Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support


Can't Communicate with Just One Device

This is a discussion on Can't Communicate with Just One Device within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey everyone. I've got a real interesting problem and I can't seem to find a solution to. First, the background.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-06-2017, 11:32 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1
OS: Windows Server 2008 R2



Hey everyone. I've got a real interesting problem and I can't seem to find a solution to.

First, the background. I'm working on a small company network. The network has three separate locations with three separate subnets, those being 192.168.0.x, 192.168.3.x, and 192.168.8.x. All three subnets are connected to each other over VPN tunnels, with each site individually connected to the other two. The .0.x subnet is where the servers are located, the .3.x subnet is a remote office, and the .8.x subnet is the main office.

Now, all VPN tunnels are up and connected with no issues. I've already been over that. The problem is with a single device, a printer, and a single server, but it is not a printing issue, and it may not even be a networking issue due to the specifics of the problem.

I have one machine, a VM running Windows Server 2008 R2 that all of a sudden can not print to the printer at the remote office, nor can it ping that printer. I was able to do so without issue prior to this and no changes have been made to anything to my knowledge. The box is running VMware ESXi 5.0.

Now, I'll try to give you everything I've done and tried in hopes someone has seen this before and has a solution. I can ping and print to the printer, which is on the .3.x subnet, from my PC that is on the .8.x subnet. I can do that from every PC on the .8.x subnet as well. I can also ping and print to the printer from the one PC that is on it's subnet, the .3.x subnet. I can also ping and print from the one PC that is connected to the same subnet as the server in question, the .0.x subnet. I haven't attempted to print from any of our other VMs, mainly because I can ping that printer from the other VMs on the .0.x subnet.

Now, I initially thought something is wrong with the routing or the VPN, but as I said, everything else on the .0.x subnet can reach the printer. I even thought maybe something with VMware may be causing an issue or the network card on the box itself is having problems, but I think I've debunked that theory because I can ping the printer from other VMs on that same box, as well as I can ping the router and the three IP security cameras we have at that remote location from the server I'm having an issue with. I can also access the web management portals for the router and cameras from the server and everywhere. I can also access the portals from all other PCs, including the one for the printer, but I cannot access it from the problem server. The printer does have a static IP and it has not changed. I've also confirmed there is not an IP address conflict. Also, one night last week, updates were installed and that server rebooted. That next day, we could print and ping the printer. However, the following day, we could not print not ping the printer again. I attempted a reboot to see if the we could access the printer again but we could not.

So, in a nutshell, I literally have one device, with one IP, that cannot be accessed by only one server/PC. Does anyone have an thoughts or ideas? I've been fighting with this for two weeks.
Gurupitka1920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2017, 07:15 AM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,025
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Sounds like an issue with that one VM. And by issue, I mean a network configuration issue. You've ruled out the server and NIC(s) as other VMs on that box are working. So it's VM issue (config or drivers)...or maybe still a NIC issue if the problem VM has it's own NIC.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to remove "This webpage wants to run the following add-on; Adobe Flash Player fr
Chemist suggested that I post in this forum. My previous post was called: PC detected Hacking Attack on your browser call 1-855-704-1387 Everytime I call up a webpage I get this message: "This webpage wants to run the following add-on; Adobe Flash Player from Microsoft Windows Third Party...
do what? Windows 8, 8.1 Support 33 06-07-2015 09:47 PM
dds is not meant to run in compatibility mode
I can't run it to provide the required logs. I'm running Windows 8.1
beancurd89 Resolved HJT Threads 8 09-16-2014 09:20 AM
Security services missing, or not wolrking
I am having some issues with services either not running, or not showing up in the services configuration. I have scanned my system with malwarebytes, Microsoft Security essentials, but nothing is showing up as a threat. The services that are not showing up are Application Management, BranchCache,...
stanley62 Inactive Malware Help Topics 20 05-29-2013 12:47 PM
Removed xp security 2012 & sys32 -still having issues want to make sure it's all gone
Hi and thanks in advance for the help Dell dimension e520 Win XP media edition SP2 Have a Dell Win xp media edition reinstallation CD Malwarebytes and Avira antivir for security latest updates and scans show no infections Had an xp security 2012 infection and a sys32 virus after digging...
Zappafrank Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 214 01-09-2012 10:35 AM
DirectX Features are not available
Hello. Whenever I want to play any games. This Error Pops up "Could not load direct3d" and "D3D_Create: CreateDevice() failed". I checked on my DxDiag and it came out with this: ------------------ System Information ------------------ Time of this report: 10/26/2011, 18:19:38 ...
tenekei Video Card Support 4 10-26-2011 06:31 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com