Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Cant connect to some sites

This is a discussion on Cant connect to some sites within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've been having problems for the past couple of weeks trying to connect to some websites. It is only SOME,


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-13-2011, 04:22 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7 64 bit



I've been having problems for the past couple of weeks trying to connect to some websites. It is only SOME, not all websites. It will either say that it is taking too long to connect or that the website is experiencing problems. I have no idea where to start as i am pretty clueless when it comes to configuring/repairing network related issues. Please help!

__________________
cats404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 04:47 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 507
OS: W7 Professional 64bit



1. Depending upon what browser you are using, clear out all of your browsing history and cache information.

2. Can you characterize what websites work and what don't?

3. Try flushing your dns - open up a command window - start run cmd. Then type ipconfig /flushdns and see is that fixes it?

Rgrds-Ross

__________________
rgsalinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 05:07 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7 64 bit



Thanks for replying rgsalinger.
I've tried both internet explorer and firefox. I've also tried flushing my dns already. And i can't really characterize the sites that work and the sites that don't. No idea what separates the two.
__________________
cats404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 05:45 PM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,018
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hi cats404 and Welcome to TSF,

Check your browser's Proxy settings, make sure that it's disabled.
How to Remove Proxy Settings

Make sure that your LAN setting is set to DHCP, that goes to the DNS Servers as well.
Wireless Network Support: How to enable DHCP on Windows 7?

Please give us an update.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:36 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7 64 bit



Thanks alot 2xg.

The proxy settings are disabled and my LAN settings are already DHCP... i think. I've followed the steps and they were already set to auto and such
__________________
cats404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:44 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 507
OS: W7 Professional 64bit



I wasn't really asking what browser you're using rather I was asking you to clean out the cached information in whatever you're using and to flush any dns entries that might be lurking. If you really can't categorize which sites are failing you might try using the public google dns servers - here's a link - Google Public DNS .
Rgrds-Ross
__________________
rgsalinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:54 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7 64 bit



Ah sorry. I've cleaned out the cached info and flushed the dns already though. Still having the same problems
__________________
cats404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:59 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 507
OS: W7 Professional 64bit



Could you post an example of what gets redirected? You could have some kind of virus, but I'd check that the DNS servers are correct (maybe call your isp if necessary) and I'd give the public DNS servers a try.
Rgrds-Ross
__________________
rgsalinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 07:43 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7 64 bit



It doesn't get redirected. It just says that the website is experiencing problems/something is blocking it. But the public DNS servers worked. They enabled me to go onto the sites i couldn't before.
__________________
cats404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 09:21 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 507
OS: W7 Professional 64bit



Well that means that there's some problem with your dns. It would have to be at your ISP if you've flushed the cache. If you have a second computer which works it would be worthwhile checking how the DNS resolves there. On the other hand if your happy with this solution, just mark it as "solved".
Rgrds-Ross

__________________
rgsalinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot access or ping microsoft, yahoo and antivirus sites
We have 2 home PCs one XP and one Windows7 , both have been protected by MS essentials for some time. About 8 days ago i realized that the essentials had failed to auto update. Attempts to connect to microsoft sites timed out. Then we started to be unable to connect to other sites, yahoo sites....
kevgibson Inactive Malware Help Topics 2 10-01-2011 06:31 PM
Can't connect to certain sites, programs, etc.
Hello, I am experiencing the exact same problem. I have a newly built computer running Windows 7 Pro 64-bit. I have nothing else installed on it except for some drivers. The problem arises when I try to connect anything having to do with a Microsoft website (along with other random websites);...
jsqrd85 Networking Support 14 09-03-2011 01:32 PM
Computer infected with Trojan
My office computer has been infected. Symptoms are that visits to websites are being redirected, the computer appears to go into hibernation or sleep mode when I leave it alone for a few minutes and it is often difficult to get it back. Sometimes I have to manually turn it on and off. Further,...
Jefflaw Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 45 07-19-2011 10:28 AM
[SOLVED] Can't connect to certain sites, programs, etc.
Can't connect to sites such as this GamersFirst Forums -> International APB Reloaded Forums, unless I use a proxy site. Nor does connecting to the game works, either. But it works for my friends, apparently. I checked the router settings, no go. Turn the firewall and Norton on and off, and...
Souyu Networking Support 3 05-21-2011 08:41 PM
NEED HELP: Cannot connect SSL sites through a proxy
I've been on this for a about a week now.. I've tried a lot of stuff but nothing really worked.. I am using a USB Modem from HUAWEI Technologies to use internet when im not on a wifi zone.. The Internet Speed is kinda slow (512 kbps), so I configured my browser to go through a proxy to make it a...
NateDigby Networking Support 3 04-17-2011 10:56 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts