Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Can't clear DNS cache

This is a discussion on Can't clear DNS cache within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Not sure if this is the place for this but I tried to repair my Local Network connection and I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-30-2006, 07:29 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Don Luciano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
OS: XP



Not sure if this is the place for this but I tried to repair my Local Network connection and I keep getting this error..........

Any ideas?

__________________
Don Luciano is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 07:43 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Don Luciano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
OS: XP


bump.....................

__________________
Don Luciano is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 12:17 PM   #3
TSF Team Emeritus, Gearheads & Networking Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 2,289
OS: 98SE, W2k Pro, XP Pro


Are you running Norton Internet Security by any chance?

JamesO
__________________
JamesO is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 09:30 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Don Luciano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
OS: XP


Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesO
Are you running Norton Internet Security by any chance?

JamesO
No I do have Norton's Systemworks.
__________________
Don Luciano is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 09:50 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 16
OS: XP, SUSE 10, SLES9, Netware :), OpenWRT!...etc


Send a message via MSN to The_JinJ
Try this from DOS

ipconfig /flushdns
__________________
The_JinJ is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 06:19 PM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus, Gearheads & Networking Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 2,289
OS: 98SE, W2k Pro, XP Pro


If you have any sort of firewall other than the Windows firewall, disable it and see if you can repair your connection.

My guess if the flush DNS command will not work based upon the original message you posted.

JamesO
__________________
JamesO is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 12:15 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Don Luciano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
OS: XP


Update: I shut down all my firewalls and tried again with same results. Any other options? And thanks everyone who responded.
__________________
Don Luciano is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 08:01 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Don Luciano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
OS: XP


bump...............
__________________
Don Luciano is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 08:09 AM   #9
TSF Team Emeritus, Gearheads & Networking Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 2,289
OS: 98SE, W2k Pro, XP Pro


Might try a TCP/IP Stack Reset??

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;299357

JamesO
__________________
JamesO is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 03:13 PM   #10
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

Here it is in easy to read form.

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 04:51 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Don Luciano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
OS: XP


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwill
Here it is in easy to read form.

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log
OK tried this with no success. Is there something I can uninstall and reinstall?
__________________
Don Luciano is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 09:47 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Don Luciano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
OS: XP


Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Luciano
OK tried this with no success. Is there something I can uninstall and reinstall?
bump............................
__________________
Don Luciano is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 10:48 AM   #13
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

You can give this Automated WINSOCK Fix for XP a try, there could be something amiss in the WINSOCK linkages.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 11:23 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 75
OS: Windows XP Professional, Windows 2000 Professional, Windows 2000 Server


Make sure the DNS Client service is running, if this service is not running you will not have or be able to clear the DNS cache. Also, you may experience network connectivity issues.

As an administrative user, open Control Panel, open Administrative Tools, open Services.

Make sure DNS Client is Started and set to Automatic.
__________________
aprior is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 05:54 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Don Luciano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
OS: XP


Quote:
Originally Posted by aprior
Make sure the DNS Client service is running, if this service is not running you will not have or be able to clear the DNS cache. Also, you may experience network connectivity issues.

As an administrative user, open Control Panel, open Administrative Tools, open Services.

Make sure DNS Client is Started and set to Automatic.
Bingo! Thanks alot and thanks everyone else for helping!
__________________
Don Luciano is offline  
Old 05-10-2008, 02:03 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
OS: XP Media Edition



Try restarting the DNS Client service through services.msc
or
from command line:
net stop "DNS Client"
net start "DNS Client"

Elaborating on this.. an instruction guide:

Method 1:
Goto start -> Run
type in services.msc hit enter
Find the DNS Client in the right hand side section.
Right click on it and click stop
wait for a couple o seconds.
Right click on it and click Start

Method 2:
Goto start -> Run
type in cmd hit enter
in the command window that comes up type in net stop "DNS Client"
then net start "DNS Client"
__________________
miketbirdy is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 03:49 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by aprior View Post
Make sure the DNS Client service is running, if this service is not running you will not have or be able to clear the DNS cache. Also, you may experience network connectivity issues.

As an administrative user, open Control Panel, open Administrative Tools, open Services.

Make sure DNS Client is Started and set to Automatic.



Thankyou so much for this info! I've been having this problem for months!
for some reason DNS client was stopped. its now on automatic and DNS cache is now clearing and connection repairing as it should.
__________________
gixergirl is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 04:00 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
OS: xp service pack 3



Thanks everyone this helped to sort out my DNS problem Great site!
__________________
macci666 is offline  
Old 06-19-2010, 05:23 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
OS: xp sp3 , vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by aprior View Post
Make sure the DNS Client service is running, if this service is not running you will not have or be able to clear the DNS cache. Also, you may experience network connectivity issues.

As an administrative user, open Control Panel, open Administrative Tools, open Services.

Make sure DNS Client is Started and set to Automatic.
THANKS ALOT ALOT ALOT APRIOR
and every one who helped in this situation
i registered specially to reply a BIG massive thanks to you guys really helped me
and if there is a way i can donate by mobile phone plz tell me as i cant use my credit card these days for some technical issues with the bank

really appreciated..
__________________
hondamomo is offline  
Old 06-19-2010, 07:51 AM   #20
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Glad to see others are helped by the posts.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts