Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Connected to my router but can't access the Internet!

This is a discussion on Connected to my router but can't access the Internet! within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everybody! Im new to this forum and not very good with computers, so forgive me if i don't seem


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2010, 08:22 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
OS: WIN 7



Hi everybody! Im new to this forum and not very good with computers, so forgive me if i don't seem to knowledgeable. I used to be able to connect with my wireless router and access the internet, but then a storm came and everything in my house shut down. When i turned my computer on i was able to connect to my router, but was not able to access the internet! Everyone in my house can access the internet. Some use PCs and Macs. It seems to be me the only one who couldnt connect to the internet. Even with an ethernet cable i am not able to connect to the internet. The funny thing is i can connect to my neighbors wireless connection, and it works just fine. (This is how i am able to write in this forum) I have no idea what is wrong! Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance everybody!!

__________________
PioS is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 02:42 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
MichaelB51026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11
OS: Win7



Hi I'm new here too. Definitely the problem is on your router. are you using dynamic IP or static?

__________________
MichaelB51026 is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 04:44 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
OS: WIN 7



Hey thanks for answering back. I'm pretty sure I am using a dynamic ip.
__________________
PioS is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 10:56 AM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,950
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello and Welcome to TSF!

Try removing all wireless profiles stored in your computer and re-connect to your home wireless network, make sure that you have the correct encryption needed if your wireless is secured.
Here's a guide=> Click on Start select Control Panel. Select the Network and Internet option and then click the Network and Sharing Center. In the tasks on the left click Manage Wireless Networks. Click your network name in the list, then right-click and select Remove Network. This will clear out the profile. Then go back to the Network and Sharing Center and click Connect to a network and reconnect to your network.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 12:57 PM   #5
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Well, since a wired and wireless connection doesn't work, we need more information.

What's the exact make and model of your router? Have you upgraded the router to the latest firmware version and then done a factory reset and reconfiguration?

With the wired connection, please post this.


Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 02:08 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
OS: WIN 7



This is kind of weird, but im not sure if this is relevant or not. Whenever i use my neighbors router i can access any site i want, but if i access a site (for example google) using my neighbors internet i let it load the whole page then switch over to my own router and it works fine, if i stay on google. Once i try accessing a different site it stops working it goes to the page saying that the site might be temporarily down. This works sometimes, but not tall the time. Right now im using my own connection. Im not sure if this is relevant or not, but i just wanted to let you guys know.

My router is a linksys WRT160N V3.

Here is the information you asked for.

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Pio Saplala>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PioSaplala-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR928X Wireless Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-25-D3-3E-3B-E7
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7d16:efc1:e59a:fb56%14(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.10(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, August 12, 2010 4:56:21 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, August 19, 2010 4:56:21 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184559059
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-51-8D-E6-00-25-D3-3E-3B-E7

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.75.198
68.87.64.150
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.nj.comcast.net.:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:38ff:2061:3f57:f0f5(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::38ff:2061:3f57:f0f5%13(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{4C61E5FF-F003-4D85-883F-93C77FEBB2F3}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Pio Saplala>

Thank you all for your help!!
__________________
PioS is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 02:26 PM   #7
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,950
OS: Windows O/S'es



Perhaps a disconnection issue that you're experiencing with your own router.
From your wireless computer pls. run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Here's a more detail guide => Double click on the xirrus icon on your desktop of if you have one running in a corner, just click on it. Tap the Printscreen key on your keyboard, open up Paint then choose Edit from the Menu and select Paste, then SAVE it. Upload and attached it here, click on Go Advanced and locate Manage Attachments Tab and attached the file.

Have you tried the recommendation in Post#4?

Also, please disable IPV6 and see if it helps, here's how.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 03:53 PM   #8
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


What's the exact make/model of the modem and the router? Sounds like you have a problem with your basic connection. Have you tried a wired connection directly to the modem to see if you still have an Internet connection at all?
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 04:42 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
OS: WIN 7



I tried post # 4 and it worked at first but when i disconnected then reconnected it stopped working. I also attached the picture of Xirrus. Thanks for all your help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	XIRRUS.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	49.2 KB
ID:	76667  
__________________
PioS is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 09:13 AM   #10
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


See post #8, still need that information.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts