static ip this was my way around this problem but I have one device that won't use nothing but dhcp a printer. I had an old linksys router that did this and I figured it's old it's slow time for a new one after a few months it started if it helps some computers are on the fringe of being able to get a signal but are still fair also even with static ips they sometime stop connecting and we have to disable the connection then reconnect to fix it
the router is a dlink 615 dual band set to only G/B because 1 most devices only g 2 the one computer that has a wireless n is 70 ft away and works better with g

__________________
xxx1angel3xxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 07:46 AM   #2
Games Team | Tech
Networking Team-Tech
 
Jason09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,668
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System


Hi and welcome to TSF!

If you haven't already done a hard reset of the router, try a factory default reset.
Note: This will reset everything you have set in the router, including network keys (WEP, WPA etc.), time, filters etc, and restore the router completely to default settings. Take a paper clip, and push it in the reset button for 10-15 seconds. Then restart network devices.

In addition, go to Start>Run. Type cmd, then in the command prompt ipconfig/all. Right click any area of the prompt, click Select All, and paste the results here.

__________________



Gaming troubleshooting steps.

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. -Jim Elliot
Jason09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 08:48 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: sc
Posts: 12
OS: window xp pro sp2, window xp home sp3, android 2.2


Ok I will try this but I have a few things to do today first and I just went on the config page and my brother on the net I will send him a text to tell him it will n
Be down at like say five will send you all that you asked for thanks for help on this az ive banging my head about this for the last couple of years
__________________
xxx1angel3xxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 05:33 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: sc
Posts: 12
OS: window xp pro sp2, window xp home sp3, android 2.2



ok ive reset the router and reset it up with new passwords and new name I will give you the ip config info for this computer which right now is wired i did find one machine that did not want to play with the new network configuration so for now its off awaiting father instructions everything else went good Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\xxx1angel3xxx>ip config /all
'ip' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\xxx1angel3xxx>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ACER2
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : sc.rr.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : sc.rr.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8038 PCI-E Fast Eth
ernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-24-0E-BF-54
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, August 08, 2011 758 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, August 15, 2011 758 PM

C:\Documents and Settings\xxx1angel3xxx>
if you need more info or info from the bad computer let me know
__________________
xxx1angel3xxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 06:28 PM   #5
Games Team | Tech
Networking Team-Tech
 
Jason09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,668
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System


If there are still problems on one computer, go to Network and Internet from Control Panel, then right click the connection. Select Properties, then Properties from TCP/IP. Make sure the connection is set to Obtain an IP address and DNS address automatically.
If the problem persists then we'll need to see the DHCP page of the router.
__________________



Gaming troubleshooting steps.

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. -Jim Elliot
Jason09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:42 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: sc
Posts: 12
OS: window xp pro sp2, window xp home sp3, android 2.2



hello again jason,
well last night I set everything back up to get ips from dhcp and then this morning as always the dhcp has once again stopped responding to request on wireless here is the ip config data from computer not connecting
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\jason>ipcofig /all
'ipcofig' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\jason>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : yaga
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-90-4B-44-47-8D
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.207.124
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\jason>ipconfig /release

Windows IP Configuration


Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\jason>ipconfig /renew

Windows IP Configuration

An error occurred while renewing interface Wireless Network Connection 2 : unabl
e to contact your DHCP server. Request has timed out.

C:\Documents and Settings\jason>
no device can get a dhcp assigned ip again this is what always happen weather i unplug the router or reset it it last less than 24 hour and then gos dead again but will still work on wired connections

and the wireless will still work if you manually put in a static ip address which is the way ive been doing it for awhile but i really want my dhcp to work again its getting hard to keep track of all these different ip we have so many devices on wifi now so you can understand why i want to give this job back to the dhcp server in my router below is the entire router log if it helps
Jun 24 12:07:46 notice Blocked incoming TCP SynAck packet from 204.193.144.13:80 to 24.168.214.199:1131 with unexpected sequence
Jun 24 1225 notice Blocked incoming TCP SynAck packet from 204.193.144.11:80 to 24.168.214.199:1108 with unexpected sequence
Jun 24 12:04:44 notice Blocked incoming TCP SynAck packet from 204.193.144.44:80 to 24.168.214.199:1085 with unexpected sequence
Jun 24 11:53:51 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:53:51 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:53:35 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:53:35 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:53:28 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:53:28 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:53:25 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:53:25 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:52:47 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:52:47 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:52:32 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:52:32 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:52:24 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:52:24 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:52:21 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:52:21 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:51:24 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:51:24 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:51:08 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:51:08 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:51:01 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:51:01 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:50:57 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:50:57 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:49:45 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:49:45 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:49:31 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:49:31 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:49:22 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:49:22 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:49:19 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:49:19 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:46:25 notice Wireless system with Mac address 44:a7:cf:db:68:bf deauthenticate reason 3
Jun 24 11:46:23 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.103
Jun 24 11:46:23 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:46:16 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.103
Jun 24 11:46:16 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:46:12 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.103
Jun 24 11:46:12 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:46:08 notice Wireless system with Mac address 44:a7:cf:db:68:bf disassociate reason 8
Jun 24 11:46:07 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.103
Jun 24 11:46:07 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:46:04 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.103
Jun 24 11:46:04 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:45:51 info UDHCPD Inform: add_lease 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:45:49 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.103
Jun 24 11:45:49 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:45:41 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.103
Jun 24 11:45:41 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:45:37 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.103
Jun 24 11:45:37 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:45:16 notice Wireless system with Mac address 44:a7:cf:db:68:bf deauthenticate reason 3
Jun 24 11:44:05 info UDHCPD sending OFFER of 192.168.0.107
Jun 24 11:44:05 info UDHCPD sendOffer : device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
Jun 24 11:42:03

thank you again for help jason
__________________
xxx1angel3xxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 10:38 AM   #7
Games Team | Tech
Networking Team-Tech
 
Jason09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,668
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System


On a working connection, log in to the router by going to 192.168.0.1 On the Setup page, go to Network Settings. Check to make sure the DHCP Server is enabled, that the range is something like 192.168.0.100-192.168.0.199, and it is set to always broadcast.
__________________



Gaming troubleshooting steps.

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. -Jim Elliot
Jason09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 11:41 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: sc
Posts: 12
OS: window xp pro sp2, window xp home sp3, android 2.2



yes dhcp is enabled and is set to always broadcast
__________________
xxx1angel3xxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 11:57 AM   #9
Games Team | Tech
Networking Team-Tech
 
Jason09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,668
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System


Do you have other wireless devices outside of computers in the house using the wireless connection? If so, are they unable to connect, or is it just the wireless connection on this computer?
__________________



Gaming troubleshooting steps.

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. -Jim Elliot
Jason09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 01:39 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: sc
Posts: 12
OS: window xp pro sp2, window xp home sp3, android 2.2



yes nothing will connect when this happens this includes 2 laptops 2 desktops 2 androids and a play station and a printer none of them can connect unless one of to things happen I assign them a static address or power cycle the router which resets the dhcp but after about a day it will go dead again and stop giving out ip addresses there's plenty of available ip in the range of the dhcp as its 192.168.0.101 to 192.168.0.199/ 192.168.0.100 is reserved for the printer as its software don't like it when the ip changes. I did locate and install a firmware update for the router but any other ideas why the dhcp keep for lack of a better term crashing
thanks for all your help jason
__________________
xxx1angel3xxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 02:21 PM   #11
Games Team | Tech
Networking Team-Tech
 
Jason09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,668
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System


If you haven't already done a hard reset of the router, I would recommend resetting the router to factory default settings.
Note: This will reset everything you have set in the router, including network keys (WEP, WPA etc.), time, filters etc, and restore the router completely to default settings. Take a paper clip, and push it in the reset button for 10-15 seconds.
Then restart network devices and reconfigure the router.
__________________



Gaming troubleshooting steps.

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. -Jim Elliot
Jason09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 02:44 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: sc
Posts: 12
OS: window xp pro sp2, window xp home sp3, android 2.2


Yeah I did that last night when you told me to also when I installed the firmware update it reset it again
__________________
xxx1angel3xxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 04:06 PM   #13
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,407
OS: Vista/Win7



any improvement in the dhcp services?

If not my suggestion is replace the router.
Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 04:56 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: sc
Posts: 12
OS: window xp pro sp2, window xp home sp3, android 2.2


oh hoping there was something I could do to fix it it isnt that old do they start doing this after awhile
In any event thanks to all of you for your help wanted to make sure there was nothing I was missing

__________________
xxx1angel3xxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DHCP explanation
Hi guys, I need some explanation about DHCP. Basically I have capture .cap file which contains: Frame | Time | Source | Dest | Protocol | Length | Info 1 | 0.000000 | 0.0.0.0 | 255.255.255.255 | DHCP | 382 | DHCP Discover - Transaction ID 0x2f
siabanie Protocols and Routing 10 05-17-2011 12:41 PM
DGL 4100 Router cannot connect to internet via WAN port, QoS not enforced
I'm trying to change the way my network is set up by replacing an old cheap Switch with a newer Router that has some QoS options. Modem: Motorola SBG900 LINK (provided by Time Warner, not purchased by me) Old Switch: Zonet ZFS3008 LINK New DLink Router: D-Link DGL-4100 LINK Currently, my...
Pirwzy Networking Support 10 05-17-2011 12:24 AM
Internet Keeps Dropping
Hi guys, I'm new to this forum, anyways I have a connection problem with my internet. Let me explain: My wireless internet keeps disconnecting for a constant period of 3-5 minutes, and I have to connect all over again. It gets really annoying, especially when I play online MMO's. Sometimes the...
CheeseLuvas Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 4 05-08-2011 03:06 PM
Subnet Masks | Router Ports | IP Ranges | Ect...
I am using a Westell Model 6100 Proline wired router. The router has two connection plugins: - one plugin connection to the telephone outside line (simple), and - one plugin connection that I have plugged into the ISDN modem that came out with old Compaq machine. Over the past 10 years, I...
Win98User Security and Firewalls 10 04-20-2011 09:57 AM
AT&T DSL, Linksys Router, PS3 Internet Problems
So Ive been wracking my brains and looking all over the net for a solution to my problem. I have a Westell At&t DSL modem, a Linksys WRT54GS V7 Wireless router. Ive got both a Desktop hooked into the router, and a laptop hooked in wirelessly that have no problems interacting with the internet. I...
Rentacop Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 3 02-07-2011 11:24 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts