Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Connecting 2 Computers via CAT5 cable...

This is a discussion on Connecting 2 Computers via CAT5 cable... within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I started another thread on this situation, but this one is technically different (at least I don't think they are

Closed Thread

Old 09-17-2006, 12:03 PM   #1

I started another thread on this situation, but this one is technically different (at least I don't think they are related), so I am posting a separate thread.

A Dell laptop runnin Win2000 & a P3 CPU had malware problems and lost Interent connection. Cleaned the malware, and neither IE or Mozzilla would connect. I had my machine with me, so I thought to connect the two computers in order to transfer diagnostic software from my machine to the laptop. I've never done this before, but thought it was simple.

I ran CAT5 from my Desktop machine to the laptop, and it appeared the 2 machines partially "recognized" each other, as I got MS balloons whenever the CAT5 was disconnected, but other than that, there was nothing I could do to get the two machines to network. I ran the Network Wizard from both machines and could not get them together.

I got "stuck" at this point, and simply burned a CD with the files and transfered that way, but would like to know if I missed something obvious. Assuming the malware didn't corrupt the system files, is there something simple and "general" I could have done to tweak this situation into functionality ?

Thanks,

Mezto

Old 09-17-2006, 01:44 PM   #2
Registered Member