Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Connected, but web browser doesn't load.

This is a discussion on Connected, but web browser doesn't load. within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys and girls, I have a Dell laptop on windows XP that is having a problem. I tried to


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-29-2010, 04:21 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
OS: xp



Hey guys and girls, I have a Dell laptop on windows XP that is having a problem. I tried to get all the viruses off my brothers computer with AVG 9.0 and clean it up with CCleaner. All this worked well except now my computer says its connected, but the internet won't load my homepage and it won't load up websites. This is what I see when I look at all the networking stuff on my computer. Hopefully someone can tell me what's wrong. I also Did a winsock.exe fix and it did nothing... Thanks









This is it. If you have any further questions to help me I will try my best. Networking isn't my stroing point when It comes to computers.

Thanks,
Jared M.

__________________
J_Mad18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 12:56 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 326
OS: XP Pro, Vista Home Premium 64 bit, Vista Home Premium 32 bit



I don't see the Dns settings. Do a ipconfig /all and post the results back here. I just worked on a pc that had the same issue. I had to manually enter the DNS ip's. It is a laptop with XP Pro connecting via wireless and was connected to the router and had an IP address, but would not access he internet. You had the wrong slash after the ipconfig.

__________________
1ginman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 03:05 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
OS: xp






Ok there it is... Error... Hm. How do I fix that?

And thanks for responding! I hope you can help!
__________________
J_Mad18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 04:23 PM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,988
OS: Windows O/S'es



Please Re-do, upload and post the ipconfig /all. The resolution is way too big.

Click on Start => run and type the word cmd on the blank field. From the black screen, type the word ipconfig /all and press enter. Right click on the black screen choose Select All and Paste the results here.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 05:29 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
OS: xp



Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Jonathan Madaras>ipconfig / all

Error: unrecongnized or incomplete command line.

USAGE:
ipconfig [/? | /all | /renew [adapter] | /release [adapter] |
/flushdns | /displaydns | /registerdns |
/showclassid adapter |
/setclassid adapter [classid] ]

where
adapter Connection name
(wildcard characters * and ? allowed, see examples)

Options:
/? Display this help message
/all Display full configuration information.
/release Release the IP address for the specified adapter.
/renew Renew the IP address for the specified adapter.
/flushdns Purges the DNS Resolver cache.
/registerdns Refreshes all DHCP leases and re-registers DNS names
/displaydns Display the contents of the DNS Resolver Cache.
/showclassid Displays all the dhcp class IDs allowed for adapter.
/setclassid Modifies the dhcp class id.

The default is to display only the IP address, subnet mask and
default gateway for each adapter bound to TCP/IP.

For Release and Renew, if no adapter name is specified, then the IP address
leases for all adapters bound to TCP/IP will be released or renewed.

For Setclassid, if no ClassId is specified, then the ClassId is removed.

Examples:
> ipconfig ... Show information.
> ipconfig /all ... Show detailed information
> ipconfig /renew ... renew all adapters
> ipconfig /renew EL* ... renew any connection that has its
name starting with EL
> ipconfig /release *Con* ... release all matching connections,
eg. "Local Area Connection 1" or
"Local Area Connection 2"

C:\Documents and Settings\Jonathan Madaras>


There ya go. Sorry about that.
__________________
J_Mad18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 05:46 PM   #6
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,988
OS: Windows O/S'es



Actually it's ipconfig /all or ipconfig(space)/all or just copy and paste mine to your command prompt then press enter, it's easier this way.

Your's is wrong ipconfig / all you have spaces between ipconfig and all.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 05:53 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
OS: xp



Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Jonathan Madaras>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : D27FJ8C1
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : myhome.westell.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
roller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-C5-CC-57-95

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-7D-1E-75-78
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, March 30, 2010 8:51:12 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, March 31, 2010 8:51:12 PM


C:\Documents and Settings\Jonathan Madaras>

Wow, I'm dumb...
__________________
J_Mad18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 06:06 PM   #8
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,988
OS: Windows O/S'es



No problem....

Now, the troubleshooting part:
Try removing all wireless profiles stored in your computer and re-connect to your home wireless network, make sure that you have the correct encryption needed if your wireless is secured. http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networki...ofile-t109.htm, then re-configure it again.

Let's also scan your computer for some possible Malware/Spyware.

Then test your connections and post update after.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 12:42 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
OS: xp



Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Jonathan Madaras>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : D27FJ8C1
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : myhome.westell.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
roller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-C5-CC-57-95

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-7D-1E-75-78
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, April 01, 2010 3:38:48 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, April 02, 2010 3:38:48 PM

C:\Documents and Settings\Jonathan Madaras>

Same problem with safari and IE. Connection, but no web. Anything else im missing?
__________________
J_Mad18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 12:57 PM   #10
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,988
OS: Windows O/S'es



Your ipconfig /all shows good working IP's.
Have you tried my 2 suggestions? Any luck?

Also, pls. disable any Firewall/Security Software you have installed like Norton, Zone Alarm, McAfee.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 05:41 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
OS: xp



Hey, the firewall was turned off and nothing. I have AVG 9.0 and I'm pretty sure you can't turn it off. That stuff needs to be on though because this computer is a virus collector... That's why this happened.
__________________
J_Mad18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 07:22 PM   #12
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,988
OS: Windows O/S'es



Let's do Repairs and Resets of your XP's TCP/IP and Winsock:

Here's how to Repair a Corrupt TCP/IP Stack:
Go to your command prompt window. Start> Programs> Accessories> Command Prompt (Windows XP). The command prompt window will appear.
In the command line type: netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt . Press enter.
Restart the computer. After restart, your computers TCP/IP stack will be restored to the state it was when originally installed on your pc.

Here’s how to reset your winsock in windows XP:
Open the command prompt
Type in netsh winsock reset and press enter
After resetting winsock, Restart your computer.

Test your connections after.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 10:47 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 326
OS: XP Pro, Vista Home Premium 64 bit, Vista Home Premium 32 bit



I just got thru working or another pc running XP Pro with the same exact problems you have. After trying almost all the suggestions offered above I manually entered the DNS ip setting for my isp, rebooted and now it works.
Go figure.
__________________
1ginman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 06:55 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
OS: xp



Haven't tried that yet. But how do you do that?
__________________
J_Mad18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 07:45 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
OS: xp



bump. How do I enter my DNS ip?
__________________
J_Mad18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 12:09 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 326
OS: XP Pro, Vista Home Premium 64 bit, Vista Home Premium 32 bit



First off you need to get the DNS IP addresses from your ISP. You cannot proceed until you have those ISP DNS addresses. Then right click on your Network Places icon and select properties. In the widow that opens, it should have your network conections in that window, right click on the connection your pc is using and select properties. In the window that opens, select the Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) and then right click it and select properties. Click the Radial, "Use the following DNS server addresses". Then enter the DNS IP addressess in the two slots provided. If your ISP gives you more than two addresses, click the advanced button, then click the DNS tab, click add and enter the IP, don't forget the periods between the numbers. Click add and then click ok or apply to finish.
__________________
1ginman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 12:21 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
OS: xp



To get my DNS ip I went to cmd and did ipconfig /all and got one DNS server ip. Where do I get the second one?
__________________
J_Mad18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 11:05 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 326
OS: XP Pro, Vista Home Premium 64 bit, Vista Home Premium 32 bit



That DNS you got with the ipconfig /all is for your local router and not the one of your ISP. You need to call your ISP and ask what your DNS address is.

__________________
1ginman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts