Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Cannot connect to wifi with Atheros AR 9285, Win 7

This is a discussion on Cannot connect to wifi with Atheros AR 9285, Win 7 within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, my machine is HP ProBook 4530s (bought 2 weeks ago) with Atheros AR9285 WiFi adapter. My OS is Windows


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-13-2012, 03:47 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7



Hello, my machine is HP ProBook 4530s (bought 2 weeks ago) with Atheros AR9285 WiFi adapter. My OS is Windows 7 Ultimate x64.
There is a public wireless network near my home which when I try to connect to I almost always get an "No Internet access" message and no connection. In the rare cases when I connect to the network it dissapears a few seconds after I manage to load a page.
The reason why I'm writing about this is that I have another very old (4-5 years old) laptop - Asus with XP SP3 and Atheros 5006EG Wireless network adapter, which connects to this network very easily and with reasonable speeds. I have put the two computers next to each other and the old one connects with no problems, while the new, if finds the network (somethimes it doesn't show on the list of wireless networks or it shows with fewer bars), almost always gives the "No internet access" message and an occasional exclamation mark on WiFi network icon.
I tried to read the descriptions of the two adapters online and as far as what I understand the new should be better in any way, but I am not familiar with the terminology, thats why i am starting this thread here.

My question is it possible my 5 years old laptop to have a stronger and better WiFi adapter than the new HP or is it a settings/software issue? If it is the latter, how can I fix it?


I have currently installed these drivers for my WiFi adapter - http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=32...



I tried windows tools for troubleshooting network problems but it didn't work and I searched several forums, but I couldn't find solution.
One other thing is that when I bought the probook it came with Linux SUSE operating system and the signal was again weak. I am not familliar with Linux so I switched to Windows.

Please help, I am really confused about what is happening here.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	348.7 KB
ID:	105049  
Attached Files
File Type: txt ipconfig.txt (3.3 KB, 40 views)

__________________
whatif333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 08:26 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: State College PA area
Posts: 1,629
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Ubuntu v. 11.04

My System


Your IPCONFIG shows an IP address in the 169.254 range for your WiFi adapter.

This means the adapter is not receiving an IP address from the DHCP server on the hotspot. Basically it's talking to the hotspot and says it wants an IP address to communicate, and the hotspot is ignoring the adapter.

Are you having troubles with any other hotspot on this computer? Or is it just the one? You can try purchasing a USB adapter, disabling the onboard adapter, and trying to connect with the external.

__________________
CompTIA A+, Network+ certified
epshatto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 10:00 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7



Thanks for the reply first,
Well, no problems with cable connection. At my friend's place I connected to his wireless modem, but I remember that he changed the "Network Adress" on the WiFi adapter setings first. I will try tomorrow to connect to other networks and see what happens and post here.
Why is the hotspot ignoring my adapter?
__________________
whatif333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 10:18 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: State College PA area
Posts: 1,629
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Ubuntu v. 11.04

My System


Are you sure you have 64 bit drivers for your adapter? I'm not able to view the link you posted right now so I can't tell from that.

You can also uninstall the driver you have now and then reinstall it. Or roll the driver back to a previous version.

The fact that you can connect to the hotspot using the other laptop suggests the access point and DHCP are configured correctly on it's end, the issue is with the laptop itself (drivers, bad adapter, etc).
__________________
CompTIA A+, Network+ certified
epshatto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 11:38 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7



Yes, I am sure about the drivers. You are required to chose the operating system first to view the drivers for your machine. I looked now in the driver description it supporst both the OS and the WiFi adapter I am using. I don't know why the link doesn't work for you. If you google "hp probook 4530s drivers" this is the first one :) hp.com
Type: Driver - Network Version: 9.2.0.444 (14 Sep 2011) Operating System(s): Microsoft Windows 7 Home Basic (32-bit), Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium (32-bit), Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit), Microsoft Windows 7 Professional (32-bit), Microsoft Windows 7 Professional (64-bit), Microsoft Windows 7 Starter (32-bit), Microsoft Windows Vista Home Basic (32-bit), Microsoft Windows XP Professional File name: sp54972.exe (73 MB)
I tried disabling and enabling the adapter, reinstalling the driver, installing the previous version of the driver again from the HP site and using Driver Genious to scan and install drivers...no luck. any sugestions?
__________________
whatif333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 12:03 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: State College PA area
Posts: 1,629
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Ubuntu v. 11.04

My System


(The link doesn't work for me because I'm viewing threads at work during downtime and our web filtering software blocks it; I could change the software filters but that'd be unethical).

My suspicion then is that your adapter might be faulty, which is why I asked about your ability to connect to a different hotspot, and suggested an external adapter.

Seems to me that short of trying a different adapter you've done most of what you can do.
__________________
CompTIA A+, Network+ certified
epshatto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 01:36 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7



Yes, I am feeling that i am running out of options lately. But you mean "faulty" as defect in manufacturing of the adapter? Is this a problem that my guarantee covers? Or are you talking about the model in general?
__________________
whatif333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 01:44 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: State College PA area
Posts: 1,629
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Ubuntu v. 11.04

My System


Well, when you posted the OS's the adapter is compatible with I noticed Windows 7 Ultimate was not included in the list of compatible systems.

I'll be honest, I'm not 100% sure if that actually matters. So I'm wondering if the driver is not, in fact, compatible with your version of Windows. You said your laptop came with SUSE and you replaced it with Windows 7. Could be no Win 7 Ultimate driver was ever developed, or it could be the adapter itself no longer works. If either of those is true your simplest solution would be an external adapter.

Testing the adapter on a different network would clear that up. If the adapter itself doesn't work, since you only got the laptop a couple weeks ago I would guess your warranty would probably cover it but you'd have to check that yourself to make sure.
__________________
CompTIA A+, Network+ certified
epshatto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 08:55 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 548
OS: windows 7



Well since your able to connect to your friend's wireless network, we can agree that the Wireless NIC is not faulty. Could be that it's probably the hotspot experiencing "difficulties" even if your older laptop can connect to it.

Have you try connecting another wifi access device to the hotspot?
__________________
Certified: A+, Network+
this-IT-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 11:48 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7



I replaced the SUSE with Win 7 Home Premium and 1 week later I reinstalled with Ultimate because of the wirelss network issues. I thought they were from the faulty OS...but no luck. I haven't tried connecting to other hotspots, but I will today.
__________________
whatif333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 01:06 AM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 548
OS: windows 7



Well as long as the drivers are supported then you should be okay. You mentioned successfully connecting the laptop (in question) to your friend's wireless network correct?
__________________
Certified: A+, Network+
this-IT-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 02:02 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7



Yes, I connected successfuly to my friend's network. Actually I am at a coffe right now and I have no problems with the connection. I guess the adapter works fine, but what is bugging me is why I'm getting weaker signal than my other old laptop. I mean the it is 5 years old. This is ancient in terms of today's computer technology. My new laptop should be better in any way, but is not. That is why i figured there is something wrong with the settings or i am not doing something right or the WiFi adapter is damaged. Or maybe the problem is with the network but again I am no expert and thats just a theory.
__________________
whatif333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 04:13 AM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 548
OS: windows 7



Yes that is true, your laptop includes the current latest wireless technology, 802.11n. You can try reverting the drivers to an older one. Try this link

You can also try changing the wireless mode on your wireless card by setting the mode to strictly b/g.

To do this, go to your wireless card, and right-click and properties, click configure and under advanced tab, look for wireless mode.
__________________
Certified: A+, Network+
this-IT-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 06:03 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by this-IT-guy View Post
Yes that is true, your laptop includes the current latest wireless technology, 802.11n. You can try reverting the drivers to an older one. Try this link

You can also try changing the wireless mode on your wireless card by setting the mode to strictly b/g.

To do this, go to your wireless card, and right-click and properties, click configure and under advanced tab, look for wireless mode.
I can't see wireless mode option... and I downloaded the drivers but I'm not sure how to isntall them. I tried uninstalling the current drivers and then searching for drivers in the folder I extracted the drivers from the archive, but it didn't work. Any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot2.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	144.8 KB
ID:	105103  
__________________
whatif333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 06:06 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7



I see in the screenshot that it shows that I am currently connected, but I can't load any pages at all.
__________________
whatif333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 03:10 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 548
OS: windows 7



So your able to connect to the hotspot again? Provide an ipconfig /all.

And go into the command prompt and type in ping google.com, provide the results.
__________________
Certified: A+, Network+
this-IT-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 01:06 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7



well, i somethimes can, but i can't load pages. here are the files.
Attached Files
File Type: txt ipconfig.txt (3.5 KB, 46 views)
File Type: txt ping.txt (481 Bytes, 11 views)
__________________
whatif333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 03:19 AM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 548
OS: windows 7



And provide me an ipconfig of the xp laptop
__________________
Certified: A+, Network+
this-IT-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 07:42 AM   #19
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



Whatif, what is the name of the network you are trying to connect to?
Is this a public hotspot, like at a coffee shop or just someone's open wireless network?
If you are trying to connect to Blizoo WiFi, the signal is too poor to be of any use or make a connection. If this is a new computer, I'd return it.
__________________

Fred Garvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 12:05 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7



this-IT guy, here are the files from the other laptop.
Fred Garvin, yes it Blizoo wifi, it is a public hotspot, and yes the laptop is new. If can't solve this, probably I will consider returning it. It's not that this hotspot is my main source of internet but the situation is very annoying. :)
Attached Files
File Type: txt ipconfigXP.txt (1.3 KB, 16 views)
File Type: txt pingXP.txt (442 Bytes, 15 views)

__________________
whatif333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell D630 laptop with WIN XP unable to connect to the internet
I reinstalled WIN XP on a Dell D630 laptop. Here are my problems: 1. Can not connect to the internet because I do not have the correct ethernet controller driver. What driver do I need? 2. I believe I do not have the correct video driver because the display looks like it is in safe mode but...
rentonhighlands Windows XP Support 10 09-12-2011 01:49 PM
Wii wifi, unable to connect Call Of Duty
I have a Wii and i try to play call of duty in multiplayer and each time i press A, it said Unable to connect to call of duty world at war server or said please check the internet setting and i did the connection test already.My connection is wireless and is it conecting to Wifi problem or what?...
alsoit1235 Console Gaming Support 1 03-30-2011 04:51 AM
can't connect to web wireless win xp pro
here is my log. i installed a fresh xp pro got all updates and drivers as far as i know and all settings are correct. i'm currently sharing a connection with a laptop via local area connect but i still can't get on wifi on this computer.service tag is cmbq721 dell optiplex please help thanks ...
slaydoc Windows XP Support 5 03-20-2011 08:50 PM
[SOLVED] Linux Mint Wifi Can't Connect to wpa2 level security
Hi, I recently bought a Netgear wireless USB adapter and have installed it properly on my Linux Mint 10 distro. However, although I can connect to networks without security, I cannot connect to networks with wpa2 security. I do not want to downgrade to wpa because the router tells me it will...
Clavin12 Linux Support 6 01-22-2011 12:22 PM
WiFi issues with Win 7
Hi there, i neeed help before i go nuts and start shooting up computers with the howitzer i have in the shed. i have been trying to get a consistent connection on win 7 32 and 64 bit without success. every time i restart i have to reset the wifi password and eventually it has told me the...
Grumbly Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 15 01-05-2011 11:09 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts