Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Cannot connect to network hard drive

This is a discussion on Cannot connect to network hard drive within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just installed a new network drive and cannot access it from one computer. The new drive is connected directly


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2005, 03:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
OS: XP



I just installed a new network drive and cannot access it from one computer. The new drive is connected directly to the router and I can ping it from the computer but the setup wizard cannot find it. Two other computers connected fine. I have had problems with this computer comunicating with other networked resources and I think some setting ( like firewall etc.) is interfearing with it. Windows firewall is tuned off (windows XP) but is there somehing else that could be set wrong.

__________________
X1D9693 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 03:54 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

Could you tell us something about the new drive? Specifically, the make/model of the unit. Have you tried browsing to it and configuring it?

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 07:27 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
OS: XP


The drive is a Netcenter Western Digital network drive. I am also having trouble connecting to a netgear wireless pring server model WGPS606 and that one is connected directly to the print server with a 8 wire and I get a "cannot find" error. The computer is a Dell 700m laptop and I can connect to the internet through the router and I can ping the router but I cannot access the control panel of the router through explorer on the Dell but I can on every other computer I have. Just wondering if there is something blocking it somehow?
__________________
X1D9693 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 02:32 AM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus, Gearheads & Networking Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 2,289
OS: 98SE, W2k Pro, XP Pro


If you are using the wireless on your Dell laptop, check and see if you have either the Intel 2100 or 2200 wireless card. If so, you want to update the driver for this card and possibly use the Intel wireless config utility rather than the Windows Wireless Zero.

The original Intel driver is a DOG and the updated driver (10/05) is much more stable. See what the Dell site has, but I have been using what is on the Intel site for many machines.

JamesO
__________________
JamesO is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 05:55 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
oldmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Apache Junction AZ
Posts: 2,159
OS: (1) Xp Pro (4) Win 8.1 Pro


If you are running a firewall make sure the address is added to the trusted Zone.

__________________
AVG | MEMTEST86 | XXCLONE | Adaware | Beyond Compare | Everest
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!
Sorry no PM's for problems.[/CENTER]
oldmn is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts