Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Cannot Access Google.com

This is a discussion on Cannot Access Google.com within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I really need help. For some reason I cannot access the Google site. I can access any other sites, but


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-11-2007, 09:37 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 26
OS: Windows XP



I really need help. For some reason I cannot access the Google site. I can access any other sites, but I cannot access www.google.com

Help please!

__________________
karlo is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 11:14 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 62
OS: XPpro


That's kinda bizarre. What browser are you using?

__________________
CannonFodder is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 08:17 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 26
OS: Windows XP


I have both Mozilla Firefox and Internet Explorer and both cannot access www.google.com
__________________
karlo is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 10:37 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
revrora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
OS: XP


Sounds like you may have a virus. Have you run a scan recently?
__________________
revrora is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 02:02 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
OS: Win XP SP2


Have you tried www.google.co.uk or .co.jp or any of the others?

When were you last able to get to this site? Any changes you can think of?
__________________
shadyMrPatch is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 04:24 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mid-West
Posts: 208
OS: 2003/XP/Vista/7


Quote:
Originally Posted by revrora View Post
Sounds like you may have a virus. Have you run a scan recently?

+1

Sounds like a browser search hijack. I would seriously consider running virus and spyware scans in safe mode.
__________________
Cleffer is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 10:16 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 12
OS: xp


I had this problem earlier, but i could not access hotmail. the only difference is that it always redirected to some other site which has IP in the URL and shows the blank page.

i ran a virus scan (NOD32) and found some viruses and solved the problem.
__________________
sdsd is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 11:13 PM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


i had the same problem and found the windows firewall was blocking it and had to disable it
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 04:53 PM   #9
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

When you attempt to PING google.com, what address does it resolve to?
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 11:09 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 26
OS: Windows XP


i had a virus problem a week and a half ago. i ran ad-aware and did a system restore and everything seemed to be ok but for some reason the computer didnt recognize that I had an NIC (Network Interface Card) so i couldnt get online. so i took it to a computer shop and they fixed the NIC problem for me. I was able to get online after that but i couldnt get access to google.com.

i am able to access www.google.co.uk

i ran SpyBot - Search and Destroy both in normal mode and in safe mode, and it didnt solve the problem.

if the windows firewall was blocking the site, how do i disable it?

and how do I PING google.com?

THanks for all the help. appreciate it.
__________________
karlo is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:31 AM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,232
OS: WINXP


start>run-type in cmd.

when the command box opens type in ping google.com four results should be returned. if not type in ping 64.233.167.99. 4 results should be returned.

if ping google.com does not return results, type ipconfig /flushdns and try again

ping -a 64.233.167.99 should return a result with "google" in the first line
__________________
hwm54112 is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 02:51 PM   #12
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

You won't necessarily get the same IP address, they have a lot of servers. For instance, I get 64.233.187.99 when I ping google.com
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 08:26 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 26
OS: Windows XP


here is what i got when i pinged www.google.com

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\>ping www.google.com

Pinging www.google.com [127.0.0.1] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 127.0.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\>
__________________
karlo is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 12:01 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Entensity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 124
OS: Vista Ultimate

My System

Send a message via AIM to Entensity Send a message via MSN to Entensity Send a message via Yahoo to Entensity
Your HOSTS file has been modified by some virus or something.

First run virus scans, and spyware scans.
If google.com still does not work...

Boot in safe mode.
Navigate to WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc
Open the HOSTS file in Notepad.
Remove all entries except... 127.0.0.1 localhost
__________________
Entensity is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 03:52 AM   #15
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


http://www.everythingisnt.com/hosts.html
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 05:49 PM   #16
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

dai, I don't think he needs more stuff in his hosts file, he needs at least one less line.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-16-2007, 05:07 AM   #17
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


it does not add more it replaces
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 02-17-2007, 08:47 AM   #18
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

Let's solve his initial problem first.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-17-2007, 03:01 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 26
OS: Windows XP


hey guys,

so i followed the instructions on the website you guys gave me (http://www.everythingisnt.com/hosts.html). and it seems to have worked. i can now access google.com

thank you so much for helping. you guys are awesome.

PS is there anything else i need to do?

__________________
karlo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts