Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Cannot connect to modem via ethernet

This is a discussion on Cannot connect to modem via ethernet within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello! I seem to be having a problem connecting to the internet via ethernet cable that goes directly to a


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2012, 01:33 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



Hello! I seem to be having a problem connecting to the internet via ethernet cable that goes directly to a router. I am currently running off of a crappy wireless card and its driving me nuts! Ive checked my drivers with device manager and that yielded nothing. I recently reinstalled windows 7 and thats when the problem started. Can anyone help? My motherboard is a Amd Athlon II x4 640 (Socket AM3) GA-M74GM-S2.

__________________
mfisch90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 05:32 AM   #2
Networking Team |Tech
 
IT-Barry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Falkirk, Scotland
Posts: 1,029
OS: XP, Win7



Here is a link to the ethernet driver for your motherboard.
http://download.gigabyte.eu/FileList...ek_8111_w7.exe

What happens when you plug in the ethernet into your pc?

Can you run an ipconfig/all via command prompt and post it for review.
Disable the wireless first, then plug in the ethernet.

Now load up command prompt (can find it via a windows search)

Type ipconfig/all and hit enter into command prompt.
Once its done, right click the top of command prompt where it says "Command Prompt"
Right click > Edit > Select all
Then - Right click the same area again at the top > Edit > Copy

Then open notepad and right click and paste.
Save the document as a txt file and turn your wireless back on and remove your ethernet.
Now post the txt file for review.

This is a start to fixing your problem.

__________________

MCP | MCDST | MCSA
IT-Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 04:14 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



Ok so I downloaded the driver and did as you said, when I plug in my Ethernet cable nothing happens. PC doesn't even pick it up. But then again Ill i did was download the driver and try to run it as a program and nothing happened. Is there a specific place I need to send it?

Here's the cmd prompt

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Michael>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Michael-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Michael>
__________________
mfisch90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 04:25 PM   #4
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,164
OS: Win7



When you have the cat5 cable plugged into the PC do you see the yellow/green light on the port?
If you have connection lights on the router does the port light up when the cable is plugged in?
Wrench97 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 04:59 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



Green light is on and the router lights are also on.
__________________
mfisch90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 05:16 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1


I noticed in your ipconfig post that DHCP is off. If your Ethernet port is not configured to the right. Network settings you will not connect to the router.

Either turn DHCP on or check and verify your manual IP address and DNS settings.

Good luck.
__________________
Chris033081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 05:34 PM   #7
Networking Team |Tech
 
IT-Barry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Falkirk, Scotland
Posts: 1,029
OS: XP, Win7



When you extract the files by running that download locate the folder where the extract went and run the setup.exe inside.

If you did that and the setup said it failed. Or if it said it ran ok.

One of the two.
Head to "Network and sharing center" via a windows search and then on the left hand side of the network and sharing center window find and click on "Change adapter settings"

Do you see a "Local Area Connection"?
__________________

MCP | MCDST | MCSA
IT-Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 05:50 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



OK I ran the program and everything installed. No I do not see a local internet connection.
__________________
mfisch90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 12:28 AM   #9
Networking Team |Tech
 
IT-Barry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Falkirk, Scotland
Posts: 1,029
OS: XP, Win7



Can you search for "Device Manager" and look for the following.

http://i44.tinypic.com/2nk3qk6.jpg

You're looking for something similar. I doubt anything will be there.

If you open command prompt and ping 127.0.0.1 with the ethernet in what result do you get.

Also try the troubleshooter via network and sharing center.
Will be at the bottom "Troubleshoot Problems"

Choose network adapter option.
__________________

MCP | MCDST | MCSA
IT-Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 10:39 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



Ok I found the Ethernet controller inside the device manager. When I look at the driver details it says that the driver "device are not installed. (Code 28)". When I try to u[date the driver it says it cant find any.

heres the ping


C:\Users\Michael>ping 127.0.0.1

Pinging 127.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 127.0.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Users\Michael>

Ive ran trouble shooting and its says that it cant identify the problem.

On a side note thanks for helping me, I really appreciate it.
__________________
mfisch90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 10:49 AM   #11
Networking Team |Tech
 
IT-Barry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Falkirk, Scotland
Posts: 1,029
OS: XP, Win7



Do the same on device manager.

Click update driver, should be prompted with 2 options.
"Search auto" or "Browse my computer" Choose "Browse my computer"
Now it will have a browse button but ignore this and click the text below.
"Let me pick from a list of device drivers"
Now a new window will appear with driver names, ignore the list and choose "Have disk"

Browse your computer to the folder you extracted.
Head into W7 > Win7 > and choose 32 if your 32bit win7 and 64 if your 64.
Open the .inf file and okay it.

This should work for you and fix your issue.
After the driver goes in I would do a ipconfig/all to see if you have an ip now.
__________________

MCP | MCDST | MCSA
IT-Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:11 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



Nope didnt work.

"Windows found driver software for your device but encountered an error while attempting to install it."

"The drivers for this device are not installed (Code 28)."

I had several .inf files and I tried every one.
__________________
mfisch90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:28 AM   #13
Networking Team |Tech
 
IT-Barry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Falkirk, Scotland
Posts: 1,029
OS: XP, Win7



Check out the following link
GIGABYTE - Motherboard - Socket AM2 - GA-MA74GM-S2 (rev. 4.1)

Download all the drivers.
Start installing in this order.
Chipset (Restart)
Lan (Restart)
Audio (Restart)

I take it you would have done this when you reinstalled windows 7 but redo it.

Edit: Be sure to download the correct chipset for your system.
I linked you to the 32bit downloads, there are 64bit ones if you are 64bit change the drop down and pick 64bit.
__________________

MCP | MCDST | MCSA
IT-Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 12:19 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



Dude your my hero, that fixed it. I cant believe it. Thank you so much!
__________________
mfisch90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 12:53 PM   #15
Networking Team |Tech
 
IT-Barry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Falkirk, Scotland
Posts: 1,029
OS: XP, Win7



No worries buddy.

Got there in the end.

__________________

MCP | MCDST | MCSA
IT-Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Can't connect on desktop
Hey there everyone I'm new to this forum so I apologize if this is in the wrong forum or anything :) Anyways a little background info on my desktop. Runs on vista, I have At&t for internet and tv . Router is in my room so I have cord from router to back of my desktop. Well my desktop had...
Mk3371 Networking Support 78 06-01-2012 08:43 AM
how to used my dedicated video card [sony vaio C series] [HELP]
hello techsupport team and all forumers.. I have problem with my sony vaio c series for almost a year now on how to switch my graphics to my dedicated 1Gb Video Card. I try playing online games and do some PVP's but everytime i used control my videocard( iguess) beeps and hangs my pc. I am...
kokorokoko Laptop Support 20 05-05-2012 05:36 AM
The dependency service or group failed to start
Hi Like many I'm trying to upgrade Vista to Windows 7. I ran the Win 7 system readiness tool and the only thing outstanding was SP1. In common with many I could not instal SP1. I tried all the fixes including Chkdsk and SFC Scanow etc and the result is that I have no internet access with the...
Simon Sudbury Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 7 04-10-2012 10:39 AM
[SOLVED] Unable to go on web pages even though internet is connected
On my laptop, the internet is connected. However when I open google chrome or any other web browser it will not load the web page as if the internet wasn't connected. This first happened after I disconnected from a League of Legends game and my modem lights reset. At first I thought nothing of it...
keanuy Networking Support 94 04-09-2012 03:34 PM
Laptop Goes to Sleep/Turns Off when Moved
I have an hp probook 4530s. A while ago it started going to sleep or turning off when moved. I have seen other threads displaying the later problem, but not mentioning going to sleep. It seems random whether the laptop goes to sleep or turns off, but oftentimes the turning off will occur...
maj0rzggy Laptop Support 1 04-06-2012 09:51 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts