Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Can't Access Webpages, Connected to Network

This is a discussion on Can't Access Webpages, Connected to Network within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hoping you networking gurus can assist! Suddenly, one of my laptops is unable to access the internet via my apartment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-11-2013, 07:13 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Vista



Hoping you networking gurus can assist! Suddenly, one of my laptops is unable to access the internet via my apartment complex's community wifi. It will connect to the network, but times out when trying to access any webpages. All other devices are able to connect to the network and access the internet with no issue. This network is unsecured, so no password is required to access. How can I resolve this?

ISP: Comcast
Router: Unknown
Anti-Virus/Firewall Software on PC: Avast, Windows Firewall

Here's my ipconfig/all info:
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : dorothea-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : example.com

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : example.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5009 802.11a/g/n WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-5E-2C-65-0C
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1df9:8243:9e84:9575%16(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.191(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, February 11, 2013 4:14:25 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 4:14:25 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 335554142
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-ED-01-A5-00-26-5E-2C-65-0C

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E/8103E Family PCI-E FE NI
C
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-16-DC-99-96
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{600C3E84-E378-4F2E-A561-4AD4918B3
FB1}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : example.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

__________________
Confusedin206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:14 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Vista



Just as FYI: I tried to use the WiFi inspector, but I keep getting an error message when I attempt to install it so hopefully you can assist without that piece of information.

__________________
Confusedin206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 03:40 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Malaga, Spain
Posts: 37
OS: Windows 7 x64



Sounds like it could be a hardware problem (which is going to be annoying for a laptop if it is).

Have you tried updating your wireless driver?
__________________
BenF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 04:11 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Try the appropriate wireless WHQL driver from this site ATHEROS Wireless drivers for Windows

You can save this onto someting like a Flash drive then copy across to the affected machine if no wired connection.

Can you only connect wirelessly in this complex or are you able to connect with an Ethernet cable for troubleshooting purposes ?

In the absence of an Internet connection for Xirrus, then entering this cmd from the cmd prompt will provide similar info which you can copy & paste into a doc then copy across to your working machine to post, but it isn't likely to be an interference problem when other devices can connect okay.

Being able to connect when booting up into Safe Mode with Networking could indicate a problem with your AV.

netsh wlan show network mode=bssid > Enter
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 09:11 AM   #5
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


Please download inssider

This will give us an idea about signal strength and if any channel interference.
__________________
TheCyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 05:48 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by BenF View Post
Sounds like it could be a hardware problem (which is going to be annoying for a laptop if it is).

Have you tried updating your wireless driver?
Thanks for the reply! I tried updating my driver, but got a message that said my driver is up to date. This does appear to be the case, as my version number matches the version number of the most recent driver. Here's something I found out today which leads me to think it's not a hardware issue: the problem laptop can connect and access the internet on other wireless networks with no issue.
__________________
Confusedin206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 06:18 PM   #7
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,758
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello,

Do you have the latest Service Pack for your Vista which is SP2, followed by doing Windows Updates?
Download Windows Server 2008 Service Pack 2 and Windows Vista Service Pack 2 - Five Language Standalone (KB948465) from Official Microsoft Download Center

You may try uninstalling the Atheros driver again then manually install the .inf file that can be found here. Follow this Tutorial on how to manually uninstall the Atheros adapter from Device Manager and install the .inf driver for your Atheros adapter.

If none of the above helps, you may change your wireless security (WPA or WPA2), see if your computer can connect. It's best to use WPA2 with AES encryption to best secure your network.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 06:41 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomken15 View Post
Try the appropriate wireless WHQL driver from this site ATHEROS Wireless drivers for Windows

You can save this onto someting like a Flash drive then copy across to the affected machine if no wired connection.

Can you only connect wirelessly in this complex or are you able to connect with an Ethernet cable for troubleshooting purposes ?

In the absence of an Internet connection for Xirrus, then entering this cmd from the cmd prompt will provide similar info which you can copy & paste into a doc then copy across to your working machine to post, but it isn't likely to be an interference problem when other devices can connect okay.

Being able to connect when booting up into Safe Mode with Networking could indicate a problem with your AV.

netsh wlan show network mode=bssid > Enter

Thanks! My driver is up to date. I am only able to connect wirelessly in my complex. I found out today that the problem laptop can connect to other wireless networks with no issue; only the apartment's network causes this behavior.

Booting into Safe Mode w/ Networking did not allow me to connect either.

Here's the info from the cmd prompt (NORTHBRIDGE is the connection I'm using):

C:\Windows\system32>netsh wlan show network mode=bssid

Interface Name : Wireless Network Connection
There are 11 networks currently visible.

SSID 1 : NORTHBRIDGE
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : Open
Encryption : None
BSSID 1 : 00:1f:33:4a:ce:40
Signal : 68%
Radio Type : 802.11g
Channel : 4
Basic Rates (Mbps) : 1 2 5.5 11
Other Rates (Mbps) : 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54
BSSID 2 : 00:24:b2:dc:80:73
Signal : 70%
Radio Type : 802.11n
Channel : 11
Basic Rates (Mbps) : 1 2 5.5 11
Other Rates (Mbps) : 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54
BSSID 3 : c0:3f:0e:89:f8:00
Signal : 44%
Radio Type : 802.11n
Channel : 8
Basic Rates (Mbps) : 1 2 5.5 11
Other Rates (Mbps) : 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54

SSID 2 :
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : Open
Encryption : None
BSSID 1 : 00:00:00:00:00:00
Signal : 60%
Radio Type : 802.11g
Channel : 6
Basic Rates (Mbps) : 1 2 5.5 11
Other Rates (Mbps) : 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54

SSID 3 :
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : WPA2-Personal
Encryption : CCMP
BSSID 1 : 00:12:17:2f:eb:a4
Signal : 42%
Radio Type : 802.11g
Channel : 5
Basic Rates (Mbps) : 1 2 5.5 6 11 12 24
Other Rates (Mbps) : 9 18 36 48 54

SSID 4 : Northbridge
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : Open
Encryption : None
BSSID 1 : 00:26:f2:8f:e1:ac
Signal : 38%
Radio Type : 802.11g
Channel : 4
Basic Rates (Mbps) : 1 2 5.5 11
Other Rates (Mbps) : 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54
BSSID 2 : 00:24:b2:5a:62:94
Signal : 42%
Radio Type : 802.11g
Channel : 11
Basic Rates (Mbps) : 1 2 5.5 11
Other Rates (Mbps) : 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54

SSID 5 : GOD
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : WPA2-Personal
Encryption : CCMP
BSSID 1 : 00:24:7b:5b:e0:12
Signal : 58%
Radio Type : 802.11g
Channel : 6
Basic Rates (Mbps) : 1 2 5.5 11
Other Rates (Mbps) : 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54

SSID 6 : icupkin
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : WPA2-Personal
Encryption : CCMP
BSSID 1 : 00:18:f8:e3:c9:d2
Signal : 74%
Radio Type : 802.11g
Channel : 6
Basic Rates (Mbps) : 1 2 5.5 11
Other Rates (Mbps) : 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54

SSID 7 : Plankton
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : WPA2-Personal
Encryption : CCMP
BSSID 1 : c8:60:00:e8:ac:f8
Signal : 68%
Radio Type : 802.11n
Channel : 6
Basic Rates (Mbps) : 1 2 5.5 11
Other Rates (Mbps) : 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54

SSID 8 : Dot Pack
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : WPA2-Personal
Encryption : CCMP
BSSID 1 : 00:1d:d2:33:77:d0
Signal : 40%
Radio Type : 802.11n
Channel : 11
Basic Rates (Mbps) : 1 2 5.5 11
Other Rates (Mbps) : 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54

SSID 9 : HOME-1772
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : WPA2-Personal
Encryption : CCMP
BSSID 1 : 00:1d:d1:17:17:70
Signal : 16%
Radio Type : 802.11n
Channel : 11
Basic Rates (Mbps) : 1 2 5.5 11
Other Rates (Mbps) : 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54

SSID 10 : jandbcasa
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : Open
Encryption : WEP
BSSID 1 : 00:14:6c:f4:72:de
Signal : 10%
Radio Type : 802.11g
Channel : 11
Basic Rates (Mbps) : 1 2 5.5 11
Other Rates (Mbps) : 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54

SSID 11 : MATTERN1_Network
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : WPA2-Personal
Encryption : CCMP
BSSID 1 : 94:44:52:2d:f7:ba
Signal : 14%
Radio Type : 802.11n
Channel : 2
Basic Rates (Mbps) : 1 2 5.5 11
Other Rates (Mbps) : 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54
__________________
Confusedin206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 07:13 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by 2xg View Post
Hello,

Do you have the latest Service Pack for your Vista which is SP2, followed by doing Windows Updates?
Download Windows Server 2008 Service Pack 2 and Windows Vista Service Pack 2 - Five Language Standalone (KB948465) from Official Microsoft Download Center

You may try uninstalling the Atheros driver again then manually install the .inf file that can be found here. Follow this Tutorial on how to manually uninstall the Atheros adapter from Device Manager and install the .inf driver for your Atheros adapter.

If none of the above helps, you may change your wireless security (WPA or WPA2), see if your computer can connect. It's best to use WPA2 with AES encryption to best secure your network.
I have Service Pack 2. I tried manually installing the driver again based on your directions but I'm still having the issue. I can't change the security on the network (it's my apartment complex's resident wifi).
__________________
Confusedin206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 10:41 PM   #10
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,758
OS: Windows O/S'es



Oh...I understand.....if it was previously working have you tried to do a System Restore? Restore to it to a point when it used to work.
Quote:
I can't change the security on the network (it's my apartment complex's resident wifi).
Also, please post a Xirrus capture. See guidelines here.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 01:16 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Malaga, Spain
Posts: 37
OS: Windows 7 x64



Well, this seem weird. When you connect to the network, can you temporarily connect to the internet? If so, how long does it last for?
Also, did you do anything different the time before it stopped working, like install, update, remove, etc?

__________________
BenF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Desktop is connected to a wireless network, but can't access internet?
Hello! So I have a Windows HP Pavilion w1907 desktop. My computer says that I am connected to a wireless network. However, I cannot use any programs, like AIM or Mozilla Firefox, iTunes, or any other programs that require internet connection to work. I visited the Network and Sharing Center,...
Kangaroosa93 Networking Support 6 12-10-2011 02:35 PM
Compaq Presario CQ56 is connected to network, but has 'no internet access'
My compaq presario cq56 laptop has been connected, via wireless, to our home broadband network for ages, but suddenly it's not working. A yellow triangle with an exclamation mark has appeared over the bars of the internet symbol in the system tray, and it tells me it's connected, but that there's...
lize182 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 5 10-01-2011 12:45 AM
trojan virus 'appears' to have deleted whole hard drive, docs and program files
Hi. My computer's picked up a trojan virus. I had one about a year ago and people were very helpful about it on here. But this one seems to be a lot more disruptive and i'm not sure how many helpful details i'm going to be able to give you. At the moment, i can't even run a scan on the system or...
mrbaggins Resolved HJT Threads 17 06-16-2011 07:37 AM
[SOLVED] Network access issue with Workgroup PC's
I am having a small problem with my home network. Before I delve into the details, here is my configuration and a few things that I have done so far: - I have a desktop and a laptop both running XP SP3. - The desktop is hard-wired to a Linksys WRT-54GX wireless router and the laptop connects...
jjscott Networking Support 8 01-04-2011 09:02 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts