Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Cannot get wireless internet to work.

This is a discussion on Cannot get wireless internet to work. within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm not a tech guru by any stretch of the imagination. I am trying to set up my daughter's new


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2009, 06:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP


Question

I'm not a tech guru by any stretch of the imagination.

I am trying to set up my daughter's new wireless connection. The router is working fine, it says strong signal, but the internet connectivity is "limited." It seems to send something called "packets" but is not receiving them.

When I run the ipconfig it only shows me a IP and subnet mask address, but nothing under gateway or dns. From searching the web there should be something there right? It said somewhere that the IP address is invalid?

Please, I'm about to pull my hair out after messing with it for days. Can anyone walk me thru what I need to do. I read somewhere about a winsock repair program, but can't figure out how I could download it to her computer if I can't connect to the internet...

Thanks in advance for any help!!!

__________________
hmarie775 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 07:10 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 31
OS: Ubuntu 10.04 x86_64, Win7 x64 Ult.



What is the IP address and subnet mask? Do other computers work OK with the router and the internet?

__________________
cfarley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 07:14 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP



169.254.90.184 and 255.255.0.0

Yes, my other child's computer is working fine off the router.
__________________
hmarie775 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 07:25 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 31
OS: Ubuntu 10.04 x86_64, Win7 x64 Ult.



Yep, you have a 'link local' address which means it's not communicating with the router... Try this:

1. Go to Control Panel

2. Network and Internet Connections (skip if you have a white background with tons of icons)

3. Network Connections

4. Right click your wireless connection

5. Properties

6. Click Internet Protocol (TCP/IP), then click Properties right below it

7. Make sure 'Obtain an IP address automatically' and 'Obtain DNS server address automatically' are both selected

8. Click OK then OK again

9. Wait a minute, then see if you have internet. Should do the trick. Reply back if this worked or not.
__________________
cfarley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 07:50 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP



No, sorry that actually made it worse and lost connectivity all together.
__________________
hmarie775 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 08:00 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 31
OS: Ubuntu 10.04 x86_64, Win7 x64 Ult.



Try reversing what you did to regain connectivity... that shouldn't of made you lose connection to the router, only change settings... did you do anything else by accident? You could try to turn off the router for 10 seconds, and restart the laptop and see if they connect... But do you normally connect computers and other wireless things without a hitch?
__________________
cfarley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 01:48 AM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
OS: xp



Hi ar,
can u login into the admin page of the router?
__________________
princessalice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 03:57 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP



THe only way I can get a connection, but still can't get online is when i go into properties and change the Obtain an IP address automatically' and 'Obtain DNS server address automatically' to the numbers it gives me when I run the ipconfig. Then I get a connection that shows I am sending packets but not receiving them.

The settings have changed it seems. When I run an ipconfig I get this:

Autoconfiguration IP address: 169.254.90.184
Subnet Mask: 255.255.0
Default Gateway:

When I run a diagnostic test on the wireless adapter utility I get a ping test that says
Loopback: Pass
IP Pass
Gateway FAIL
DNS FAIL
WAN FAIL
Heartbeat FAIL
Belkin FAIL
Yahoo FAIL

Does this help at all?

thanks so much! I'm sorry that it took me so long to get back to you, I can only work on this in the evenings.
__________________
hmarie775 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 03:58 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP



Can't log into the router...
__________________
hmarie775 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 07:03 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 31
OS: Ubuntu 10.04 x86_64, Win7 x64 Ult.



Try logging into the router from another computer. Enter http://192.168.1.1/ in an internet browser. If it doesn't go through, replace 192.168.1.1 with your default gateway. Normal unchanged logins are 'admin' for the username and password.

Then check to see if the DHCP server is active. Other than that, you could try a WinSock fix program on your laptop, it could correct problems.
__________________
cfarley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 11:52 AM   #11
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 02:22 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
OS: Vista



Sorry to hear that you had so much trouble connecting to the nework only on one of the computers
Here is the right fix - Before I proceed , let me explain you the reason why exactly you are getting the IP - 169.254.90.184 and 255.255.0.0

Its mainly because of two reasons. Either there are firewalls on computer, but the security pwd ( if secured) is incorrect.

Resolution : Remove the preferred networks and try connecting to the netwok with correct network keys ( if secured)
Because when you have a WPA/WPA2 security enabled on router, the pwd is case sensitive and a slight error while entering pwd will certainly not allow you connect.

Even after enterig correct pwd and if it still says ( limited or no connectivity with ip- 169.254.x.x), all u need to do is just disable all third party firewalls on computer ( Eg. Mcafee, norton, Avira, zone alaram, windows defender etc).
Restart computer and i am sure it will work. Please try this.

I am 100 % sure this would certainly work as am a technician -
__________________
Francedol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 07:40 AM   #13
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Francedol View Post
I am 100 % sure this would certainly work as am a technician
Gee, a technician that never makes a mistake, one of a kind!

Don't break your arm patting yourself on the back! I'd at least wait until your "perfect" suggestion is successful.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts