Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Can't connect to internet without ethernet cable

This is a discussion on Can't connect to internet without ethernet cable within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey all, I have an HP laptop (vista) and I can connect to the internet when I use the ethernet


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-31-2012, 03:50 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Vista



Hey all,

I have an HP laptop (vista) and I can connect to the internet when I use the ethernet cable but when I don't have the ethernet in, it just says that it is an unidentified network and an only connect locally. It has been driving me mad all day and I am still none the wiser. I have run an ipconfig/all and this is what I get:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Laura-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-4D-2E-54-72
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.130.189(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-72-7C-38-0A
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{CE2C4C18-DD58-419B-842C-416938D58
9DB}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 18:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{11170D59-1D55-4A1F-824D-FBC345E51
E87}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 23:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Windows\system32>^A^A

The router is a HUAWEI EchoLife HG521 if that helps??? I have been all round the houses looking at thread after thread and have concluded that I know nothing about computers, I have a headache and I am going to pass this onto someone that might be able to help me before I go insane!!

Thank you in advance.

__________________
laura170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 04:52 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,469
OS: XP Pro



Do you have any other devices that can connect wirelessly to your router?
  • Make sure the wireless network card on your computer is turned on - either by a switch on the front of your laptop or by using the Function keys on your keyboard. Check your owners manual if you aren't sure.
  • Plug an ethernet cable into your laptop from your router. Click the Windows Start button and type Device manager into the search box then click on Device Manager in the link.
  • Scroll down to Network Adapters and right click on your Atheros adapter then select Update Driver. Let Windows search for an updated driver and install if available.
  • Click the Windows Start button again and type Network in the search box then go to Network & Sharing.
  • On the left side of the page, click Manage Wireless Networks. Right click on your wireless network name in the list and select Remove Network.
  • Go back to the Network & Sharing center and click on Connect to a network on the left.
  • If the name of your wireless network appears in the list, try connecting again and enter your wireless network password. See if you can connect.

It's also possible your computer is using HP software to connect to your wireless network, the above instructions are for using the Windows built in software

__________________

Fred Garvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 02:06 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Vista



Yes I have a mobile phone that connects wirelessly and I did have another laptop (which is currently being repaired). It is just this laptop that I have a problem with. I tried all the things mentioned above and it makes no difference. When I have the ethernet cable plugged in, I get local and internet access and as soon as I remove it, I have only local access and it doesn't recognise the network (talktalk) - it says unidentified network. When the ethernet is connected it says multiple networks.
__________________
laura170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:57 AM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,469
OS: XP Pro



Go Back into Network & Sharing Center and click on Manage Network Connections on the left of the page. Right click on your wireless network adapter and select disable. Right click on it again and select Enable.

If you select Connect To a Network, do you see any wireless network names available?

If you still can't connect, click on the Red X in the network map and let Windows diagnose the problem and post the results.
__________________

Fred Garvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 08:14 AM   #5
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14,401
OS: Vista/Win7



Please start here so we can help you troubleshoot the issue

http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ts-573730.html

Wand3r3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet stops after 10 mins to an hour
My internet stops approx in 10 min fo start of pc to an hour at times. Am not able to connect to router too. I have a wireless router and the PC is connected with a wire. The internet is not at fault as I can use the router @ laptop. Was on windows 7 Ultimate and all was working finer till 2...
tny Networking Support 14 09-17-2011 10:02 PM
Cannot connect to Internet on my laptop without Ethernet cable
I have a Dell Inspiron N4010, recently it has not been connecting to any wireless network, not at work, school or home! I troubleshoot the problems and it states that I have plug in Ethernet i don't know why it will not connect without it, I bought this laptop only 5 months ago! Is there anyone who...
Ashley890 Networking Support 4 07-19-2011 09:13 AM
I think I have a rootkit
Hello Techs. There is something wrong with my computer. It doesn't boot with a usb connection plugged in such as storage device etc. etc. It only goes to error page where I have 30 seconds or whatever to select how I would like to boot windows and which operating system etc. It will do this until I...
delaney14 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 14 04-24-2011 09:03 AM
Virus de-activated firewall and internet connection
Hi, my name is Steve and I have a problem that seems pretty common with other posts. I have tried a few basic options posted elsewhere but here I am. I turn on my computer and after the welcome screen my desktop background loads but it takes about 10 minutes for the icons and everything else to...
Sharewealth Resolved HJT Threads 20 03-14-2011 07:19 AM
Antivira AV virus - Help appreciated
Hi there My pc picked up a nasty virus called Antivira AV rendering it pretty much useless. Itís a bogus virus scanner that automatically seems to close down Windows Defender and take over. I canít use Internet Explorer and also canít go in the Task Manager, when I press Ctrl alt delete it...
Jvdbliek Resolved HJT Threads 18 03-03-2011 09:34 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts